Thank You for Being that Friend

Dear Friend,

You have always been there for me. Whenever I needed you. Always. Always since I was in my class 3. I met you when I was in my third standard and Appa got you along with him. I said hello and I must admit, I fell in love with you.

With your craziness, your stubbornness, your love for life, your large heart, your naughtiness and the fact that you studied in such a cool school.

You did everything that I always wanted to do. Ride a pony, live in a hostel, play pranks, not be miss goody two shoes, go for long walks, spend money by yourself, wander around and yet be responsible, play the piano and even give concerts. How amazing. and yet, you never ever left my side. You were always there for me.

I remember coming to you late nights, and early mornings, always trying to tell you my issues (yes yes, school children have issues like homework, boring maths, and un-understandable science!) you would just be there to listen to me, to soothe me and to tell me that finally all is well. That happy endings are always fun.

You stood like a rock when I wanted you, I have learnt a lot of wonderful things from you.

– That, changing a decision is not wrong, it just shows that you are bold enough to do it!

– That, helping a friend is one of the most wonderful things in the world,

– That being there for someone is always the greatest part of being a human

– That if you want something really bad, then you just work really hard for it

– That everyone makes mistakes

– That to apologize doesnt mean that you are weak, it just means that you are brave enough to acknowledge your mistake

– That everyone needs a friend

– That everyone has the right to speak up their minds

– That hurting someone is wrong, and if you do hurt someone, learn to apologize

That you can be best friends with someone whom you have fought with earlier

– That popularity doesnt come from being rude and arrogant, but it comes from being helpful

– That life is full of challenges and to face it full on it the only way of living

Thank you, thank you for being there whenever I needed you.

Thank you Elizabeth Allen, you are truly a best friend I have had. I only hope and pray that you will be a great friend to my daughter when her time comes. 

Much Love
RM
PS – Written for Womensweb contest




Its funny that I cant think of a soul sister, I can write about, but the Naugtiest Girl in School has been with me since my class 3 and I have read it like a 100 times and everytime felt a connection to Elizabeth. So why cant she be my best friend eh?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Thank You for Being that Friend

  1. paatiamma says:

    Midnight parties and lacrosse matches as well if am not wrong (Hope I didn’t confuse too much with other Enid Blyton’s school books.. Forgive the old lady if I did !!! )This post makes me nostalgic.. The first time I read the naughtiest girl series was Fourth standard.. And then I progressed to Malory towers… Mademoiselle ‘s RRRRRRR rolling in French still has me splits… Wonderful that R has a mother to pass on the wonderful legacy of words and wisdom captured in simple words bundled with childhood delights.

  2. Parama Ghosh says:

    I loved your post. Very well written. Hope you win 🙂

  3. am says:

    😀 ha! The irrepresible Elizabeth Allen, you hit the jackpot!
    I had bought the first book for my daugther, she is R’s age, but she has not taken to it, yet. So we stopped after the first two chapters. Maybe I should just finish it on my own. I keep putting it off, am worried that may be over the years I have become too cynical, and the magic will be lost on me. That can’t happen, can it?

  4. Nidaa says:

    I wont say good ol’ days! becz i still read them no matter how much ppl tease me about reading juvenile books. My friend said she wdnt buy her kids any EB becz they are sexist. I literally begged her to change her mind. I mean, a childhood without Enid Blyton?!???
    Someone told me about Anne Digby’s sequels of naughtiest girl and i ordered the whole series. Big Mistake! Though thr wr som cool plots, she completely ruined the EA character.
    But if you like St Clares & Malory Towers, do check out the sequels by Pamela Cox. They are awesome. A bit more grey & real touch to the black-n-white EB characters.
    http://www.goanwap.com/ebook-bly-list-0.html -> EB free online 😀

    • R's Mom says:

      Errr…I read Anne Digby’s sequels..didnt like it too much myself..but guess it wasnt that bad :):)

      I will get the Pamela Cox one..thaks a ton

      oh lovely link..thanks

  5. Ashwathy says:

    Enid Blyton books are classics 🙂 I can only hope that one day if I have a daughter, that I can pass on my love for books to her, particularly EB ones!

  6. Deeps says:

    That was beautifully written! I haven’t read the naughtiest girl series. I was more into Malory Towers. Your post however compels me to introduce myself to Elizabeth Allen. And get Namnam to ‘meet’ her too 🙂
    Good luck for the contest!

  7. 🙂 Awesome post RM! Its funny the childhood things that stay with us even when we are adults. Harry Potter would be mine.

  8. Loved the post, RM! Good luck for the contest. 🙂

    I haven’t read this book yet.

  9. The link to the contest is not working for me. 😦

  10. DI says:

    Oh God, this, I did not guess until the end!
    I LOVED EA too, but I think I started a bit late, around 5th class? So I read Malloey Towers and the Twins at St. Clare’s pretty much at the same time! Loved them all.
    Midnight parties. Pranks. Lacrosse. I missed life at a Boarding school so much back then! can’t wait for when Zo reads these 🙂
    LOVELY POST! Yes, with all the Caps!

  11. Shweta says:

    I have not been a regular on the comment section but i have read each one of ur write ups these past few months.. and now my Husband is also so so so fond of ur blog .. We both just love it.. !! 🙂

  12. Very interesting article, loved the way u preserved the suspense till end 🙂 hope u win too [as I have also put my bets on parama’s blog :)]

  13. telugumom says:

    Very nice post RM 🙂

Leave a Reply

