So This Is How Good Memories Are Made

– Whether it was looking at the vast ocean with your thatha, or eating Thathi kutti idlis

– Whether it was exploring the unknown in the fort with your thatha, or waiting for thathi to get down those tricky stairs of the fort

– Whether it was hearing a story from thathi or collecting shells in the beach with thatha

– Whether it was sharing a lemonade with thathi or building a tunnel in the sand dirtying your new clothes, with thatha
– Whether it was drinking that bournvita in the morning with thathi or feeding the pigeons exactly at 6.30 in the morning with thatha
– Whether it was plucking flowers with thatha, or drinking the liquid ghee after cajoling thathi for ‘just a bit please’
– Whether it was tricking your amma saying the park was just there and making her walk throughout the campus, after sharing a secret smile with your thatha because he has taken you there earlier, or just asking for more of thathi’s awesome parappu chadam laden with ghee
-whether it was picking up thatha’s mandolin and strumming it tuneless to a song called ‘God’s love is so wonderful’ and pretending to be Mandolin Srinivas, or picking up thatha’s flute and blowing tunelessly into it…
-whether it was running to Appa to check out that monkey which had come on the roof, or going with thatha outside to check out the butterflies…
She did it all!

Now I know, why taking your child to your parents house for a short vacation is what good memories are made up of!

There were a million moments which were photo-op worthy, but somehow we are a family who believe in photographing such stuff in our minds than freezing them in frames, we hardly have the camera handy gah!

If only I had a Pensieve to put my thoughts in and just see them whenever I wanted šŸ™‚

PS – RD, can you please give me those pictures which we did manage to click eh?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to So This Is How Good Memories Are Made

  1. Santulan says:

    What is parappu chadam?

    Yes yes! Pics please!

    THe grand parents dote on R šŸ˜€

  2. So somebody spent a break in Goa, and needless to say we missed you loads and loads :). Not just visiting your parents is a memorable experience for you but its for R too. She is going to grow up just like me and TBH with uncountable memories of her Nanighar. Where it is, whichever family Nanighar are pure heaven on earth.

  3. paatiamma says:

    R is indeed having a splendid time with grandparents…that too at Goa..Lucky grand-kid. Touchwood!

  4. The Bride says:

    I know I bitched and moaned about our holiday to India this year, and while I’m not in a hurry for a repeat, I have to admit that the kids do remember the people they met there, especially Benji. he even remembers peripheral people with important accessories such as the uncles who had motorbikes.

  5. Sounds like one fantastic holiday, RM! Glad R Kutty had so much fun. šŸ™‚
    Would surely love to see some pics. šŸ™‚

  6. DI says:

    Pensieve! RM, spelling errors are not tolerated of HP fans! By the way, did I ever mention that I am one too? The books though, was not too loyal to the movies šŸ™‚
    Grandparents’ homes are the best indeed!

    • R's Mom says:

      Yes yes yes..my mistake..apologies…changed and added a link as a mark of being really sorry about it šŸ™‚ Thanks a lot for pointing out šŸ™‚

      RD just started reading Book 4 and is pretty much hooked to it šŸ™‚

  7. Pepper says:

    Looks like a wonderful vacation for the little one. I know how wonderful it is to spend time with grandparents. For the first 14 years of my life, I lived with my paternal grandparents. My afternoons were full of stories, and time spent bonding with them. My maternal grandparents lived a 5 minute walk away, and I visited them every day, or every alternate day. I have such lovely, lovely memories. Living with both sets of grandparents made me extraordinarily attached to them and till date, I believe they’ve played an integral part in shaping me.. I am so glad R is having her share of memories and time with them šŸ™‚

    And she likes to drink liquid ghee? Wow. While I love a bit of ghee smeared on hot chapatis, and a dollop on hot rice, I can’t imagine drinking it raw. I suppose it is good for her bones at this age, but I recommend not giving too much to her. That won’t do her good once she grows.

    • R's Mom says:

      oh what fun for you…

      arey nahi…Amma gave her just a bit..she had to cajole amma so much :):) I usually give her a bit and of course on rotis šŸ™‚

  8. Smitha says:

    The best holiday ever! I feel the same way when I’ve been home to my parents for a holiday. Daughter has the best time! And for an urban kid, she has such a great time in the middle of nowhere, as far as her grandparents are around.

    Your memories are right here, penned down for R to read and relive, years from now:)

  9. Amit says:

    This was a great post. I am bookmarking it for future use. šŸ˜€
    Loved reading it.

  10. Tanishka says:

    A visit to Nani’s house is always fun… šŸ™‚ I visited my nani just this July and it was super fun… šŸ˜€
    Glad that R too enjoyed her trip and so did you… šŸ™‚

  11. Deeps says:

    That sounded such fun! Visit to the grandparents’ is always so, isn’t it!

  12. What a perfect way to spend your vacation, I can see how much Chucky is enjoying her days now that she is having her grand parents around.

  13. Pingback: Lessons from a Grandmother… | Perceptions

  14. telugumom says:

    Time with grandparents is always fun šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

