Life With a Five Year Old

Is often a revelation

1. R and I are walking down the stairs rushing to catch the bus in the morning…R is trying to skip one step and then jump

RM: R what are you doing, why are you skipping steps, you will fall down

R: Arey amma, I am not doing, my shoes are only wanting to jump one step, what can I do?

RM: !!!

====

2. We are sitting by the window, while I am urging her to finish her milk

We see a crow on the lamp post, and it goes ka-ka

And we both start singing ‘ka ka shriek the crow, on the roof top‘ from Karadi songs..

and then she says ‘Amma, when crow’s beak is opening, then uska tail also going up and down why so?

Honestly I had never paid attention to that…It really is like that..or what it this specific crow?

I give her my standard answer ‘Ask Appa’

=======

3. RM: R, hurry hurry hurry, late ho rahe hain

R: Arey Amma, everyday, you saying hurry hurry..one day say aaram aaram no? We not missing school bus even one day na!

I shut up

========

4. R is talking to our househelp about something.

and she tells her

Arey didi, uske liye bahut money lagta hai..paise milna easy nahi hai na?

The househelp laughs, I laugh and am glad the brat knows we work hard to earn money!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Life With a Five Year Old

  1. Santulan says:

    I think R will remember the money waala bit since you explained why you can’t eat out everyday 😀

    So when R asks RD questions which he cannot answer, does he tell her to ask you? 😀

  2. I fully agree with R on point no.3.

    For rest, she is indeed a very intelligent kiddo for her age…

  3. I had asked my ma the same question about crows. Ma said its because kaka “mukki mukki” kaws.

  4. paatiamma says:

    This is new revelation”muki muki” kaws !! Pearls of wisdom from R on money matters..

  5. Nidaa says:

    Aaraam Aaraam 😀

  6. Ashwathy says:

    “Ask Appa” eh? 😀 Thanks! Gonna need all these tips for the future! 😛

  7. Comfy says:

    Shoes only want to jump one step 😆

    And RM you know, I should remember ‘araam araam’ too. Who knows maybe one day it will have the opposite effect and things might get done ‘jaldi jaldi’.

    R and money talk.. perfect! See she does understand everything you are teaching her 🙂

  8. Ah bless! How adorable is she?! Loved it all especially how she knows it requires hard work to make money. 🙂

  9. Oh my god she sounds so grown up and matured in this post, she is one smart kiddo 🙂

    First one sounded so innocent snd funny,second one nice observation, third one reality check, fourth she is observing and learning 🙂

  10. Awwww, she is adorable. But I think you already know that. 🙂

  11. Pratiksha says:

    Can’t understand if u r teaching her life or is she teaching life to you 😛 It’s fun to be with such an intelligent kid… How beautifully she explained you life… “aaram-aaram, money ki baatein, story of crow’s tail :P….” I was amazed to learn all these things about her!! 🙂 🙂 God bless her!

  12. pixie says:

    hehe!!
    I love R and her responses!! 😀
    REally?! Do crows tails go up when their beaks are open?! I have never ever observed that!
    heh! Smart kid!

    R is 5 already?! Whew!!

  13. Amit says:

    Wah! Wah! What pearls of wisdom!

Leave a Reply

