Inflation = Vada Pav and Definition of Local Trains, Among Other Stories

We had a discussion during lunch and a couple of us concluded that India’s economy and inflation can be determined by a very simple test. Whats the price of vada pav in Mumbai? As the prices of vada pav go up, the Indian inflation goes up. (well the prices havent come down, so we havent really seen that effect eh?) Vada pav was 3 rs in kisi zamana, and now its 10 Rs. In the next 5 years we forecast the vada pav to cost at least Rs.20 (thats the base rate) and then we test if our theory is correct or not? After 5 years come and check the inflation rate, okay?
=========

There is a collegue who shares sweets at work. How nice can someone get? If I had got that kopra pak, I would have gobbled all four pieces by myself.

Arey, even I dont want to share, but my mom asks me if I gave you (RM) a piece,and I cant lie to her eh? Wish you had taken the day off πŸ˜‰

=======

There is a major arguement during lunch on the definition of a local train. You know, within city, within 100 kms of city, yaada yaada..

I solve the problem

The one with the loos are NOT local trains, all without the loos are local trains? Any one against thisΒ definition?

=========

I am filling water from the cooler which is near the coffee machine. I see someone walk near the machine and then without looking blurt out, arey this cooler has gone crazy, its dripping water, drop by drop, hai naaaaaaaaaaaa!

The guy standing next to me is the MD of the company!

He smiles, I fluster, and just run away!

============

The bhindi fry I make for R for her lunch box is a big hit in office. I didnt make it during R’s vacations since she didnt have to take dabba.

The guy next to me asks ‘when is your daughter’s school reopening’

June 10th I tell him, why rey what happened?

I am missing the R bhindi. I so want to eat it..my mom cant make it as nice as you..

Ahem! I should tell RD this one πŸ™‚

============

Mr. Raj Babber says you can get a meal in Mumbai for Rs. 12. We are discussing this at work. Yaa, says one of the guys, my grandfather used to get a complete meal for that much in 1955! Guess, Mr. Babber needs to use the calender more regularly eh?

====

Mumbai rains and mumbai traffic are likely those lovers they show in movies. Always always together. Barish gira nahi, ke traffic has to come up to embrace the darn rain!

=====

PS – TGND – Next time can you please review a book which is easier to carry in the bag …I read Chocolat, Lollipop Shoes on your recco..awesome books..and then now got Madame Tussaud, again on your reco, but my shoulders request you for lighter book reviews okay..I love you πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Inflation = Vada Pav and Definition of Local Trains, Among Other Stories

  1. Santulan says:

    You must share the pics of the things you cook RM. So much waah waah you get, and we can’t even see what you have made 😦

    Oh I have eaten bada pav for 5 rupees in Bombay, and some people have already started selling at 12 rupees.

  2. I am so glad to know you enjoyed my recommendations. πŸ™‚

    Well, you won’t regret reading Madame Tussaud. I can assure you of that. You won’t mind the weight of the book at the end. πŸ˜‰

    Your office incidents are so cute. Loved reading them.

  3. Smita says:

    lol! U guys are crazy! Even Arnav loved Fried Bhindi & that girl who gets sweet for you is so sweet!

    According to google uncle Local Train is “Light rail or light rail transit (LRT) is a form of urban rail public transportation that generally has a lower capacity and lower speed…” but I a kind of agree with your definition! Crazy but u have a point πŸ˜€

  4. Love your work stories… πŸ™‚

    Oh and we have someone at work who shares Lindt chocolates with everyone!!! She has a jar of them at her desk and it’s pretty much free for all. Not sure I could ever do that.

    Meal in Bombay for Rs 12? Sure he wasn’t thinking about $12???

  5. pixie says:

    haha! You are so cute RM!!
    And yes, I agree with your definition of the local train!!! πŸ˜‰
    And the sweets when shared in office are always gobbled up faster than anything else na?
    Tirupati Laddoos are the only competition!! πŸ˜‰

    What is your R Bhindi recipe? *curious*

  6. Ashwathy says:

    Hahah you had to actually say that in front of the MD isn’t it? πŸ˜† Psycho aren’t you? πŸ˜›

    Love your definition of local vs non-local trains πŸ˜€ spot on!

    Will taste that bhindi when I next visit your home πŸ™‚ Whenever that is!

  7. Comfy says:

    I am from the jamana when Vada Pav was Rs 5. It has doubled is it? That is like the staple student diet. We lived on it, back then.
    Local train logic is awesome. This has to be it.
    Why can’t I have friends who share yummy things with me πŸ˜₯ This is it, I need new friends right now.
    RM, bhindi fry, how you make? Write and tell πŸ™‚
    Mr Babar should try and eat a meal in Rs 12 one of these days. One Vada Pav only he will get and then we will talk.

  8. I cant agree more to the definition of Local Train πŸ™‚

  9. Amit says:

    Share the recipe na? I will try at home. πŸ™‚
    And vada is only for 10 Rs? That is insanely cheap!

Leave a Reply

