Dear PotHoles of Mumbai

You are famous, I swear. You are in the news, discussed in blogs and causing headlines grabbing accidents.

Earlier you were like the monsoon sales special feature, but now a days, you have elevated yourself to be available to the general Mumbai public ALL through the year. Very generous, I say!

I can no longer claim to be the owner of the largest holes (on my cheeks eh?). You beat me hands down. You must be proud eh?

From bowlholes to potholes and further to kadai holes (thanks Ugich for this!) you have increased in size and shape.

And you do come in a variety of shapes dont you. Round, square, triangle, circle, the other day R even spotted a pentagon shape of yours. and then of course your size is your pride. You are not like the youth of today always worried about staying slim. You are like me. Nice and fat and round and pothai!

and then you can take pride in the fact that you have the mighty (often stated as arrogant) city of Mumbai on their knees no? The racing traffic is now a crawling creature begging you for mercy. but do you care? no, not at all. You stand where you are, proud with heads high (now actually low) and ensure that you are the mightiest of them all.

In earlier times, the people would bow down and bend whenever an emperor passed their way. Now people bow down and bend and slow down whenever they see you. What BMW and what Volvo, everyone is at your mercy. You have the capacity to scare anyone around you.

and oh, did you know you are the talk of the town. People are vying with each other, talking who has seen a larger you. “Oh did you see the one near the Oberoi mall flyover, its awesome”. “Nah yaar, check out the one near the Andheri metro, that one’s really really big”. “Forget it, see the one on the Eastern Express highway, a truck toppled over on it”. “Arey, that one at Vasai it actually managed to kill that lady you know”etc etc. You must be so proud eh?

And of course, present in a city whose annual budget is more than a lot more states, you are like the bhai of the city. Earlier, it was the gangwars which scared the people of Mumbai, now its you. You hold the same clout as them, dear Pothole, so get a bit deeper in pride eh? What municipality, what rules, you care for none.

Of course, even though the municipality pretends that all is hunky dory before the monsoons, or anytime of the year, you are the boss arent you? You show those incompetent folks who claim to have hidden you that you are omnipresent. almost a God like presence all over the city eh? Instead of going to temples, we may as well come to you and pray no? easier access, and present in every road and galli of Mumbai.

You have the strength the stop traffic, you have the charm to be the talk of the town, you have the courage to topple trucks, and you have the personality to scare away the resilient people of Mumbai.

You rock dont you?

Yours truly

RM

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Dear PotHoles of Mumbai

  1. Tharani says:

    Here in chennai, you will find roads only inbetween potholes πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. Bangalore roads are no better, seriously. 😦 You know what, Bangalore Times is organising a contest, inviting people to give innovative names (like the Ulsoor Hurtler) to the potholes in various areas in the city. It is difficult to even walk on the roads these days, even in interior gallis of the city. 😦

  3. Thanks to the Metro construction all over as well! 😦

  4. Pepper says:

    I typed a comment and then accidentally shut the window. So here I am, typing all over again.
    I was saying, I’ve been resisting the urge to vent about them on my blog. The bloody monster holes rattle my bones and break my car. Moreover, it sucks that you can’t escape them..

    Can’t fathom why on earth those potholes aren’t being filled and evened out. At times it really makes me want to run back to my earlier land of smooth and peaceful roads..

    • R's Mom says:

      seriously cars are really badly damanged…I am worried about the kharcha on the suspension!!!

      I am really getting disillusioned with Mumbai! the rains, the traffic, the commute, the condition of the roads, the crowd in teh trains..dont ask me 😦

  5. My Era says:

    These Potholes are an Indian phenomenon RM that have no mercy & basis of dicrimination on basis of region, language caste, colour or creed *Sigh*
    Superb write up like always πŸ˜€

  6. Richa says:

    You reminded me of the potholes in Delhi. I dread them on our yearly visit to home. Two kms away from the airport and you realise how nothing has changed in Delhi. I can even remember the roads around my in-laws and my mom’s place which have them in abundance on each visit.

    Its then that I realise what a bed of roses the roads are in the UAE.

  7. Ashwathy says:

    I’ve forgotten all my sarcasm and wisecracks!! What a post! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I am delighted! Hats off to you RM!!!

    Oh, did you hear about those engineers being held hostage by MNS until the potholes are filled? :mrgreen: That was a hoot!

  8. Amit says:

    It is a bit better in Delhi. Even Noida is all right. But it gets really bad in Gurgaon.

  9. telugumom says:

    I feel bad that these roads are not being taken care of but sometimes I am also happy that I don’t have to face them here.

    Very nice post as usual πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

