Of Generous People

We met finally! Ugich KonitariΒ and the R family.

We also met uncle and P didi and P didi’s friend.

And P didi (Ugich’s daughter) is one of the most generous-est people I have ever seen. She gave her really really expensive camera to R to click photos. I almost fainted in tension.

So it happened that we had to go to her side of town on Saturday. RD and Ugich are pretty pally on twitter. (Gah! I should join twitter now!) and they decided to meet up.

RD, decided to be a bit generous and take us along with him!

Us, being us, we reached a bit early than the planned 4 PM. and what fun we had. We chatted, jumped on the sofa (Thats R, not me!), picked up a couple of stress balls from the showcase and then of course clicked a 1000 photos from P’s camera (thats again R, not me:) ) and then chatted some more and discussed a 1000 issues of the world..from being tambrams, to going to sabari malai, from potholes, to photograhy, from Mumbai to Pune, and what not…
…and then of course the best part

Ate the most amazing poha (seriously authentic maharastrian taste!), had yummy steaming hot chai, dink ka ladoo shaped as a square and the most amazing wheat+pomegrante+walnut cake..it was so so yummy that I popped in two into my mouth, R I think had three, and we even agreed to get it packed when Ugich offered it hehehehe πŸ™‚

R managed to pakao P didi and her friend to the core. Didi lets play, didi lets play pakadam pakadi, yaada yaada..but they being wonderful people, didnt seem to mind it at all πŸ™‚ Infact both of them were wonderful enough to come down and drop us since we had forgotten our umbrellas..
We had so much fun there, that RD didnt even want to leave, but I forced him to get going because it was getting late :):) RD promised to be back the next Saturday for the pakodas which Ugich promised him *rolls eyes*

When you meet such wonderful people, who are so genuinely nice and large hearted, you feel wonderful. You feel as if the world is like the most wonderful place to be, and yes that evening it was :):)

Now, RD will be going back for the pakodas soon. Hopefully he will let R and me tag along πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Of Generous People

  1. Santulan says:

    Hamare liye photos nahi?

  2. Sounds like a wonderful bloggers’ cum friends’ meet. πŸ™‚ Glad you guys had fun!

    Wow, the walnut-wheat-pomegranate cake sounds yummylicious! This is the first time I am hearing of such a food item!

    What in the world is dink ke laddoo?

    Also, your post reminds me that I have never tasted authentic Maharashtrian-style poha. 😦 I have only tasted the Gujju style.

    Yeah, yeah, trust me to pay careful attention to food in all the posts that I read. πŸ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      Will ask her for the recipe and send you πŸ™‚

      Dink is a seed or something rey. Its a very marathi thing, its usually had in cold/rainy season. I dont know its english or gujju name. Actually I think its called Dink in Gujju as well. Ask your Amma

      I would consider the Maharashtrain poha a bit superior to the Gujju version πŸ™‚ dont ask me what is different, I dont know πŸ™‚

  3. Smita says:

    Aahh!!! Sounds fun!!! If you meet like minded people life is much better!!!

    P.S. RD is on twitter? What is his handle!!! Bah! now u will ask what is handle….just tell RD that he can follow me at bookslifenmore & I will follow him back. Please!!1

    P.P.S Provided he is interested! πŸ˜€

    P.P.P.S Come down to my place on 9th August I am baking a Lightening Mc Queen Car Cake πŸ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      I will ask RD to add you πŸ™‚

      I dotn know his handle or whatever that is called πŸ™‚

      BTW, I am not in town on August 9th darn! Next week, on August 15th may be I will make a trip πŸ™‚

  4. Take it from me, R has photography talent, both behind and in front of the camera. We so enjoyed meeting all of you. Incidentally, I might frame and keep the seventh para of the blogpost, pertaining to the poha etc. There are a few folks who wont believe what you wrote πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      LOL on that camera thing and R..Trust me P is really large hearted, My heart was literally in my mouth the way the brat was handling that camera!

      Oh your poha is awesome…RD will come for the pakodas, but I need the poha :):)

      Thanks for inviting us over, it was so much fun πŸ™‚

  5. Swaram says:

    That cake sounds so droolworthy πŸ™‚
    And given the number of my fav bloggers in Mumbai now, I ought to ought to make a trip soon to meet u all πŸ˜‰

  6. Smitha says:

    What super fun! You guys in India are really lucky!

    And the cake! That sounds yum! I want the recipe too! And I want to eat that yummy poha!

  7. Pepper says:

    This certainly sounds like such a happy meet. I can feel the joy as I read it πŸ™‚

  8. paatiamma says:

    Such fun you have had..Such memories you share..Makes a wonderful read every day..Thanks RM

  9. Ashwathy says:

    Oh wow! The joy of another bloggers meet πŸ™‚ Nothing like it na?
    That cake sounds yummy! *droool*

  10. deepM says:

    Hey RM,

    I have met Suranga Date when i was working in first ever company and i think i have met her daughter as well. But we were introduce them as employees so she must not be remembering me.

    She was great! and she even gifted my boss 2 of her warli paintings.

    Nice to read that R’s Family has lots of fun!

  11. telugumom says:

    Sound like you guys had a fun evening with yummy cake πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

