Dear Microwave

I agree, when RD got you 5 years ago, after I came back from my delivery with the brat in tow, I was pretty bugged at him Do we have so much money that you buy things like a microwave which we wont even use? I shouted at him over the brat’s sleeping head!

Well, it will be useful he insisted..if not anything, at least to re-heat the food he said.

Whats the point, we make fresh food morning and evening, and anyways, the gas is there na..then why I dont understand, I shouted again.

You stood in that corner of the kitchen, muted, hearing this conversation where RD was supporting you and I was muttering stuff under my breath.

Initially I refused to even look at you and pretend that you didnt exist.

The first time I used you was to make a papad. And oh so perfect it was. Without being deep fried, and yet not burnt as though roasted, you gave out the most perfect papad I had seen which was not fried in oil.

I grudging admitted there was ‘SOMETHING’ about you.

And then my perima told me about the wonderful coffee you can cough out. I tried it. Added milk, coffee decoction and sugar, and pushed your buttons to 1 minute. and oh what perfect coffee! piping hot, with steam coming off the mug, and I just had to put in a spoon to dissolve the sugar and it was ready in a minute. No more, heating on the gas, spilling half of it while cooling it yaada yaada…awesome!

I then realised you had your uses.

I have used you pretty indiscriminately.

Re-heating stuff (yes I ate my words, we do have carry over stuff from the previous day you know!)

Heating water for gargles and just to soothe the throat

Baking cakes (yes, RD made the most yummy cake in you one day)

Making pizzas (though I prefer the stove to this, dont mind eh?)

Making cookies to what not.

Boiling vegetables, especially beetroot and potatoes

Make sabudana khicidi

Making carrot halwa

Making besan ladoo (it was a flop though!)

Laying all the plastic dabbas on top of you to dry out in the night!

I have had many many accidents with you as well. Remember when I tried to boil an egg inside you. RD warned me, but I told him that the egg is inside the water and nothing will happen. Nothing happen except that I didnt notice that part of the egg was not submerged in water, and then blast..you had a nice egg facial eh? and RD claims that you havent been the same after that..gah!

and remember the time, when I used to keep telling RD that I could smell something burning whenever you are switched on. After 3 months we discovered that the plug with which you are connected was completely burnt!!

And then two days ago, I tried to heat some chole inside you. You refused to heat it. I thought I was impatient and just left it. And then we tried to get you to do what you are best at – making papads. and you refused again!

And now you are just refusing to do anything. Partly the fault lies wth us, because we havent serviced you even ONCE since we bought you, and we havent got you checked up at all. I can understand your need for attention.

RD has promised that he will get someone to look at you over the weekend.

You get okay jaldi jaldi okie? because I want to bake that chocolate cake now!

loads and hugs and always thankful to you for being such a wonderful and useful thing

RM

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Dear Microwave

  1. Sapna says:

    A very heartfelt note. Hope your microwave gets well soon πŸ™‚

  2. I loved the post RM πŸ™‚
    adding to your list – khaman, dhokla & idda in 3 minutes is a big thing eh??
    Ohh & I sometimes put my toaster on the microwave to make space on benchtop.. lol

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yaa…I have never tried that in microwave…recipe please!

      • Just mix 1 cup Suji, 1/2 cup yoghurt, salt, haldi, ginger-green chilli paste & water in a bowl. Add a tbsp of Eno fruit salt & mix it..
        microwave for 3 minutes in greased container..I use our lunch box πŸ˜‰
        then prepare the normal mustard seeds, green chilli, curry leaves vagaar while the khaman is relaxing.. pout it over & cut the pieces πŸ™‚
        Dan taaadaaa.. Suji-khaman is ready..
        Youtube it RM.. plenty of recipes out there πŸ™‚

        • R's Mom says:

          arey thanks yaar…I am going to try this once the MW starts working…hugs hugs..abhi aap ho toh youtube kyun karu..its too much hard work πŸ™‚

  3. Aww, get well soon, Microwave!:-)
    Cookies, did you say? In the microwave? Recipe please!

  4. Santulan says:

    Chocolate cake! drrrooooolllll… meko bhi khana hai

    I agree that microwaves the best papads! I used to even spray a little oil on a roti and put it in the microwave instead of frying it, and it would come like a puri πŸ˜€

  5. Deeps says:

    Awww get well soon RM’s microwave!

  6. Love this post, RM.. And, oh.. I love my microwave too! πŸ™‚

  7. What a sweet letter, RM! You sure are becoming an expert at writing letters to random things around you! πŸ™‚

    LOL @ egg facial.

    I didn’t know you could do all those things with a microwave oven. I have a Morphy Richards OTG, and haven’t really used it much, except for pizzas, cookies and cakes. Do you think I could do all this in an OTG, too?

    • R's Mom says:

      yes..thoda zyada ho raha hai..writing these letters πŸ™‚

      Well, I have a convection cum grill microwave..thats why I can do all sort of things with it, I dont think an OTG will give you such options!

  8. Pepper says:

    Lol. Yeah, microwave has always had high utility value in our home too. We realise how much we use it only when it breaks down..

  9. Smita says:

    1st thing 1st U reminded me of getting my M/w repaired. Thanks re!! I need to get it in shape before brat’s b’day!!!

    And now coming to the post! CHronic case of missing something when it is gone haan? πŸ˜‰

    In our case I was hell bent on buying it & Hubby was against it. I insisted on a fully loaded model and he was like eh! Now he has no regrets because I use it a lot! πŸ˜€

  10. Sreetama says:

    Hehe! Funny! Err.. sorry to know about the dysfunction of your microwave. Get the doctor for it soon so that it gets well & warm up soon! I too tried to boil egg in my Paying Guest accommodation microwave and the result was a similar disaster as you faced. Only difference, nobody had warned me before! 😐 But I loved eating the protons & microns of the scattered egg particles in the process of cleaning it up. But the smell oh beautiful smell didn’t leave the kitchen for weeks! Since I tried the adventure of Saturday when nobody was there, nobody suspected me & kept saying, “What’s this stink yaar?” I was like “I don’t know even I’m looking for the source!” My mom roasts papad, makes tea & sometimes chicken in the microwave. I make omelette & wai wai noodles! πŸ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      LOL on no telling about the stink..you are too cute πŸ™‚

      Omelette in microwave..wow..thats interesting..how?

      • Sreetama says:

        Hehe! Thanks! πŸ˜€ It is quite simple. Put some oil/butter/ghee in a flat microwave safe container. I used the take Yo! China take away containers. Heat it first. Open the micro door and put the beaten egg on the container and spread it. Heat for some more time and it’s ready!

  11. Nidaa says:

    Used to think its not ‘good’. Food will taste awful. etc etc
    But seriously, its a savior for ever-frazzled working women like some of us.
    Long Live Microwave

  12. Sumana says:

    RM, what is the next one? Fridge??? But hey nice post RM. I really loved it. Thirteen years back when i went to the US, i got attached to it and now i use it everyday for oats at a minimum if not anything else.

  13. Richa says:

    haha…
    Can you please share the recipe to bake a cake in microwave. I m too eager to try it.

  14. Maddie says:

    Oh I love reading your “Dear….” letters. So true and so heartfelt. Micro breaking down is such a handicap I tell you. Hope it starts working soon. And do share all micro recipes you have! πŸ™‚

  15. Ashwathy says:

    You need to be shaken till your teeth rattle if you haven’t serviced it for 5 whole years! 😯

    Such a useful invention na…. πŸ™‚ Reheating food becomes a delightful and quick fix job thanks to this.

  16. So now you can understand its true value, huh ? I use it a lot too, can’t imagine a way without it..

  17. Comfy says:

    Cake in the Microwave? Recipe send maadi! πŸ˜€
    Do so pooja or something to get it get better soon πŸ˜›

  18. pixie says:

    LOL!!
    I hope your microwave gets better soon!!
    I had the same reaction too!! But, then started using it slowly and now I find it very useful!! πŸ™‚

  19. Amit says:

    Oh God! I can’t even imagine my life without a microwave. Where will I heat all the papads for dinner? πŸ˜›

  20. telugumom says:

    Hope your microwave is feeling better now…. πŸ™‚

  21. Pingback: Dear Darling | R's Mom

Leave a Reply

