The Small Joys of Life

R is becoming this really story crazy person. So crazy that every minute she wants a new story. MIL has told her everything from her kitty including Krishna, Ramayana, etc etc etc

and I keep coming up with these absurdly funny stories. Now I have started tell her what V mamu and I used to play and fight (and most of it is imaginary) *Note to self : Remind the bro about nodding his head to whatever the brat asks him about him and me*

Anyways, so the latest which I told her was about how mamu and amma would play tent tent

R: Woh kya hota ha

RM: arey woh hum log Enid Blyton ka books read karke play karte the

R: woh kaise

So this is what I showed her.

I do remember bro and I doing this. We used to ‘build’ the tent, and go underneath to eat stuff and write or simply read.

First take four chairs, stools tables or whatever

First take four chairs, stools tables or whatever

Then take the largest bedsheet in the house and tent it up

Then take the largest bedsheet in the house and tent it up

Finally compel amma to get  underneath the tent as well, so Amma legs stick out just like the camel and the arab story which Amma told :)

Finally compel amma to get underneath the tent as well, so Amma legs stick out just like the camel and the arab story which Amma told πŸ™‚

R is the most thrilled child as far as this is concerned. She loves this idea and it gets repeated really often πŸ™‚

ekdum sasta but tikau way to let a child play πŸ™‚

Anyone else interested in doing this?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to The Small Joys of Life

  1. Tharani says:

    Ha ha may be I need to try this with AV πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

  2. greenboochi says:

    I remember doing this!!! Just that I and sis used amma’s nicely starched cotton saree πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ What a funny way to spend the summer holidays πŸ™‚ I am glad you taught this to R πŸ™‚

  3. paatiamma says:

    Reminds my childhood as well πŸ™‚ If R is loving this and would like to try it frequently do try getting the play tent…I saw it in landmark when I was in chennai..

  4. My daughter does something similar with the bedsheet…only, she says it’s a bus πŸ˜€ And she’s traveling to Pune, Chennai, Delhi, Potty (Ooty). She does tent-tent with a straw mat!

  5. Sreetama says:

    Wow! Awesome idea! πŸ™‚ Now I am too tempted to try this! πŸ˜€

  6. chaitali says:

    Rm, u brought back to me my childhood days when me n my cousins would play this game using a bedcover and mat.. it used to be so much of fun..
    It brought a smile thinking of it…

  7. Nidaa says:

    Whoa we (sis & cousins) used to play this too πŸ˜€

  8. Can I join you and R and camp out in your living room for the weekend, please? πŸ™‚ Would love to! πŸ™‚

    I remember doing this as a child too, thanks to all those Enid Blyton books. πŸ˜€

  9. Smita says:

    We also used to do this a lot!! πŸ˜€ Used to be fun no!!!!
    You know Arnav is following R in story department. He wants me to tell him Chota Bheem+Krishna+Lightening McQueen + Mr Bean ki story all together!!! And like R he also needs to listen to these stories while pottying!!!! Everyday I remember you guys at that time!!!

  10. Swaram says:

    Wow same pinch! Sis and I used to do the sameeee thing too πŸ˜€

  11. AA_Mom says:

    I used to play it too. So I got them a real tent and still they like playing with a bedsheet as well. I help them by tying the sheet to various corners πŸ™‚

  12. Nice idea , will try with Chucky.

  13. Ashwathy says:

    ROFL!! πŸ˜€ You actually managed to take pics of this also?? Maanna padega boss! πŸ˜€

  14. Oh we all used to do this to. Just that in our case, we had to ransack the entire linen closet to build a tent that would accommodate all of us πŸ™„

  15. Pepper says:

    The sis and I did this too! Many summer afternoons were spent tucked away like that. Only difference being, we put huge sheets of cloth over the dining table and converted that into our tent, instead of doing it wtth chairs and stools.

    Big hugs to R .. and you too! πŸ™‚

  16. Varsh says:

    Wow…sach mein sasta aur tikau! I and my bro used to do this umbrella thing. We had this old Dadaji ke zamane ki umbrella which was very big. We used to open it up and sit under it and have our meals. Ofcourse it happened only when we were very small and could fit in. πŸ˜›
    Can surely try this thing. As of now A Jr’s camping place is a spare mattress kept under our single bed in the living room.:D

  17. Deeps says:

    Can Namnam and I join you two, please please please? That looks like coziest, the funnest place to play! πŸ™‚

  18. Amit says:

    Haha! I remember my sis and I used to do this with a large umbrella in the house.

  19. telugumom says:

    I am going to pass on this idea to the boys. I am sure they will love it πŸ™‚

  20. pixie says:

    sis and I did this too!!
    We used to drape bedsheets on the bed’s posters – you know how we had them on cots to hand the mosquito nets?!
    We even used to do a “partition” for 2 rooms or houses and play or read! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

