Dashed Dreams?

I heard a recording of myself talking today during my training. And I must admit I was pleasantly surprised to hear that I sound pretty nice πŸ™‚

I sit there hearing myself winding up the conversation thinking of the alternate career of a RJ or something, when the trainer looks at me and says ‘any comments’

No I tell her rather pleased with myself when she starts

1. I repeat too many words
2. I need to work on my voice modulation
3. I need to learn to control my volume
4. I need to pause when I speak something important
5. I speak too much too fast too soon
6. I need to maintain my tenses
7. I need to learn to think a bit before I talk
8. I need to work on myΒ pronunciations, they seem to have a Gujarati accent (hehehe!)

Darn! thats another dream dashed eh?

But honestly I did think I sounded good on the recorder πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Dashed Dreams?

  1. Aditya says:

    Podcast, maybe?

  2. Lol you have a nice voice πŸ™‚

  3. Carvaka says:

    The trainer is trying to keep herself in a job.. I bet you would be an awesome RJ! πŸ˜‰

  4. Sreetama says:

    Well, that is what matters the most isn’t it? Whether you are happy with yourself or not. By the way, what’s the story behind the recording and its analysis?

  5. Gujarati Accent ? SO WHAT? Did you tell her that Williambhai’s accent now has traces of Gujarati ? And why is this lady training you ? For what ? Shhha ! (All the stuff about voice modulation/volume/spaces/pauses etc may be valid; I know many people who are excellent speakers with their own unique accent, and no one objects….)

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahah! well, I dont think she meant it in a wrong way..was just pointing out words where I could improve or be more neutral πŸ™‚

      and yes, I agree there are people I know who have accents and yet are such wonderful orators..I dont think I fall in that category..but hey, I dream on πŸ™‚

  6. Smitha says:

    I’m sure you were perfect!!! That trainer has to say something, na? Or else she would be out of her job πŸ™‚

    But the weirdest bit is that about changing your accent! Why do people say that? What is wrong in having an accent? It is part of who we are, is what I feel.

    • R's Mom says:

      LOL..no I wasnt rey πŸ™‚

      Nah! she didnt have a problem with the accent, she just mentioned a few words I could improve on πŸ™‚

  7. Ashwathy says:

    #3 and #5 are things I have felt about you when I heard you speak πŸ™‚ I guess a professional can identify more flaws since they can pin point a lot of things we can’t.

    LOL@ #8! I guess mine would contain a South Indian accent in places! All part of the game πŸ™‚

  8. Hahahaha , that was so funny RM .. Imagine the jhatka that you get post you think-you did -a fab job ! Aaah the same scenario here ..don’t worry , confidence is most important isn’t ?

  9. Bah! Screw the trainer. If you think you can become an RJ, you can! I think you’re brave in any case for being able to listen to a recording of yourself…i hate how my voice sounds.

  10. πŸ™‚

    I don’t think it is a dream dashed. You have recognised your shortcomings, and are willing to work on improving them. So, I think you have taken one more step closer to your dreams. πŸ™‚

  11. Deeps says:

    I’m sure you must have sounded great! πŸ™‚

  12. anisnest says:

    now if you upload that tape here we will also let you know πŸ™‚

  13. Swaram says:

    If u think u were good, ofcos u were πŸ˜‰ Hugs πŸ™‚

  14. So RM.. when are we hearing your voice?? You should totally put a voice recording here for all your fans.. PLEASE πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  15. pixie says:

    πŸ˜€
    I sound weird on a recorder!!
    I never sound like how I sound in my head!! πŸ˜›

  16. Smita says:

    ha ha ha ha…if u feel u are good then you are good!!! Baaki jaye bhaad main!! πŸ˜€

  17. Filter Kaapi says:

    Aaah, but foremost, it is great that you liked your recording! The rest, you will easily improve upon… While a work related training may require a neutral accent, a RJ needn’t have a neutral accent.. I’m sure, with your accent and peppiness, you will rock as a RJ

  18. dipali says:

    At least you liked what you sounded like!!!!!! I’m one of those strange people who hates to speak to an answering machine! I sound okay to myself when I’m talking, but my recorded voice doesn’t make me happy at all. You’ll be an RJ yet, I’m sure:)

  19. All I can say is people could be jealous of you , we’ll you never know that’s a possibility too πŸ™‚

  20. telugumom says:

    I am sure you were great. The trainer probably cannot give you all positive comments!! If you were happy, that is good πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

