Risms

Among R’s favorite activities apart from crying, is asking questions. She seems to be a never ending bundle of questions…I try and answer most of them, for some, I dont have answers which is when I go to Google

I guess most kids are very curious no?

1. I am reading a story for her from the magazine Magic Pot, which talks about a boy seeing the lotus and how its called the national flower, then a peacock and tiger meeting him and telling they are the national bird and animal and finally the peacock giving him a mango calling it the national fruit

Without skipping a beat, the brat asks me ‘Acha Amma toh National Vegetable kya hai?’

I answer my favorite line ‘Ask Appa; πŸ˜‰

Anyone knows what is the national vegetable of India because my man of all solutions doesnt have an answer to it.

2. Continuing on the mythology craze, the mil has told R that all Goddess are mothers yaada yaada

Today morning she drinks her milk and tells me ‘Amma, aap mere mother ho kya?’

RM: yes beta

R: toh aap Goddess ho kya?

RM: hahah! I wish beta, nahi I am just your amma

Okay she says and nods her head

Acha amma, abhi Hanuman umachi ne shaadi kiya kya?

I try to hide my laughter…no beta, abhi nahi

R: Toh kabhi karenge, koi good girl nahi mili unko?

RM: !!!!

3. We see some advertisement in the newspaper with Salman Khan on it.

R: Amma dekho Salman Khan hai? Dabbangg wala..

RM: yes

R: Amma, aap face kyun bana rahe ho? aapko salman khan nahi acha lagta

RM: no

R: aisa bolte hain, aisa bolte hain, very bad, kisi ko bhi acha nahi lagta nahi bolte okay, woh bad manners hai!

Smita (http://books-life-n-more.blogspot.in), you have a friend in the making eh?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Risms

  1. telugumom says:

    She is a cute kid πŸ™‚ Love all her questions and she teaching you good manners is the best one of all πŸ™‚

  2. LOL. Cuteness galore, this post is! Salman Khan fan in the making, it seems. πŸ™‚

    This reminds me of a program I saw on TV about a year back. A news report in which they were trying to prove that Hanuman did get married, just that no one knows about it! πŸ˜€

    Also, this post makes me curious about how the national bird and sport and animal and all are chosen!

  3. R is just turning more smarter, cuter and intelligent by every year, and inquisitiveness is best teacher and lucky her to have parents like you and RD who try and answer rather shoo her away or scold her for unending stream of questions.

    And her new found interest in mythology is super funny πŸ™‚ I am so sure she will go on a laughter ride once she would start reading your blog.

    See this ad, this is exactly what i mean http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uie4FVymPMY

  4. Ashwathy says:

    Hahah I was thinking of exactly the same thing while reading the Salman bit! πŸ˜† My God, Smita, do you realise how completely synonymous with Salman Khan fan syndrome you have become? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  5. ashreyamom says:

    i was just about to type here is smita’s girl, u already wrote the last line.. so RM u r goddess?? u should have just told yes na.. u manage so many things.. πŸ™‚

  6. garima says:

    hahaha for R I guess the national vegetable will be ‘bhindi’ πŸ™‚
    Am sure Hanumanji must be smiling at R’s innocent concern about his marriage πŸ™‚

    Yes yes I completely agree with you R on the last one..way to go sweety,you rock.

  7. Reema Sahay says:

    I immediately thought of Smita when I read about Salman Khan episode πŸ™‚
    But anyways, it is a good thing kids are curious. It reflects there imagination. I think you would have learnt a lot of things yourself along the way!

  8. chaitali says:

    β€˜Acha Amma toh National Vegetable kya hai?’ what a bouncer it was :-p

  9. Smitha says:

    So sorry, but I can’t help you either. Haven’t a clue about our national vegetable:)

    So, hope you are on track to find a ‘good girl’ for Hanuman Ummachi:)

    Salman must be so thankful:) what with all of us turning up our noses at him:)

  10. Smita says:

    ha ha ha ha dekha a little girl that too ur own daughter teaches you a manners πŸ˜› in my Son’s language “kisi ko accha nahin bolne ki gandi baat hoti hai” πŸ˜›

    I read ur last post but couldn’t comment, trust me I wud have fainted had R asked these questions. I mean me and Mythology have no connection!! Absolutely no connection!! Unfortunately Arnav is getting onto that question mark wala phase!!! Especially when I am in a hurry he has hundere and ten and more questions. Gosh!!! And u know that story during potty phase has started here also *rolls my eyes*

    As far as national vegetable is concerned ahem!!! Put an RTI for it πŸ˜€

    And of course we all are Goddesses!!! πŸ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      She is definitely your girl Smita :):)

      Waiting to read about Arnav’s questions in your blog πŸ™‚

      LOL on the RTI :):) RD says its pumpkin, but I doubt whether its true πŸ˜‰

      • Smita says:

        Found this on net….explains RD’s answer

        What is national vegetable of India?
        Officially, India has no national vegetable. Based on consumption of vegetable dishes, Kaddu is the national vegetable of India
        There are five contenders for this distinction: Kaddu, eggplant, chili peppers, onions, and turmeric root. Turmeric root is processed, dried and powdered. It is the most common spice in making curries, but it is not used as a a dish by itself. Onions and chili peppers are commonly used to make curry base, and served as accompaniments. This leaves eggplant and Kaddu. Eggplant is the second most popular vegetable to Kaddu.

        If you ask me it shud be Potatoes!!! Period!! πŸ˜€

  11. Swaram says:

    LOL πŸ™‚ She is teaching u good manners now eh? πŸ˜›

  12. Sameer Mainkar says:

    There is no Official Vegetable of India. But upon doing some search on Internet found out that Kaddu and Eggplants are strong candidates respectively

  13. Sameer Mainkar says:

    The man you married is correct about the Indian Vegetable (though Pumpkin is not exactly Kaddu and is its American varient)

  14. Comfy says:

    ‘Ask Appa’, I so need to remember that one. The only problem is ‘Ask Mumma’ is D’s fav. response. Where will the poor kids go if we both start on that?
    What RM go find a good girl for Hanuman umachi πŸ˜†
    RM for true Dabbang you will have to come to my place, just saying πŸ˜›

  15. pixie says:

    haha!! Give R a hug from me pls!! She is so cute and I loved her question about Hanumanji!!
    And yes, you shouldn’t say you don’t like Salman Khan!! πŸ˜‰

  16. Smita T says:

    Just googled national vegetable… looks like unofficially it is kaddu… so there you go… we end up gaining knowledge due our kids πŸ˜‰

  17. Pepper says:

    R is a cutie.. when do I get to see her again? Wait.. let me sort out a bit and give you guys a call.
    Btw, please tell me what umachi means. I’ve read the word on your blog earlier too and wondered what it meant. I asked Mint and even he didn’t know.

  18. anisnest says:

    love this girl and her questions.. hugs to the lil girl πŸ™‚

  19. Scribby says:

    is it potato? πŸ˜›

    hahahaha now how to explain brahmachari to the kids? πŸ˜›

    amma, bad manners, okay? *runs faster* πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

