The Trip To Kerala

Tiring – 4 days of travel in train and 2 days at Kerala and we were out only for 5 days..go on..do the additions..(Now you know why I want R to have RD’s mathematical genes)

Company – The company we had when we went to Kerala in the train was AWESOME!!! after a long long time we had a wonderful couple with us…aunty is a teacher while uncle has retired from the shipping industry but is doing small consulting work…the guy sitting in the other berth was a sweet fellow with a medical degree (I think aΒ psychiatricΒ or something) Β and RD, uncle, aunty and the guy had discussions on so many topics from 9.30 in the night when we boarded till 12.30 πŸ™‚ R and I were in snoozeland πŸ™‚ next morning we talked and talked and talked…they were absolutely okay with R behaving like a rebeling monkey going up and down and down and up the berths πŸ™‚

Food in train – Sad 😦 There was no pantry car while going to Kerala gah!

Food at home – AWESOME!!! there was sadya for both the days which was catered out since Amma’s kitchen is still non functional..and it was yummmmmmm

Amma Appa’s new house – Ahem! Idont want them to settle down in Kerala…for some reason I am still against it..but the house is awesome! maintaining the old style of one room leading to another, Appa has tried to retain all his childhood memories…the water collection system in the middle of the house, the well, the back yard, the old wooden pillars, the red flooring in the first floor, the old wooden cupboards which open up to ceramic golu toys more than 80 years old, with faded colours, the lovely wooden doors with amazing carvings…I should have done a photoshoot there…its lovely..the house, I admit very very reluctantly is really lovely πŸ™‚

My nephews – Rahul and my cousin’s son AD are only 20 days apart..and they get along like a house on fire..literally..both want the same toys, both whack each other, both laugh and both are as cute as kids can get…we had so much fun watching them

The family – funnily loads of people had come..from both parents side and they are really really sweet people..like RD was telling me THIS is why, you should have functions like this..I am a rebel and anti social…I dont believe in family functions..but the love that overflowed is something I have learnt to cherish…this is what family is about as per RD..ah well..thats the topic for another post πŸ™‚

The dance – I did it when I was half dead -dog tired after cleaning the ENTIRE house but I did it because RD insisted…wasnt a GREAT hit, but not bad for choregraphing it in exactly 2 hours and practising for exactly 4 hours…bro and bhabhi left from bombay for Kerala on Monday morning…I had monday night and tuesday night and tuesday early morning to choreograph and practice..for that, i think I did a decent job πŸ™‚ and oh I danced on a malayalam song which meant RD had to translate the wordings for me πŸ™‚ and oh for the even more curious (Read Ashwathy) its a song called Nandakumara Navaneetha chora sung by Chitra πŸ™‚

R’s behaviour – Left Β much to be desired….she was at her baddest (there is no such word, but thats what her behaviour was) throwing tantrums, wanting attention, crying, fighting with Rahul for toys, wanting everything for herself 😦 etc etc…I must admit, I expected her to be better behaved..only when my Amma intervened, she behaved!

Chips – I wanted truckloads, RD wanted just some..we negotiated and got back about 2 kgs of an assorted variety :):)

The hand painted Tshirts – Were a big hit among the kiddos πŸ™‚

All in all a short but memorable trip πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to The Trip To Kerala

  1. uma says:

    wow..sounds like a fun trip! And, your parents shifted base? I guess I’ve been missing too many posts here 😦 Why didn’t you do a photo shoot of the house? It really sounds like the Indian ethnic decor that I simply louveeeeeeeeeeeee! And, I’d have loved to see you dance. Please do one number whenever we meet next, OK?

  2. The Bride says:

    Your parents moved to Kerala from Goa? V sometimes traumatises me by saying he wants to live in Kerela and I suggest Goa as a compromise (mainly after reading Haathi’s blog; I would never have considered it otherwise).

    Family functions are great as long as you are not the organiser and feel obliged to provide tons of food for everyone.

    Oh god, I want chips!

    • R's Mom says:

      nope, they will be in Goa for some more time ,till Appa’s job continues..they just constructed the house there ::)

      Goa is beautiful and Haathi has got a way of making us feel its wonderful as well πŸ™‚

      I am wondering if a Bombay girl like you will EVER settle down in Goa hehehehehe

  3. Oh uncle aunty are planning to settle in Kerala?And that calculation part..am still confused πŸ˜‰

  4. Sreetama says:

    Your parents have a house in Kerala? Awesome! Was the visit on the occasion of Rahul’s birthday? He turned 1 already! I can imagine the amazing feeling of watching small babies together! R just wanted some pampering from you! Why don’t you post a video of your dance or a pic?!

    • R's Mom says:

      They sold off the house in Baroda to get one in Kerala πŸ™‚

      Yaa..he turned one already..no pics of the dance..RD was holding on to the phone to get the music heheheheh

  5. ashreyamom says:

    wow.. so many things.. so next u have to post a dance video too.. i think kids are like that only.. wanting attention when we are in large group. :).. i love Kerala chips..

  6. Smita says:

    Ur parents are moving out of Goa???

    And yes I too shirk away from family functions but when I go to one I realise the importance. The importance of keeping in touch with blood relatives!!!

    U danced?? wow!!! Good good!!!

    I hope R had a reason for behaving the way she behaved!!! Just have a serious talk with her on it!

  7. Yay The R family is back yay yay πŸ™‚

  8. Swaram says:

    Awww what a lovely trip πŸ™‚
    Can we get to see a video of the dance πŸ˜›

  9. Santulan says:

    Two days of Sadya food ? WOW I would have hogged so much that my clothes wouldn’t fit me..

    Did you take any pics of the trip? Can you share some?

    About R.. Last week I had setup a video conference on my laptop for neighbours as their son and his wife are in Australia and they have left their son (neighbours’ grandkid) with his Daada Daadi here.. When everyone was talking to them on the video con, the older daughter (cousin) of about 5-6 years of age behaved in the same manner.. She started calling for everyone and would run and pretend to fall and hurt herself to get attention, throw tantrums and all .. I think kids tend to do that and depending on kid-to-kid , must be addressed differently..

    And your tees were bound to be a hit, they’re so good πŸ˜€

  10. That sounds like a fantastic trip! πŸ™‚

    I LOVE the sound of your parents’ house in Kerala. Why didn’t you take pics? 😦 I love such old, traditional houses.

    BTW, I thought your parents stay in Goa. No?

  11. Smita T says:

    Wow… thats a lot of travelling in 5 days… and if you have pls post the photos as welll… I have never seen a typical kerala house and ur description sounds beautiful…

  12. RM is back, yay!! Missed you!

    I just LOVE old-style Kerala houses. Why why why didn’t you post some pics of the new house too? And of the 80 yr old (wow) golu toys too!

    .//like RD was telling me THIS is why, you should have functions like this.//
    I agree 1000% with RD. Family functions are so much fun!

  13. anisnest says:

    thats a nice roundup about the trip.. I loved the way you described amma/appa’s home.. It reminded me of my mama’s home..

  14. Comfy says:

    I have heard so much about houses like the one you describe, RM, and have seen pictures of a few. Would want to visit one of those at some point in my life. The trip sounds perfect.

    R, what is this Amma is saying? *looking very sternly*. We don’t like when Amma say’s things like that, OK. Our izaat is on the line. Don’t trouble Amma so much ok dear. A little is ok. Now go play.

    Hugs RM πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      I would suggest next time you come to Kerala and live there for some days..my parents would be thrilled πŸ™‚

      I will pass the message to R πŸ™‚

  15. That was one super fun trip isn’t it? When can we see the home pictures..You should have taken. I am a big time fan of those old style homes..

  16. Ashwathy says:

    Err… I thought your parents were based out of Goa, just that your roots are Kerala. What are you doing in Kerala now? Ancestral house? Or got a new house?

    No pantry car? You must have gone in Netravati right? They have this habit of disappearing with the pantry car every now and then. Try Duronto Express next time. They reach in 24 hrs, have limited stops and the food is good.

    Nandakumara Navneetha Chora is a bhajan right? How did you DANCE to it?? I need to check out the song now!

    • R's Mom says:

      Parents got a house there..they are still at Goa πŸ™‚

      no we went by some Pune Ernakulam express…but the company was awesome πŸ™‚

      I danced darling, I danced πŸ™‚

  17. Deeps says:

    Congrats to your parents on their new home, RM!
    That soubded like a super fun gathering! Family gatherings are! I love them πŸ™‚

    As for R, its normal! Especially with crowd and such chaos kids tend to get a bit restless. I’m sure she had her share of fun too πŸ™‚

  18. Amit says:

    You guys are pretty rich eh? πŸ˜›
    One house in Goa, one in Kerala.
    Well, I am glad you enjoyed your stay there. It is lovely to be surrounded by family sometimes.

    • R's Mom says:

      Nah! the house in Goa is the quarters Appa got from the place he is working..and yaa..the house in Baroda got sold off *sob Sob* for funding the Kerala house..heheehe πŸ™‚

  19. Santulan says:

    Your parents are based in GOA? Sahiii..

  20. techie2mom says:

    Wow, your parents have houses in 2 beach states!! Amazing!!
    2 are multitalented RM!! You write well, dance well, you paint t-shirts so well, you cook well!!! Falling at your feet….

  21. rainmusings says:

    Arey RM, S is also like that, she will act as if she is hurt and no one is looking after her. I think R behavior is normal , and is expected when other babies are around ;). We face the same drama everytime her cousin is here (and that is evey weekend ;)) . And in some yeras time , I gues u will have to make a long journey to kerala for vacations .. But you still get the beaches with lot more trees πŸ™‚

  22. telugumom says:

    Sounds like you had fun in Kerala.
    I miss travelling by train in India. Arey don’t worry about R’s behaviour – it is very common when they see their grand parents and other relatives. They just think anything goes and have a hard time listening to us.

  23. Trip to Kerala, wow! Brought back so many memories for me πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

