Not Smart Enough

for a smart phone…I am not smart enough for a smart phone..

they scare me..just like I am scared of roller coaster rides…smart phones represent the same roller coasters to me albeit in a smaller way…

Its like getting into a maze and not being able to find your way out and then pass on the phone to the spouse to ask him to help you…

I have never had a smart phone till date…RD has had a variety of them…I never used them for any purpose until it was like an emergency..and I had to take a call while he was driving etc etc…

Here are the reasons why I am a bit reluctant to get a smart phone

1. I will get addicted to the internet….I am sure of that…if I can check my mail continously or be online constantly, I think I will cease to be a human and will become an extension of the smart phone..

2. Expensive – Jeez the smart phones ARE expensive!

3. Cost of the internet while on the go – *shudders*

4. Maze like features…I mean boss, idhar I have issues withdrawing money from the ATM, I am too scared to even think of navigating myself through a smart phone

5. Then I cant find a reason to fight with RD if even I am on the phone constantly…I mean if I become like him, where will I get a topic to fight eh?

6. The need to constantly charge it…I put the ironing box to iron – RD’s phone is charging there…I put on the goodknight – RD’s phone is charging there, I try to put my charger and RD phone is charging there…ugh! I wont be surprised if RD manages to get 10 chargers and just stick them to all our plug points and keep playing musical chair plugs with us! *rolls eyes*

7. Un-smart people like me dont usually carry a Smart phone eh?

But honestly, lately I have been tempted.

To find a quick recipe, or to get one of the addresses by email in a jiffy..or last but not the least with this apps called wassap or something…I was enamoured by it when I saw it on a friend’s phone..its like a messaging system between any phone..like sms but totally free..how cool is that!

Am I buying one now?

Nah..mera 2500 Rs ka micromax is working just fine..and guess what I dont even have to charge it for a week..*Sticks tongue out*

And in the meantime, Did you people check out the IMC Celebrates Motherhood

http://www.indianmomsconnect.com/2013/04/30/imc-celebrates-motherhood/

for the next 12 days, be prepared for an overdose of motherhood eh? Go on, be a part of the crowd and have fun πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Not Smart Enough

  1. Santulan says:

    A colleague from work tells me that he is so smart that he doesn’t need a smart phone..

    SO you’re sooooooo smart RM, that you don’t need a smart phone.. (go on roll your eyes)

    Nowadays we get budget smart phones also re.. Mom is like you in this case, If I had asked her to write something , it would match for 70% of this.. SO I am gifting her a Samsung galaxy phone which will come for less than 6000. Plus credit card pe EMI.. πŸ˜€

    One thing if for sure, once you start using smart phone you will not be able to / want to shift back to normal phones.. You will need some time to get used to them, but ek baar in.. to never out..

  2. The Bride says:

    The reason it is called a smartphone (and not something complicated like ATM) is that it is smart even if you are not. πŸ˜‰ Therefore, you will figure out how to use it, I am sure, because I did and I did not use Reader till a year ago.

    Yes, you will get addicted to the Internet. But so what? Especially during commutes. And I still do a lot of reading during commutes. You eventually figure out when and how to switch off.

    It is very useful for careless people like me who forget to take addresses, phone numbers etc. and need to look them up on the internet on the go. It’s an awesome thing ya, you should totally get one.

    The newer models (iphone5, S3 etc) have lower battery life but my iphone 3Gs would last a day and a half w/o charging. Not quite 5 days, I know but I now have the S3 and it annoys how the battery just drops.

    • R's Mom says:

      oh…I till now always thought, smart phones are for smart people πŸ™‚

      Reader even I started using it very lately..and then they are shutting down in July gah!

      I read books during my commute πŸ™‚

  3. Honest post! πŸ™‚

    I don’t think I am smart enough to use a smartphone either. I don’t think I would like one either. I am happy with a phone that messages and texts well, stores my contacts and with a reasonably good camera and music.

  4. DI says:

    I lou smart phones. I never go for the most upgraded or expensive one ever, but one a grade below that, and I lou it! The games, the way you can google anything anytime, twitter, blogs, mails, chat on the go, wheeeeee! Love it!
    Actually, phones per se are exp I agree, and I change them quite often, but this is my only indulgence. Also, internet on the go is cheap these days. I have a 99 Rs 3G pack and it never gets exhausted, because most places have WIfi? So I would recommend you take one πŸ˜‰

  5. Smita T says:

    Hey… for whatsup i dont think u need to exp smartphone… i think it works on nokia asha series too… and getting addicted to internet… tell me about it… i dont received one email worth reading but keep checking all the time…. maybe the old habit from F&S…

  6. Smita says:

    HA HA HA HA HA!!!

    U are very very tempted to buy one and are only trying to convince yourself and that is why this post πŸ˜› because of all the reason the only reason that looks reasonable enough is no 6. Rest all are plain excuses!!! Kill me for being honest πŸ˜€

    Chal RM get off that high horse of yours and indulge in a smart phone!!! It will be fun Whatsapping!!!! U know I have a Ladies Only group out there and we share the silliest of the jokes!!!

  7. Smart phones are addictive though…I have a bad habit of checking my emails if I wake up in the middle of the night! Have the phone on the bedside table because it also serves as my alarm. But honestly, you don’t need to be too ‘smart’ to figure out how to use a smartphone. My mum uses one! πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Even RD does that!! first thing he embraces if he gets up is not his wife but his phone *rolls eyes*

      Errr…your mum’s smart darling..she gave birth to you eh?

  8. Filter Kaapi says:

    πŸ˜€ I used those ‘smart’ phone but the ones from the not-so expensive range. Lost one in auto and soaked the other in Surf and now I’m using my basic Nokia mobile. Losing the cheaper ones lessens my guit! Mobiles and me just don’t get along! Hmph.

  9. techie2mom says:

    Yes they are addictive, they are costly!! But they are fun!!
    Only solution to save yourself from addiction is to not to take the 3G plan and use only wi-fi. will limit your connection time and costs too!!
    But having said that, i miss my old Nokia phone…

  10. Tharani says:

    Av has a smart phone which he uses only for making and receiving calls. So what do we call him πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    I use his phone for playing games, reading blogs etc etc and I never had the urge to buy one. May be we both belong to the old era huh??:)

  11. metherebel says:

    If I were to write this I would say I am not rich enough for smart phones πŸ™‚ However like you temple run and wassapp are tempting me to buy one! Lets see for how long can I resist its charm.

  12. Jazz says:

    RM, my husband got me a smartphone last year and I think I have figured out most functions in few months. But I absolutely loved my 1600 rupees red and black colored wala Micromax :-P. It was so simple and I still have it, will use it when I’m back to India.

    Music on that phone and a book in hand were my companions on the Office commute in India. Bliss!

    I’m getting addicted to this iPhone now and trying to go away from it. The problem with them is every work needs to be done on time, I can’t excuse myself saying oops I can’t check mail, will do later. πŸ˜€

  13. Maddie says:

    Smart phones are damn addictive. I was happy without them. Now my husband and I sit with the phones and my son sits with his ipad. Talk about gadget crazy fam. I hate it at times. And dont even get me started on whatsapp. It nearly kills me! But once you buy it, there is no way to get rid of it!

  14. anisnest says:

    Hmm I had one for a year and then switched back to Nokia basic model and now back to the Samsung galaxy SII.. I love it as I can take pictures and videos of kids as and when needed. I don’t have to carry that big camera for Adi’s school functions or get togethers. I also love it for listening to music as it comes with bigger storage capacity.. It is indeed smart but we should outdo its smartness by not getting addicted to it. I think I got the control of it now. I have a smartphone but I don’t check my emails or facebooks. I use it only when needed. trust me it takes time. In my case it took more than a year to outgrow the smartphone-o-mania but I am glad I am out of it at least for now. It tests your self control πŸ™‚ One other way to keep in control is take the minimum data plan so that you won’t use it often in the fear of exceeding the limit… Give it a try RM..

  15. Comfy says:

    Oye RM you are all wrong about smart phones. They are not for smart people. In fact smart phones make people dumb. Honest fact! See when there were no mobile phones, I used to remember so many phone numbers by heart. Then I got a mobile and now I don’t even remember my own number, let alone anyone else’s. Then came smart phones. Now I used to know all my friends birthdays and used to keep track of them all. Present time, it all goes in a calendar and I remember none. 😐 Pathetic wonly I be. πŸ˜₯
    But I can honestly say, I am not addicted my smart phone. errr I mean I am on the computer all the time, so where is the chance to be on the phone πŸ˜€ I charge my phone once in two days, I am that good. Half then time I don’t know where my phone is. πŸ˜›

    • R's Mom says:

      I agree..so so so agree with what you are saying…I am pretty pathetic myself…I get surprised that Amma remembers phone numbers AND birthdays all the time!!!

  16. ashreyamom says:

    i liked that, “smart people dont need smart phones”. had one, bunty dropped it, so now happy with basic nokia.. :). i feel i am illiterate for few days while using the new phone.. πŸ™‚

  17. Ashwathy says:

    Smart phones are a boon. Well, and bane depending on how you see it.

    1. Ah! Yes this is a valid point. But then I have a smart phone myself and still prefer to check blogs, mails etc on the laptop. There is a certain feel of it that becomes missing on the phone if you know what I mean πŸ™‚

    2. Err…yes… quality comes with a price. But then since RD has a lot of phones, maybe you can use some of his earlier, lesser used phones, instead of buying something new altogether?

    3. I do not use internet while roaming. I can live without it πŸ˜› Thank you!

    4. It’s actually super easy and very convenient. You just need to get the hang of it. There is nothing to fear but fear itself.

    5. LOL!! No comments for this one! πŸ˜€

    6. Er…why on earth are you charging it constantly? I just charge it once at night to its full capacity and its enough to last me till the next night. If the battery is dying then you need to replace it. That’s all. Which phone does RD use anyway? πŸ˜› Either that or he is slavishly addicted to using it.

    7. Who said you are un-smart?? You are just psycho, not un-smart! :mrgreen: There is a difference!

    I was enamoured by it when I saw it on a friend’s phone..its like a messaging system between any phone..like sms but totally free..how cool is that!
    Ok you really sound like you are stuck in the Stone Age. Whatsapp is the in-thing. You can share messages (no word limit), pics, files, photos, videos and lots more data – unlike sms which has restrictions on the text itself. If you are talking like you saw it yesterday, then we seriously need you to be enlightened. Coz no sis of mine is supposed to be a dumbass or lost in a cave!

    And if you don’t charge Micromax for a week, then there’s something seriously wrong with your brain! πŸ˜›

    On second thought, forget it. At the rate at which you keep losing phones left and right, I don’t think smart phone is choice for you at all !! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  18. Writerzblock says:

    I was against it too, but you know, its actually quite useful. Like this afternoon, I saw a colour e-book-reader on sale at throwaway price. I quickly googled it on my S3 and the reviews were awful! So you see, smart phones aren’t that dumb after all!! Go, get one. Get a basic one.

  19. Amit says:

    The only reason I would like to buy a smart phone is to have a constant internet connectivity. And there are times when I am travelling and I feel like watching a movie. That is when it comes handy. Other than that I don’t have an use for them.
    BTW, I too don’t have a smart phone but ordered one 2 days back. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

