Of Book Gifters and Janing :)

So this guy from work, I am not close to him or anything, we just talk to each other…infact whenever we talk, we always fight…well, in a nice manner..so much so in London when our manager had taken us out for lunch together, he mentioned that if I didnt know you guys better, I would think you are married :):) yaa..basically we just fight most times…

But I dont talk to him much since he is in a completely different sphere of work than mine..

Yesterday, I was plesantly surprised when he gave me ‘The Oath of the Vayuputras’

Last week, I had seen the book in his hand and asked him if he could give it to me after he finished reading it..and yesterday he gave me the book..I said I will return it to him in some days, and he said ‘no I bought it for you’

RM: Seriously? mere liye? why

Him: Just like that rey…you wanted it, I was in crossword yesterday and so I remembered and got it for you

I thanked him profusely…and he was like its not big deal and went away

After sometime in the afternoon, my collegues and I were just taking a break from work and infact were talking about how the guy who gave me the book was a great asset to the company etc etc

He had some work from us and walked up and one of the guys mentioned ‘we were just talking about you’

Him :yaa..what happened

RM: Just like that

Him: were you guys bitching about me eh?

RM: Well, I cant even bitch about you anymore 😦

Him: why not?

RM: Well, I have a thing about guys who give me books..they are kind of special

Him: Really, what happens to them?

RM: WEll, the last guy who gave me a book as a present, I ended up marrying him

There was a stunned silence and he said ‘no no’

I laughed out aloud and said ‘dont worry, I am still married to that guy and currently have no intention of leaving him’

Everyone laughed until the guy looked at me seriously and said ‘RM, I have written inside the book, To Mr and Mrs RM, so its not a gift only to you, its for your husband also okay?

Poor guy, didnt know what struck him eh?

========

There is a big crowd when I am coming back with R in the activa..

Amma, she asks me seriously, why itna janing wahan pe?

Translated in English as ‘Why are there so many people standing there’ (Janing – Jan = People, ing = English present continous tense!)

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Of Book Gifters and Janing :)

  1. ROFL. I am sure the guy wouldn’t have known what hit him. πŸ˜€ Loved your response to him, BTW.

    Yes, yes, guys who gift books are indeed special. I married the only one who cared enough to gift me books, too. πŸ˜‰

    LOL @ janing. I was wondering (when I read the title of the post) if it had something to do with Jane Austen. πŸ˜›

  2. Ashwathy says:

    Don’t let me get started on the R-isms. Both you and RD talk three different languages mixed up in your home – Tamizh, Hindi and English. I heard you when I visited your place. So you are yourself responsible. Don’t gloat over it! πŸ˜› Sheesh!

    As for your colleague….. πŸ˜† I think he wanted to truly get the point across that he knew you were married and was not hitting on you hence dedicated the book to you and your husband both. On a lighter note, I am sure he must have sympathies for RD for tolerating you! πŸ˜›
    *runsssssss*

  3. uma says:

    Now people, esp men, will think twice about gifting you books..kya re you scared that guy?!! lol :-))) You need to publish a Rictionary with R’s cutely coined words..:-)

  4. Filter Kaapi says:

    Poooor guy! πŸ˜‰
    πŸ˜€ With R churning out so many words, you should start a ‘Rictionary’ πŸ˜‰

  5. ashreyamom says:

    he he he.. poor guy might not have understood the joke.. πŸ™‚

  6. Smita says:

    ha ha ha ha seriously u r too much!!! U gave that guy a shock of his life!!!

    And Ur daughter? she too hands aage from you!! Janing? My God!!

  7. Maddie says:

    Lol…poor guy! πŸ™‚

  8. metherebel says:

    RM you scared the poor guy!

    I was wondering what ‘janing’ was when I read the title πŸ™‚

  9. AA_Mom says:

    LOL. I too married the first guy who gifted me a book.

  10. Sumana says:

    I was laughing continuously reading this. LOL and more ROFL. R has such cute and comical vocab love it….

  11. Totally funny, poor guy would have got scared πŸ™‚

    And this cuteipie R always cracks me up with her multilingual skills πŸ™‚

  12. anisnest says:

    lol on janing.. now where is the tamil in that? hope she talks tamil too πŸ™‚

  13. Amit says:

    I have never found a single person in my life who is as passionate about books as I am. I seriously miss ‘book conversations’ as times. 😦

  14. sandhya says:

    πŸ™‚ Poor fellow. Bechara bhala aadmi!

    Wish I could have met you!

  15. telugumom says:

    RM, you scared that poor guy πŸ™‚ LOL on Janing πŸ™‚

  16. Sreetama says:

    Oh this is so funny! I bet he was thinking that you are giving some king of hint! (Ahem!) πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰

  17. DI says:

    :o! Paavam guy! Ok, I am sure she was shocked by your response! And man, I would never be able to joke around like this, too funny your are RM! He will not gift you anymore if you behave like this 😐
    And janing? Wow! You should start a new language , R language!

  18. Writerzblock says:

    Ha ha πŸ™‚ @janning πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

