Ramayan With A Twist

For the original Ramayan lovers, let me clarify that this is MY version which I told MY Child, I apologise if I have hurt feelings in advance, and promise that I will ask R to read the original Ramayan when she grows old enough.

There was a king named Dasaratha. He didnt have children for many years. So he prayed to God and God gave him four sons.

R: baap rey, four sons..who log fighting nahi karte the

RM: Err…karte the, but love bhi karte the..so the four sons were called Rama, Lakshaman, Shatrugan and and and…errr..and

R: Krishna…

RM: Nahi rey Krishna was another yug..

R: what is yug…fourth brother’s name was Yug??

RM: no no no..honestly, I dont remember the fourth brother’s name, so lets just call him Krishna okie?

(Searched on Wikipedia *gives embarrased look* Its Bharat…Darn, I should have known this *Gives even more embarrassed look*)

Anyways so the four brothers went to school, had fun together, and then they grow up and get married…Rama marries Sita

R: Okay..phir

RM: Well, phir one day, Ravan comes to Ayodhya (thats the place where Dasaratha lived) and says I will take over your kingdom and take Sita with me to my kingdom

R: Kyun

RM: Well, aise hi, to prove he is strong..

R: Ohhhh

RM: Then Rama said ‘Sita dont worry, I will protect you and we will fight Ravan and wont let you take him away’

Sita looked at Rama and said ‘arey Rama you dont have to save me, I can save myself, dont worry’

But, I dont want fights, so I am going to go and meet Rama

R: Sita ko fighting nahi aacha lagta tha?

RM: No, who would want to fight rey..anyways, so she decides to go and meet Ravan…Ravan tells her ‘lady I am going to take you away’

She tells him ‘See Ravan, I dont want a fight and a fight will lead to only loss of others lives, so lets do one thing, let have a race, till the top of that mountain in Ayodhya, whoever finishes first, is the winner, if you win, I will come with you, if I win you will leave the kingdom and go away’

Ravan thinks for a while and agrees

On the day of the race, everyone is worried about Sita, but Sita is cool. Both Ravan and she start the race. Sita runs in a steady pace whie Ravan rushes ahead.

On the way, Sita meets a lion

R: Toh lion ne usko eat kar liya? *Wonder why the kid always thinks of such gory things ugh!*

RM: no no, listen na!

So lion says ‘Sita I will eat you’

R: Bola tha na..*Gives superior look*

RM: arey let me finish na..

So Sita tells him, look lion, you can eat me later, but right now I am running a race with Ravan and if he wins, I will have to go with him to his kingdom’

Lion says’ oh is it, wait wait, then I will show you a short cut to go to the mountain top’

Sita says ‘I dont want a short cut, I will go the decided route

Lion says ‘ha, you think Ravan is not taking a short cut?

Sita replies ‘I dont care, I will not cheat’

R: Cheating kharab hota hai na Amma

RM: yes baby

And so Sita continues on the way. In the meantime, Ravan who takes a short cut, realises he is stuck at a land slide just before the winning point. When Sita slowly reaches there, she sees a lot of stones and hears someone shouting help help from the other side.

It was Ravan

R: aha! cheating kiya na iske liya he got stuck

RM: yes ..anyways so Sita decides to help him, she throws a rope on the other side of the stones and Ravan climbs on this side

and then Ravan tells her, Sita, you are very nice, I am very sorry, you go ahead and win the race, I will come afterwards

Sita says no no we will go together

But Ravan says no you go ahead, I will follow, otherwise, the people of Ayodhya will make us do the race again!

So Sita goes ahead and wins the race and Ravan goes back to his kingdom

R: Ho gaya story?

RM: OF course

R: acha, abhi Krishna ka story bolo

RM: !!!!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Ramayan With A Twist

  1. uma says:

    Wow, I like it..Sita’s Ramayan with no Ram in the picture..hare and the tortoise told with a mythological twist..you sure have a vivid imagination, RM! πŸ™‚

  2. techie2mom says:

    Your Ramayan brought smile on my face πŸ™‚
    Hugs RM….

  3. Sujatha says:

    wow.. I admire your imagaination skills RM !!
    LOL on ‘acha, abhi Krishna ka story bolo’

  4. Nice twist to the epic..nice imagination RM.Abhi Krishna ka story kab bologe? πŸ™‚

  5. What a cute story, RM! Loved your version of the Ramayana! πŸ™‚

  6. “bola tha na” god that one made me go into a laughing fit!! She is awesome re….

    You tho mastarni in story telling πŸ™‚

  7. Ashwathy says:

    Hahahah! Bharat is the one who took over when Ram went for van-vas. And you forgot HIS name instead of Shatrughan! πŸ˜€

    Hahahah!! Ravan and Sita in a running race! You turned them into the hare and tortoise!! Good grief! You are a bigger psycho than I though. πŸ˜†

  8. Nidaa says:

    Wish you’d publish your own collections of kids stories soon…

  9. SG says:

    Lovely! Preferred this version =D

  10. ashreyamom says:

    new ramayana.. nice story RM.. yes, now i also want the krishna story.. πŸ˜›

  11. Filter Kaapi says:

    WowThis is Sitayana.. πŸ˜‰

  12. Deeps says:

    Loved this version of Ramamyan so much more than the original one, RM! Wonderful imagination indeed!

    Now looking forward to listening to your Krishna story! πŸ™‚

  13. Santulan says:

    LOL @ superior look…

    Ab krishna ki story kab milegi?

  14. Smita says:

    Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha

    Wait for RSS to slap a notice on you for demeaning Ramayana and Sita!!

    Just wait n watch!!! πŸ˜›

  15. Rajk says:

    That’s not Ramayan, that’s RM-ayan. Fertile imagination, both ma and beti… More please!

  16. AaeKay says:

    Hahaha superb story RM πŸ˜‰
    Acha now tell me also na Krishna’s story :))

  17. aahhh….only if it had been so easy for Sita 😦
    But anyways, I love your stories RM πŸ™‚ If ever I decide to have kids, I will surely narrate them your stories πŸ˜€

  18. anisnest says:

    I love love love your style of spinning stories RM.. hats off to you.. these days I am telling akbar/birbal stories to Adi. we call it as ABS and the girl loves it.. you are too good in making up a story RM.. keep it up.. this is the best way to interact with kids and teach them good values..

  19. Comfy says:

    I love your Ramayan so much more than the original RM! Since it is the holy book I will not state my thoughts about Ram here and not to talk about the bloody, gory details.
    And R to is total awesome.. ab Krishna ka story bolo πŸ˜€

  20. pixie says:

    Im so gonna tell my kids the same story!!
    bookmarking this right away! I love your imagination RM! πŸ™‚

  21. by god! you are hilarious! πŸ™‚ Loved the story..

  22. summerscript says:

    Ahh.. This is such a cute ramayanam.Love it.

  23. Amit says:

    You took away the whole Vanwaas episode! Hahaha! You will have to answer some serious questions when R learns the actual story. πŸ˜›

  24. Interesting twist to the story RM! Is it weird that I thought of Harry and Cedric at the end when Sita offers to run with Ravan and win together? πŸ˜›

    You made me think about how I might want to tell the story someday to my future kids. Personally, I’m not a big fan of the Ramayana, so its really encouraging to see you twist the story when you’re telling it to R. She’s lucky to have you!

  25. metherebel says:

    Hare and tortoise story in ramayan? You seriously have great imagination πŸ™‚

  26. dipali55 says:

    Now this is a version that I like:)

Leave a Reply

