Long Term Investment – Swimming Costume?

Firstly, I must admit, I cant swim AT ALL.

I got very very tempted when I saw RD and R having fun in the water.

and oh for the records, R’s initial euphoria has gone, and now she cries when she goes to the pool..darn! I shouldnt have celebrated so soon…but keeping my fingers crossed!

and oh so, like I mentioned, I was so so tempted looking at RD and R, that I went to the pool yesterday.

In a *ahem* swimsuit and swimming cap.

Yes, at last after 31 years, I am finally NOT CONSCIOUS of my body. I care two hoots that my back is showing or my legs are showing. This swimsuit is knee length with a kind of skirt and has short sleeves. Its EXTREMELY Comfortable for a swimsuit and yes, I didnt feel one bit consicous…infact the day I tried it on, I was moving around the pool OUTSIDE water without worrying one bit or caring that some one is watching me.

*Ahem* I have really grown up *gives a proud look*

and yesterday, I got the cap (no one is allowed inside the pool without a cap!) and I went in. and I even could float for 1.345682 micro milli seconds..go figure!

and wow! it sure is addictive…I have decided to go EVERY saturday and sunday with RD and R…RD swims around in the water like a bloody fish..gah! I am realy really jealous of him..R and I were using the float, clinging to it for dear life, but hey we are trying..really trying..thats when I am not busying cajoling R to stop crying…you know something, I discovered that you can not swim and cry at the same time…*Giving Newton look*
anyways, lets hope this is a start to a whole new learning for a lifetime…even if it started 25 years late, I hope I can learn to swim like RD by the time I am 40 hehehehe πŸ™‚

my only problem –

The swimming costume is so so expensive – Rs. 750
Swimming cap – Rs. 175

I nearly fell off into the pool with my clothes on when I heard them say the price…but like RD says, look at it as a long term investment..trust the guy to go finance even for a swimming costume..

Please pray for me, that I dont jinx this

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Long Term Investment – Swimming Costume?

  1. Santulan says:

    ooooh..

    If you really stop being conscious about many things, and just submit yourself to it, swimming is oh so relaxing..

    Once you’re able to swim unaided, you can be a fish in the pool too πŸ™‚

    Sigh, I don’t know how to swim.. Will have to start

  2. LOL on the Newton look πŸ˜€ And come on RM, Rs.750 is not too much for something you’ll be wearing at least twice every week( assuming you’ll be swimming in the weekends), particularly if that something should potentially last you forever –or at least as long as you don’t tire of it and decide to dump it!

    • R's Mom says:

      I agree..but when that guy said Rs.750 for the swimsuit which didnt really seem that large,it was a shock :):) I hope I maintain at least this size for it to last me forever πŸ™‚

  3. chaitali says:

    oh dear even i can’t swim, but i am planning to learn it next year.. πŸ™‚

  4. crunch says:

    I remember when I first started swimming 5 years ago. Learnt from my husband and a few friends. And you used the perfect word to describe it – addictive. I swam everyday of my pregnancy even through winter back in the US. I miss swimming after having moved back to Bangalore … I’ve gotten too conscious about people staring here. Not used to it. Will have to get over it I suppose. But if you stick to this and do it regularly, trust me there’s nothing like floating for minutes at a stretch and staring at the blue sky. It’s a super short cut to meditation and what you feel if you’re in ultimate peace with yourself. πŸ™‚ Good luck and don’t let any silly instructor take the joy out of it for you. OK now I want to go swim!

    • R's Mom says:

      I didnt know its safe to swim through pregnancy..thats super yaar!

      I can understand about the staring..especially after the US..I hope you start to swim here as well..

      Nah! RD is my instructor and he can NEVER take the joy for water from anyone :):)

  5. Ashwathy says:

    First things first.
    I nearly fell off into the pool with my clothes on when I heard them say the price
    I was laughing too hard imagining that!! πŸ˜†
    Ok now let me comment πŸ˜›

    I even could float for 1.345682 micro milli seconds..go figure!
    You counted that while in the water itself kya? πŸ˜›

    I discovered that you can not swim and cry at the same time…*Giving Newton look*
    No, because if you open your mouth to wail, all the water will rush into your nose and mouth, no matter how much you try to keep your head above the water.

    Keep at it πŸ™‚ You will do fine.
    Slow and steady wins the race, remember?
    Just don’t give up halfway. This will take patience, that’s all.

  6. That’s good for R to see you learning as well. Will help motivate her. And swimming is amazing. I learnt on my own after crying the first couple of times with an instructor when I was little. And kudos about not feeling self-conscious about your body…next step: bikini?

    • R's Mom says:

      oh even you cried is it? Chalo then R is normal eh :):)

      Bikini – oye…abhi swimsuit I have dared to put, dont push me so much rey πŸ™‚ but yaa..one day for sure

  7. I cant tell you enough how much I love water and swimming. Being in water makes me super happy, I don’t care about Delhi cold; my own cold, my morning sleep or even getting my skin dark when I have to go to swimming and trust me not just the costume but swimming as a skill is a lifetime investment. I would really pray that R starts enjoying it soon and you also keep accompanying them on weekends, its a great exercise and stress buster.

    And you do not have to worry about forgetting it when not practicing, in that regard its same as learning to cycle or driving. Once you get it right you never forget it.

    And as far as swimming costume is considered, RD is right, it is a lifetime investment, not just for swimming lessons but these days in any water park or adventurous parks where water activities or even pools in hotels/resorts we stay randomly don’t allow people without costumes, so you just have to be in the same size if you want fultoo paisa fasool πŸ˜›

    That reminds me I have to go and buy a costume today, my current one is not solving the purpose anymore.

    • R's Mom says:

      I loved your comment..thanks for making me feel so great about it πŸ™‚

      LOL on the size..abhi thats my only problem, I hope I maintain the size πŸ™‚

      Does the skin really get dark? any tips to protect the skin…I am not worried about the darkness..more worried about the dryness it causes on R’s skin!

      • If the pool staff maintains the right amount of chlorine level and also if continuous filteration is enabled then most likely skin would be unaffected.

        And make sure R takes fresh water shower both before and after the swimming session. Also apply Vaseline before the session as it isn’t water soluble.

  8. metherebel says:

    Happy swimming RM πŸ™‚ Good luck!

  9. Wow! That sounds good. πŸ™‚

    Swimming or even floating in a pool can be quite enjoyable, once you get used to it. I don’t know anything about swimming, either. The first time (and the last) that I went into a pool was with the OH a couple of years back, at Kerala. I was darn scared, but was so happy by the end of it. We vowed to do it more frequently, but didn’t keep up to it.

    Yes, as long as you are going to use the swimming costume and cap and enjoy yourself, it is a long-term investment. You are not going to buy one every week, after all. πŸ™‚

    Here’s wishing the R family loads of happy times in the pool!

  10. Tharani says:

    I have decided not to read any post which has the word, “swimming”. Gah

  11. Smita T says:

    R’s Mom… I learnt swimming last year… I wont say I swim like a fish, but now I can enjoy the water… since our shapes and sizes are nearly the same (me being on higher side) done worry even u will be able to do it… so dont worry enjoy the water… i love it πŸ™‚

  12. garima says:

    arre RM jitna chota kapda utna mehanga hota hai,jitna lamba utna sasta πŸ™‚
    Am sure R will soon start enjoying swiming…I myself dont know swiming but getting in the pool in summers this idea itself is exciting…

    “Yes, at last after 31 years, I am finally NOT CONSCIOUS of my body”–please pass on this hard earned qualities of your to me also ,plzzz.

  13. I am so thrilled you are learning swimming. I learnt the old way about 53 years ago, when you learnt some strokes and they then threw you in at the deep end. Things are more civilized these days.
    A few years ago, when my daughter would go for her competitive swimming workouts, I was a regular swimmer, and there was a visitors gallery where folks would sit and wait for their kids or even just watch. An acquaintance lady, sat next to me (as i finished my laps and sat waiting for the daughter to finish), and asked me, “Aiiyo, Yeh sab daal ke swimming karna , aap sharmaate nahi kya ? Hame to sharam lagti hai ” (as if I was supposed to jump in with a full six yard saree ).

    I told her that I felt like Madhuri Dixit when I wore the stuff and dived/jump. She never asked me again. And my swim suit didnt even have legs or sleeves then .

    And R’s Mom, 750 is OK. The speedos the daughter needs cost obscene amounts…..

    Hope you soon become a good swimmer, even better than RD. ! Best wishes. !
    .

    • R's Mom says:

      You are a rock star..heheheheeh πŸ™‚ thats so so cute…Madhuri Dixit is it?

      I agree, the swim suits now a days cover a lot more than earlier..I mean, there is an option at least to cover if you want πŸ™‚

      Becoming a better swimmer than RD? He has a 25 year head start gah!

  14. ashreyamom says:

    nothing is late dear.. its good investment.. i think size might not be a prob, as it would stretch even if u put on weight na.. ?? its a good exercise too.. :).. who doesnt like playing in water?? enjoy .. :0)

  15. Prachi says:

    RM…….SAME PINCH….!!!!

    I am so happy to read this post….I have also joined swimming classes since 10 days now….I know it is addictive….I love the feeling of satisfaction and achievment it gives. I am really really enjoying it.

    Well this is my second attempt on learning, so it was easier than before, I have opted for daily classes and 5th day I found my self succesfully swimming on the deep end of pool…!!
    (okay, trying to survive in the deep end, but that’s not bad for a beginner !!)

    Only thing is never loose hope and just try n try n try n more try…n very soon you will be swimming like RD.
    So stay tuned on…we can discuss our respective progress/challenges *thinking positive gives positive results”
    I can go on writing…I think I should write saperate post(s) on my daily swimming adventures…!!
    All the BEST…Dear..!!

    And Please don’t bother about the expenses, it is indeed a lifetime investment.

    PS: I bought similar swimming suit for 450 Rs. *runs away*

    • Prachi says:

      PS 2:
      If you are really serious, I will suggest you to join professional classes, they have weekend batches also.
      I am not under-estimating RD, but telling from my experience.
      When I was unable to continue with my classes (first attempt), I started learning from DH. He was very patient with me, but I used to take him for granted and was always in my comfort zone.
      I progressed…but a bit slowly…(and it may be frustrating)…!!

    • R's Mom says:

      Gah to your last line first :):)

      I am so so glad you are learning as well..its fun eh?

  16. Maddie says:

    What co-incidence. I started my swimming with my son last month! In my case it is ulta, my husband can’t enter the pool. He’s got a sensitive ear and even if a drop of water goes inside, he gets an infection. So it’s me and sonny! I used to swim once. The last time I had entered the pool it was five years ago! I can float now and my arms pain like hell afterwards. But yay! to you for being unconscious and buying the costume. It sure is an investment. I had to by a one piece suit here which just about covers my bums. Barely! Next post, post your photo while swimming! πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yaar! so he cant get into the pool at all is it :(:(

      My arms are paining badly today heheheheh πŸ™‚

      LOL on costume covering the bums..do one thing, make a trip to India and buy a swimsuit heheheeh

  17. My Era says:

    Since the swimming costume has already been bought & you are already enjoying swimming, why not learn it fully?
    You’ll be fine RM just stay put. Good Luck dear πŸ˜€

  18. techie2mom says:

    Hey, you learnt floating!! that’s great!! Now swimming won’t take longer…
    I too learnt swimming last year only and from my experience I would suggest that you buy swimming goggles for R and you also, they will help you in reducing the fear of water, one more long term investment, eh?! Also try swimming in shallow waters first, so that you don’t won’t get too scared…These 2 things along with a great little teacher worked wonders for me…

  19. anisnest says:

    wowww RM.. WTG girl.. I have a similar suit too.. a sleeveless top with knee length tights. I am comfortable with that too.. swimming is very good both physically and mentally.. its definitely a good investment.. you rock lady

  20. aarya says:

    I have always been a water person but didn’t know swimming until last year. I started after we booked a trip to Florida and wanted to do snorkeling there. In less than 15 days, I was good enough to swim with a life jacket on. I guess R needs a motivation. May be you can show her a video of people snorkeling with lovely colorful fish and tell her that she will have this experience only after she is able to swim πŸ™‚
    I am sure you guys will keep up and enjoy your family time together this way.

  21. hitchy says:

    I cant swim at all too.. whilst junior loves water… he wont venture into any water that is more than waist high… plan is to teach him and myself this may… lets see where we get with that plan !

  22. Smita says:

    wow!! You might even lose some weight in the process and say “I dunno how I lost all the weight, I have been eating like I used to” πŸ˜‰ Indeed a long term Investment!!!

  23. Comfy says:

    You go RM. You can do it. I am not real good. Learned years and years back and then never got the time to go swim again. But am comfortable enough to take the kids to the pool (as long as my feet touch the group πŸ˜› ). Keep at it and you will be good at it soon πŸ™‚

  24. Super proud of you RM and I went through similar phase now I no longer worry about my body shape and compare to those sexy figures around me..

  25. Ramya says:

    RM..Kudos on jumping in the water and taking the plunge πŸ™‚ I learnnt swimming only last year and went for the beginners class ,but havent mastered the art of breathing yet..as you said, it is addictive ,indeed..And swimming costumes are pricey ..When I went shopping for my costume, I found ones that cost 2.5K or so..and you know what, when I tried it, it felt so comfortable..And googles too have their own price ranges..starting from 200 bucks to as high as close to 1K..anyways, this is a one time investment..and hope you enjoy using them πŸ™‚ I chronicled my experiences at :http://sweeetmixture.blogspot.in/2012/06/water.html ..Waiting to read your experiences..

  26. Pingback: And So She Has Started To Swim… | R's Mom

Leave a Reply

