Height of Being a Nonchalant Mom…

…is when you realise at 9 in the night, that your child’s exams start tomorrow and NOT day after tomorrow like you assumed and told all and the world!

The child insisted when she came back from daycare in the evening, that her exams start Thursday

Nahi rey baba, Friday se hai, said the nonchalant mother

Argued for 5 minutes and then gave up

The mother in question decided to just look up what exam it is on Friday, only to get the shocker that the exams INDEED start from Thursday and not Friday!

I give up folks…Parenting a school going kid is no easy task I tell ya! First send them to school..on top of that remember their exam dates..ufff! Its just not easy!

==========

PS – Just for the records, she has recitation today..and said Amma mereko sab rhymes ata hai, so its okay! 😉

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Height of Being a Nonchalant Mom…

  1. hitchy says:

    Its always our generation of parents who frets about exams… never did our parents fret… nor do our children fret… ! I hope this fretting bout exams ends with us !

  2. Vidya says:

    Trust R to say that 🙂 Btw, its ok not to remember their exam dates..

  3. oh ho. 😦
    Wishing R all the very best!

  4. Filter Kaapi says:

    Haahaaa I laughed out aloud reading this…..

  5. Prachi says:

    LOL…..
    I do this always RM…:-)
    Ex.1- Trying to be more efficient, I got his uniform ready yesterday itself.
    Today morning when he was about to leave, FIL reminded that today is turn of sports wear…!!!!
    In next 10seconds uniform changing procedure was carried out in a hurry and both us were late for school/office…!!!
    Ex.2- Last time I sent him school (after lots of efforts) on a PTM day…!! 😦 (http://admiringlifedaybyday.blogspot.in/2013/02/morning-tantrums-and-dis-pleased-mother.html)

  6. Smita says:

    lol!! Chalta hai 😀

    My bro had once prepared for Maths and in the bus he was told it was Hindi paper. Thankfully not much prep was needed for it but still 😀

  7. Sujatha says:

    I too get confused with the exam schedules.. I check the exam time-table every now and then 🙂

  8. Nidaa says:

    I thought R ws in preschool… They have exams? I wont know i studied in a tottochan-ish school till class 2. we never had exams.

  9. Smita T says:

    Its ok… R is smart, she must be already prepared… and from next time dont argue with R, she has the latest updates from her teacher 😉

  10. meenamenon says:

    Now u live up fully to the name of – Bindaas momma 😀

  11. techie2mom says:

    This will be my story after 2 years!!! I am so absent minded that my friends used to remind me about what we have to study during exams..I hope i do better with Zini….

  12. kirti says:

    hahahaaa! R sure is a cool kid. She is confidant about her prep.

  13. Tanishka says:

    Arre I’m sure R will do well anyways… 🙂

  14. She will do just fine 🙂

  15. Sumana says:

    Don’t bother yourself till the 1st grade re. Being non chalant is hundred times better then adding unwanted pressure.

  16. Maddie says:

    All the best to R! Waise in which year is she? Here in UK, my son is in nursery and they don’t even teach how to write alphabets! This will go on till he is in first standard. I have to make him study at home! Any advice on syllabus is highly appreciated! 🙂

    • R's Mom says:

      R is in Jr Kg rey…idhar you know na how it is…everyone HAS to join the rat race! but you know what Maddie, I am sure your son will be able to start reading much faster than R..because the kind of education they give there, seems so much more practical!

  17. ashreyamom says:

    lol… dont worry she wil pass with flying colours.. ok so i need to maintain a planner, with bill payment due dates to kids exams to project deadline with b’days n anniversary, things to buy n things to do too..:)

  18. bloglover says:

    This is one thing that scares me of coming to India – kid’s exam pressures on parents. Here(US) I dont feel that pressure.They have weekly tests for that learned that week & grades are not based on a single test.Everything contributes to grade including class work , home work, class tests, getting papers signed etc.. For statelevel tests during last quarter, all kids were supposed to do is get good sleep and eat healthy breakfast!!! no studying on day before. I am kind of liking it now though I used to think ours was the best!.

Leave a Reply

