Lagaan Memories

Lagaan got released when I was in college..yes yes I am THAT old! and I have extremely fond memories of the movie

Of watching it in the theatre with cousin K, taking along our next door neighbour girl who was about 12 pleading to her mom that we would take good care of her (It was her first movie without her parents in the theatre)

Eating that oily, horrible tasting samosas in the intervals…We watched the movie in a cinema hall and not in a multiplex…

Screaming at every ball which Aamir played..so much so that the aunty sitting next to me had to tell me ‘oochu barada pad, kale taru awaaz nikadshe nahi’ (Shout a bit less, tomorrow morning your voice will be gone) and it was true it did happen…all the screaming, I couldnt speak for a couple of days…but what fun it was to watch a movie in a cinema hall…it was a rare treat for cousin K and I because we didnt watch too many movies in the hall šŸ™‚

and then of course, going crazy everytime the songs came on TV…I loved all the songs of the movie…starting from o ri chori, to ghana na ghana na ghan to madhuban mein to kaniya kisi gopi se mile…all of them…

Getting excited about it getting shortlisted for the Oscars, discussing furiously in the dance class, if we could celebrate the Oscar win by surprising the teacher with a Madhuban dance, getting so upset about not winning it, but getting all proud that Aamir got up to congratulate the winner..it was all the Lagaan mania…I dont know how many people in India liked the movie, found it too long, found it boring, etc etc..but I liked the movie..and loved the songs..

On Friday, I heard R humming something like ‘hai magan, chandni, chanda‘ in the tunes of ‘O palan hare’ the bhajan in the movie sung by Udit Narayan and Lata Mangeshkar

What are you singing R? I asked her curious

Aapko nahi aata amma, yeh to naya song daycare teacher ne sikhaya, bhagwan ka bhajan hai, she told me

What is it? I asked again

And she sung the same three words, in tune…

I was estatic…life definitely comes to a full circle eh? I hummed the song along with her and she was so shocked that I knew it..

Aapko aata hai, par aap toh old ho, kaise aata hai…Gah! on the old part..but anyways…I told her of course, I know the song…
Then RD got it off youtube and we watched the song on his big fat phone šŸ™‚ and then RD put up the next song ‘Madhuban mein jo kaniya kisi gopi se mile’ all the old memories of dancing on that song, choreographing it in our own way, everything came back…R loved the song and she loved Gracy Singh dancing on it as well…

Thanks to R’s daycare teacher, I got back my lovely Lagaan memories šŸ™‚

We plan to dance on Madhuban together for Rahul’s first birthday šŸ™‚ Lets see how that works out šŸ™‚

Does anyone else have such Lagaan memories?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Lagaan Memories

  1. chaitali says:

    Its nice to read from you after a long time šŸ™‚

  2. Santulan says:

    Uhh.. I remember dragging mom to the cinema to watch lagaan or gadar. Both were houseful. We finally had to watch ek rishtaa starring Amitabh Bachchan and Akshay Kumar. Then I had to watch Lagaan with friends in a night show, and mom saw it when it was telecast on TV

  3. ashreyamom says:

    ok RM.. let me tell you, i was in school that time.. he he he..
    my memories are of picking up the song first for the group dance competition, thinking that other group has selected it and dropping it.. finally none of us danced to it.. i also like all the songs from the movie.. love Ms.singh’s dance.. šŸ™‚

  4. Smita says:

    Ya I do have!! We chose to watch Gaddar over it in a Jamnagar Theater (had come home formy college break) then saw Lagaan on a pirated CD and hated the length of the movie. U know till date I have not seen the full movie??? Ya! am like that šŸ˜€

    But good to have ur old memories coming back no? Dancing?? waah!! Good luck *to the building floor where u will be dancing* šŸ˜€

    *runs away*

    • R's Mom says:

      But Smita, do see it if you can…its a lovely movie..I agree a tad bit long honestly..but its fun to watch šŸ™‚

      Nah! I am not dancing on the building dont worry…will dance in Appa Amma’s house, which is ground floor

  5. Errr… I didn’t see the movie, haven’t seen it yet, but I do have a lot of fond memories associated with the songs. I loved all the songs from the movie, and used to run to the TV to watch whenever any one of them played. šŸ™‚ I especially love Radha kaise na jale. šŸ™‚

    LOL @ ochu barada pad. So typically Gujju! šŸ˜€

  6. Priya says:

    Oh yes! Watching lagaan… unforgettable !! Thoroughly enjoyed..
    We shouted and cheered so hard.. the voice was gone at the end of the movie.. šŸ™‚
    btw.. talking of old.. i’d finished college when I watched that one šŸ˜‰

  7. Comfy says:

    Girl, you call yourself old because you saw Lagaan when you were in college! Should I tell you what I was up to when I saw the movie? Now I really feel old and I am all sad šŸ˜„ Your fault, your fault!
    PS: Nothing else registered after that line. Sorry šŸ˜„

    PPS: My R is a rockstar. Bas šŸ˜›

    • R's Mom says:

      Errr…sorry sorry sorry! I just thought I felt really old wonderful Lagaan tha aur main toh college mein thi hehehehe šŸ™‚

      R passes her big hugs

  8. hitchy says:

    I loved this post šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ Its as sweet as it can get ! šŸ™‚

    The one lagaan memory of mine is me being asked a cricket question by someone and the answer of that question was Bhuvan (The only player to have played for India for only one match, and opened the batting and bowling and captained that and won the match too… name the player)

    and I felt so so bad and low that I didnt know about some such great Indian cricketer and the answer was Bhuvan to my dismay !!!! šŸ˜› šŸ˜› I still remember my friend teasing me that I couldnt answer such a simple question about cricket and I keep boasting of my cricket knowledge !!! šŸ˜›

  9. I enjoyed Lagaan too…the only time I actually supported an Indian cricket team šŸ˜‰

  10. Jazz says:

    My Lagaan memories are Mom and Dad putting all of us to sleep and sneaking out to catch the 9 to 12 show in the night and we somehow finding it out next morning and creating a ruckus and they giggling. šŸ˜€

  11. K says:

    I was doing my schooling when Lagaan got released. yay.. I am younger to you šŸ™‚

    No one in my home was ready to watch the movie with me (actually nobody knows hindi, to be precise. he.. hee…) and somehow I pleaded my uncle to come. He told I will come but I would sleep in the theater, you have to wake me up during the interval and at the end šŸ™‚

    Yes, I also watched in a theater not in a multiplex.

    Watching movie in theater is fun. I have to tell you that I watched Sivaji (Rajnikant) Movie in Inox – Baroda. Man!!! People were giving such an expression as if they are watching some documentary movie!!! This was a shock to me because watching RK movies are hungama in TN, be it in theater or in multiplex.

    I so LOVE madhuban song. I can watch 100 times at a stretch and I started liking Aamir from that movie šŸ™‚

    sorry for the long comment šŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      I am not a Rajnikant fan AT ALL!! I cant even imagine watching Sivaji honestly :):) I doubt anyone in Baroda even understood Sivaji heheheeh šŸ™‚

      loved your long comment

  12. sjscribbles says:

    Ohh Lagaan is very special for me too RM !
    My engineering classmate lent me the Lagaan Tape Cassette , that I bought home and played …My Dad, Mom and Sis loved the songs …And then it was time for me to return her Cassette with Thanks.
    Dad had been to Chennai from Bangalore and to our surprise he got us a CD of Lagaan from Chennai and every morning that CD would be played religiously ! I love the songs till date..
    I watched the movie on Cable TV and I did fall in love with it…
    I was awake at the wee hours of the morning to catch the OSCAR ceremony despite mom’s scoldings….I hoped and prayed that Laggan gets it ! Ashutosh and Aamir – were seated next to each other and I was rather disappointed when it did’nt win the Oscars – Atleast we made it that far !
    I have loved Aamir Khan’s movies since then – Taare Zameen Par, Dil Chahta Hai, Rang de basanthi, 3 idiots…the list continues !

    • R's Mom says:

      oh how how adorable šŸ™‚ loved your comment šŸ™‚

      Yes, most of Aamir Khan’s movies are good to watch…I havent watched TZP, and I was too sad at the end of RDB šŸ™‚

  13. Nidaa says:

    Enjoyed the movies tremendously when I watched it first time. The way bg music makes you feel ‘nothing is impossible’. But then Lagaan kinda becm a sore spot.
    We had a basket ball match with some local guys (who used to tease & pass comments jus because we were girls). We named our team ‘Lagaan’ hoping that as in the movie underdogs (as in we) would win. We gaalified lagaan a lot for giving us false hopes.

  14. sandhya says:

    Like the dinosaurs that we are as far as hindi movies are concerned, we discovered this movie quite late. And loved it. A loves the songs too, and sings them quite often. A comment she made- “Aai, the game seems so much more interesting in the movie than when we actually watch a live one, na? Even in Chak De India…” Tells you that we are not big game watchers! šŸ™‚

  15. Aditya says:

    Yes, I do. But not so fond memories. This remains the only Hindi movie that I’ve watched all alone in a theater. It was right after my class 10 board exams had ended and nobody else had any enthu to accompany me.

  16. aarya says:

    I was in school when lagaan released. Saw it in theatre with my mom and younger sis and bro. We could not get balcony tickets and saw it from upper stall…we too had so much fun shouting on every hit, cursing the ‘angrez’ for cheating, dancing on the lovely songs. My favorites were Mitwa and Ghanan Ghanan. For a long time, me and my friends used to dance to these songs every evening. Th’x for reminding me of those good ol’ days šŸ™‚
    love your blog..and have been reading it for a long time.

  17. Amit says:

    I saw it at home but I had a problem with its length. The movie was good although a bit illogical.
    It is funny how I have never seen the biggest blockbusters in a theater. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

