Of Seed Money, Slates and Cakes

Life seems pretty unfair right now, so what I am doing is just reminding myself of the fun times which happened some weeks ago before the dreaded conjunctivitis and urinary infection stuck me down!

Seed Money

Some weeks ago, RD is rushing to go to work at 6.15 in the morning, I am trying to brush R’s teeth in the bathroom.

RM: Shouting ‘ RD I want some seed money’

There is a pause

RD: Okay take it

RM: Wont you ask for what?

RD: For what while searching for the housekeys which seem to have disappeared from the face of the earth

RM: To start my own business

There is a pregnant pause

RD: Errr..okay…great..what business

RM: Well, I want to start selling my Warli painted T shirts and bags

There is a crash…R giggles ‘ Appa gir gaye’

RM: Kya hua

RD: Errr..the keys…

RM: Will you give me seed money

RD: yes yes..how much

RM: Ten thousand rupees

There is silence. I get R out of the bathroom and give her the milk

RD comes to me, gives me 2 two rupee coins, 1 five rupee coin and 2 one rupee coin

Yeh le tera seed money..this is the start, hopefully I should reach 10 K soon

RM: !!!!!

===========

Slate

Amma is calling me for some reason, some weeks ago

We start talking about phones

RM: RD got a new phone

Amma: Really

RM: Yes, its a Samsung phone

Amma: Thats great

After a second

Amma: What happened to his slate

RM: slate?

Amma: Arey that slate he had..that he wont use anymore?

RM: Amma, he got a new phone, not a new slate..how cna you substitute a slate with a phone!!

Amma: Arey nahi, he had a slate, I know, I saw him use it..it did everything

By now, RD who is trying to work on his laptop is banging his head virtually

RM: Amma, you mean the tab he got, the micromax tab

Amma: yes yes..its like a slate you know and he keeps moving his hands on it like a slate only…its called a pad is it? It looked like a slate to me, toh I called it a slate

This is the point when electronic companies like Apple, Samsung and Micromax and go and hang their products!!

======

Cakes

R was very unwell, I took the day off and both of us were cuddling on the bean bag watching a program called Fantastic Cakes. or was it Fabulous cakes…I am not sure..but both of us had similar expressions on our faces…saliva drooling and eyes shocked that people could make such wonderful cakes shaped like a dog, a building and fire men etc etc

R: Main toh badi hoke caker banungi

RM: Err..baker..they are callked baker

R: Wohi, nice nice cakes banaungi aur eat bhi karungi

RM: well, if you become a baker, you will need to give the cake to others not eat it by yourself

R: Okay, thoda main taste karungi ke acha made hua hain and then I will givofy to others

RM: Will you bake a cake for your friends

R: for everyone, for birthday, shaadi, annivery (anniversary!) and all sab sab ekdum bada bada cakes

RM: Wow! what about your birthday..which cake will you bake

There is a pause..she looks at me in dismay

R: Arey Amma, mera birthday cake to aap banafy karoge na…you are my Amma, you are supposed to makofy cake for child ka birthday nahi?

RM: Rushes to contact Smitha, Smita and Seema 🙂

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Of Seed Money, Slates and Cakes

  1. techie2mom says:

    I just send you a mail and then received your post!!!
    Hey starting a business is a great idea 🙂 All the best for the seed money 🙂
    LOL at Slate…But i think if a gadget co. sees this post they will take out a new product called Slate 😉
    Wow!! R really has her fundas pretty clear 🙂

    • Smita says:

      lol!!! I am ready to pitch in….Gimme your account No. will transfer anything between 10 – 100 bucks and become a partner!!! *pats her back for smart thinking & investment*

      And ROFL at RD’s slate!!!! BTW Office at 6:30 AM?? What an ungodly hour to go to work!!! Vaise you also buy an Android handset and come on whatsapp??? will entertain u there 😛

      And caker baker R ko millions of hugs!!!!

      • R's Mom says:

        LOL on the investment..yaa yaa..whatever heheheh 🙂

        RD loves going early to work eh? I dont think I will ever buy a smart phone…I would just get too addicted to it I guess!

    • R's Mom says:

      Nah T2M just bet you by a second

  2. hitchy says:

    (((((hugs)))) These times will pass and soon 🙂

    Your daughter is the cutest soul I know !!! let her be a Caker ! 😀 😀

    and well good luck on reaching the 10k soon ! 😛 😉

  3. I knew you had an eye infection but I didn’t know about this UTI thing 😦 Hugs and take care RM. Will mail you..
    LOL at caker. Come to think of it, it sounds better than baker 😉

  4. Filter Kaapi says:

    Soo cute.. I read R’s reply at the end of the post and I was lost in her reply and forgot rest of the post 😉
    Aaha So you have a tough challenge ahead of you? Can amma buyofy cake for child ka birthday ;)?

  5. chattywren says:

    Hilarious post! Slate is soo cute! Glad to see you back, RM! R is so right about her b’day cake:)

  6. The Bride says:

    OMG a caker who givofies things…her cuteness is endless!

  7. garima says:

    Lol on the lsat one..perfect logic she has and am smiling at the language she used.
    Dear caker R will you bake a cake for me please my bday is just 2 days before yours.
    Actually tab looks like slate honestly mein kabhi tablet use hi nahi kiya 🙂
    RD is cute 🙂 But your idea is really great,go for it ,also you have got a seed money for your business too 😉

  8. Santulan says:

    I had to share it with a friend of mine who is starting her own business as well.

    Atleast amma said slate, a friend’s mom called his phablet a chappal because of its size.

  9. ashreyamom says:

    RD has good sense of humor.. Rm best is if u start collecting money for every like on ur post or comment, may be same day u can get all the 10,000.. :)..
    now after u learn to make, teach us also hw to make simple cakes.. :).

  10. LOL
    All of the R family is super cute! 🙂 I know I am not saying this for the first time. 😛

  11. metherebel says:

    RM…you want to be an entrepreneur and R wants to be a caker?

    • R's Mom says:

      I dont want to be an entrrepreneur..but if I can start off my own painting business..it will be good fun eh?

      yes yes R wants to be a caker now 🙂

  12. Ashwathy says:

    ROTFL @ “slate”!!! 😆 OMG!!! I was clutching my stomach and laughing!! I even read out this post to hubby dear who was grinning away to glory. Now that he has met all of you, he can also picturise the entire thing! 😛

  13. Jo says:

    Oh RM.. I missed ur posts so much. Get well soon.. 🙂 Hugs

  14. Comfy says:

    RM beeegggg hug for looking at the brighter side of things and laughing when it is even difficult to crack a smile.
    11 rupee you go for starting. Now the trick is the say out loud every day. You will be Rs 11 every day and will have enough in 11+11+11 😳
    Slate, tab, smart phone, kindle..too much only I tell you.
    And my dear dear R is the best. Amma bake her the bested cake ok (pst: or you can buy one for her..we won’t tell her that you did not bake it 😀 )

    • R's Mom says:

      Thanks yaar Comfy…when I look at people like you, I get inspiration..managing everything by yourself…you are great 🙂

      LOL on the 11+11+11 🙂

  15. Amit says:

    I have been telling you that you should start the shirt business. Maybe you can check out if any online options are available.
    And it does look like a slate. Everything old comes back after a while. 🙂

  16. Swaram says:

    Hugss RM, get well soon 🙂 And hugs to that little caker too 😀

  17. Seed money, I like that idea of yours. Should consider seriously Its always better to be your own boss.

    Slate ha ha LOL 🙂 Moms are the best .

    I am also not a good baker too, looking at the cakes Seema Smitha made I always go wow 🙂 So can we expect to see a cake in May ?

    • R's Mom says:

      Nah! I am not a business person LF…I want a 9 to 5 job honestly 🙂

      no no..no cakes from me..let the brat grow up to be a caker..errr..baker and I will just eat them

  18. Nidaa says:

    S-L-A-T-E- You can patent that name n get ur seed money!

  19. Smita T says:

    I am ready to invest… only rider is u have to give me the accountant’s job 🙂 and pay me salary… what say…

  20. Vidya says:

    🙂 Wishes for the ‘investment’ to multiply 😉 And R is a cupcake I tell you!

Leave a Reply

