Women’s Day? – Dear R….

Today is International Woman’s Day.

Yes yes, we, often called the fairer sex, need a special day to celebrate our womeness or something.

When you grow older, I hope you folks celebate a International Man’s Day as well…I mean why leave them out right?

Its 2013, and 13 years into the so called 21st century, new age and all that, and yet I can give you instances where I feel that we are still stuck in the Middle ages. Life for a woman is still not easy, at least not in a country like India.

It saddens me at times when I think I have to bring you up here. I am hoping and praying that you learn from your thatha thathi and from Appa and I, that there is no difference between a girl and a boy.

Its funny that I have to keep telling people that we women dont need special status. We dont need ‘any kind of status’ we just need to be left as us. As a fellow human being with a different anatomy.

I hope by the time you are 31, you live in an India where there will be equal number of girls and boys.

I hope you live in an India where women are not worshipped or treated as special Goddesses, but treated as human beings

I hope you live in an India where you dont have to struggle that additional bit to prove that you are equally capable as the guy next door

I hope you work for a company which realises that work life balance is not important just for a woman but also for a man

I hope you bring up your kid where your partner is 50% responsible for the upbringing

I hope you live-in in an India where people dont expect you to have a spouse πŸ™‚

I hope you rejoice the birth of a child where people celebrate the birth of a girl as much as a boy

I hope you vote in a parliament where there is no 33% reservations for women

I hope you board a BEST bus which does not carry carry the special ‘ladies seat’

I hope you travel in a Bombay local which does not need special ladies coaches or special ladies special trians

I guess this may seem really weird for you to read when you turn 31, but honestly R, I do wish its true.

I often have argued with people that why cant a girl do what a boy can do?

I am hoping that Appa and I can provide you an environment which makes you understand that it doesnt matter whether you are a girl or boy, whats important is whether you are a good human being…

Remember, there is nothing you CANT do, nothing you CANT achieve and nothing you CANT get…

All it requires is sincerity, hardwork and a little bit of smartness.

Hopeful about the future

love
Amma

PS – Happy birthday Cousin K

PS 1 – read my letter to Marissa Mayer on IMC (http://www.indianmomsconnect.com/2013/03/07/dear-marissa-mayer/)

ETA: Since I missed this today morning, adding this as an entry to the β€˜Celebrating Girls, Celebrating Women’ Contest on the Womensweb. Β (http://www.womensweb.in/articles/celebrating-girls-celebrating-women/)

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Women’s Day? – Dear R….

  1. anisnest says:

    Well written RM!!!!!

  2. prachi says:

    so very true RM…future India….sounds like a dream…
    But hey, dreams do come true…so hoping 4 d beast….Wishing both of you and RMM also a very Happy Woman’s Day.

  3. chaitali says:

    Happy Women’s Day!!! πŸ™‚

  4. Amen to that! What a beautiful letter, RM!

  5. Beautifully written heartfelt letter! What more do I say?! πŸ™‚ Hugs to the little darling!

  6. Seema says:

    I could have written this post myself!!! I had exactly the same thoughts in the morning when a few male colleagues wished me a Happy Women’s Day πŸ™‚ I guess I’ll take a print out of this and preserve it for Mantam to read when they are 31 πŸ™‚

    Did I say I admire you a lot? Well, the feeling just went a few more notches higher after this post. Mmmmuah.

  7. Lifesong says:

    Nice post RM and amen to all your wishes. I sincerely hope too that our kids get to stay in an India where there is no discrimination between boys and girls and we don’t need a special day for only women.

  8. uma says:

    Wonderful letter to R, RM! I wish for these very things and I hope when our kids are older, they live in such a place…Amen!

  9. Jayashree says:

    Amen to all of that R’s mom.

  10. techie2mom says:

    Amen to that…Great post…

  11. Filter Kaapi says:

    Nicely listed πŸ™‚ I hope it happens before R turns 31 πŸ™‚

  12. psybabbler says:

    Love this one RM! And I hope so too…

  13. meenamenon says:

    such a interesting letter this one is!

  14. sandhya says:

    Had tears in my eyes as I read this post, RM. Was remembering Tagore’s ‘Where the mind is without fear’. I wish.

    • R's Mom says:

      yep..thats a very very good poem..for a non-poetry person like me, reading that was very very goosebump inducing..

      Wait, did you just remember THAT great poem after this post..wow! thanks a lot Sandhya πŸ™‚

  15. Smita says:

    I so agree with this “We dont need β€˜any kind of status’ we just need to be left as us”…left as us but given more respect I wud add πŸ™‚

    And I hope that all your hopes turn true!!!

    Amen to that!

  16. Gayatri says:

    An interesting tidbit: 19th Nov is International men’s day, celebrated as fathers day in some countries in europe.

  17. Smitha says:

    Good one RM! Keep it coming πŸ™‚

  18. Jazz says:

    It is a beautiful letter RM, this blog is going to be the best gift for little R. πŸ™‚

  19. Ashwathy says:

    You, no WE, hope for an Utopian world, dear gal!

  20. It’s a beautiful letter R, almost bought a tear to my eye. I wish the same R, agree with each one of ur wish.

  21. pixie says:

    Loved the post RM!!
    So well said, so much of hope! πŸ™‚

  22. sjscribbles says:

    I just loved this sentence RM ” I hope you live in an India where women are not worshipped or treated as special Goddesses, but treated as human beings” – So situation-ally Correct for today’s India and the crime against women !
    Loved this letter to R !

  23. Amit says:

    That was a wonderful list of dreams. I hope some of them come true in our lifetime.

Leave a Reply

