Dear Rebeling R of Teenage

When you are like a teenager, and we have our share of fights (which I am sure we are going to) this is something I want you to read.

My best moments with you in your childhood have been the time we have spent in the bus stop.

No no dont roll your eyes the same way as Amma does. I mean it.

When you were in your nursery, Jr. Kg and Sr. Kg Amma used to drop to the bus stop from home. Which meant getting a BEST bus in the morning and getting off after some 10 stops at a main road and wait for your bus.

Trust me darling, I cherish these moments with you.

I have loved every minute we have spent together. I am writing this in Feb 2013 which means you are still in your Jr. Kg, and I still have a year more to go with you like this 🙂

Class 1 to 3 you will have afternoon school and after that your school starts much earlier, which means that I just have a year more to enjoy this ‘time’ with you.

Oh what fun we are having honestly.

We walk from the BEST bus stop to your bus stop saying our prayers. I am pleasantly surprised that you have learnt four of the shlokas without much issues. Even if they are four liners. It must be really funny for you to read this because you always have thought your Amma to be a non-believer na 🙂

You are not always in a great mood to tell the shlokas but we tell it everyday, whether you or me, depends on your mood.

And then the books. Its fun to read to you in the BEST bus. Sometimes, the ladies and guys standing near us in the bus giggle as much as you do when we read stories like School is Cool and The Pleasant Rakshasa. I will always cherish reading aloud the ‘naughtiest Girl in School’ to you this year in your Jr. Kg. I doubt whether you understood  anything much in it, we read it over a period of 2 months from December start to  January end, but hey, its been fun for me, because I am re-reading my torn copy after years 🙂 This book shall always be in my special list :):) of course, you do know the difference between socks and stockings now and want to wear stockings because thats  what big girls like Elizabeth have to wear at school 🙂

We have read so many books together at the bus stop as well. Sometimes I carry 5 of your books in my bag :):) and I doubt you will remember that old uncle and aunty who sat next to us one day while I read the ‘Why Why Girl’ for you and laughed at your whys as much as Moyna’s whys from the book 🙂

We have also spent some days when Amma has got frustrated at you for not reading from your phonics book by yourself.

Amma mereko neengal read karna zyada like hota hai (Amma, I like you reading to me more) :):) I dont know whether to laugh or get angry because I really want  you to start reading and you are too lazy to do it. You are not even attempting 3 letter words 🙂

The songs we sing. Oh what fun!

In  your nursery, that used to be our favorite pass time. Sing old hindi movie songs…you know ‘oh mere sona re’ almost by heart and then you sing along ‘ek main aur ek tu’ as well with me 🙂 and ‘tu hain aasman mein’ what fun na :):) you also sing ‘ponnambal’ in pretty decent Malayalam, much better than me and ‘ayer padi’ in Tamil pretty nicely too 🙂 and the dance steps both of us have choreographed for that Lagaan song ‘aaja rey aaja rey’ is my favorite :):)

and of course the gossip we do and the stories I conjure up for you. we talk about the sun, moon, sky, stars, vehicles, school, daycare, my office, my friends, your friends, your lack of interest in reading by yourself, your laziness, my tiredness, your wanting a baby girl from God, your wanting to go to Ahm to meet Rahul and N&N, my wanting to sleep longer, your wanting to eat much more 🙂

Its really the highlight of my day sometimes. Those 15 minutes we spend together.

Amma, aap mane love nathi karte’ you tell me and then jump on me and give me a big hug and a sloppy kiss…..Darn! motherhood makes me all mushy at times 🙂

and how can I forget your favorite..food 🙂
WE eat everything from badams, to black kismis, to brown kismis, to elachi bananas to sweet corn flakes to biscuits. Everyday as soon as you sit in the bus you ask me ‘Amma aaj kya laye?’ and start eating and making me read or tell you stories.  and continue the eating at your bus stop as well 🙂

And then there are times we just sit in silence next to each other holding our hands. You look up to me, smile, touch my cheeks and then look back at the road.  and we just sit there till your bus comes staring at the vehicles going on the road.

As soon as the bus comes, you jump up, say bye and on most days say ‘mereko late leneko aana daycare ma’ (Pick me up late at the daycare)

and go on to your bus.

Then you come near the window and wave a big huge smiling bye to me.

And my face breaks into a grin that threatens to split my face into two.

This my darling, is what we do most days in the mornings.

I am sure you will remember none of this when you become a teenager, but know that Amma loves loves loves these bright morning sessions with you.

Much love with the bus stop sessions
Amma

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to Dear Rebeling R of Teenage

  1. RS says:

    Just loved this post…

  2. Hrishi says:

    The joys of being a parent

  3. Lifesong says:

    This is just so sweet RM 🙂
    Very recently I have started dropping Cheebu to school… we go walking watching the trees and flowers, discussing about what fun the crows have and what fun they miss out because they don’t go to school… discovering our own secret paths …. And I must say that I cherish those 7-8 minutes in the mornings with her 🙂

  4. Prachi says:

    cool RM, u are enjoying the mornings…!!
    99% of population experiences a mad rush in the morning imposing unnecessary pressure on the little one… (unfortunately I am also slowly getting into this 99% population)

  5. Smita T says:

    Wow… am sure R would love to read this… and somewhere in her heart she would remember these special times…. god u write so well…. i am so jealous….

  6. vethal says:

    aiyoo i have tears dunno y

  7. Life Gardens
    and Woods,
    full of
    Big Bus trees,
    and Conductor bushes,
    with some traffic creepers
    snaking around;
    Sometimes,
    the Wind Uncle chimes in
    with stotras,
    and the
    little book plants stretch up,
    saying
    “Me too, Me too!”
    as a few R birds
    begin to sing;
    And the Big Tree,
    looks down,
    draws everyone together,
    and says,
    “So much fun
    growing up together;
    Enjoy it,
    little R bud,
    because
    life as a grown up tree
    is so so different!

  8. garima says:

    aww,aww and more aww..loved your post.Of all the letters to R I feel this is the best…Big hugs to darling R and her sweet mom 🙂

  9. techie2mom says:

    you made me all mushy mushy….You guys do so much on those 15 minutes!!! I think you too have this trait of your Appa to use every opportunity to teach something without making it boring!!!
    I am sure R will not forget the great time she is having, rather will cherish it for life…

  10. Smitha says:

    That has to be the sweetest letter! Hugs to both of you! I can’t decide which of you is cuter 🙂

  11. chaitali says:

    Awwww!!!!!! The song of motherhood…

  12. Sujatha says:

    I’m feeling so emotional after reading this.. Many of the instances reminds me of the time I spend with my kids 🙂

  13. Sreetama says:

    Awwww! Very heat warming followed by melting it post! Loved every bit of it. 🙂 Now I’m missing my mom but am going home tonight! 🙂

  14. What a sweet, cutie pie post. Immensely touched me. 🙂
    I love the idea of the mother-daughter bonding and reading in the bus. 😀

  15. This beautiful RM. touchwood. I really hope that the one year stretches for you both. Stay blessed!!!!!!!!!!

  16. metherebel says:

    Such a sweet letter this is RM! Please make R read this when she grows up. God bless the both of you 🙂

  17. Swaram says:

    Awwww lovely post 🙂

  18. Amit says:

    R will be very proud of you when she finally reads this letter. 🙂

  19. meenamenon says:

    Aaaaw!!! This is such a touching post!

  20. Honestly, I have never come across a Cuter mom than you. I love you…(sheesh this is the first time I am writing I love you on a girl’s blog 😯 ).

    arey don’t you worry about her not trying to read. One fine day, she will pick up the book and read and you will be left wondering when did she actually learn to read? This happened to me and I asked the boy why did he insist that either me or the husband should read to him? he said because I love hearing your voice…sigh! 😥

    • R's Mom says:

      *Blush* Thanks Saks…I love you too 🙂

      I hope so Saks..she is just so so lazy to spell out words and read them 😦

      Aww..he is so cute 🙂

  21. Such a cute post, made me smile 🙂

  22. Deepika says:

    Aww. awwww,,,, So very cute 🙂
    God bless you with innumerable moments like these!
    Hugs 🙂

  23. Jo says:

    How sweet.. The joys of motherhood.. 🙂 I am so touched. Hugs to R and RM 🙂

  24. Ashwathy says:

    You have no idea how much I love this post! 🙂 Sigh…

    The joys of blogging isn’t it?? Recording a moment in time and keeping it alive so that one day your grown up daughter can read it!

    Err… just curious. Why do you say your prayers on the way to the bus-stop??!! 😐 Hoping that the bus will be there? 😀

    • R's Mom says:

      Errr…generally..we need to walk for about 3 minutes from one bus stop to another and since we dont have time to pray at home, we do it then 🙂

  25. Smita says:

    Awwww 🙂 this is just a motherly post!

  26. Laila says:

    RM, this probably is one of your best posts ever!!! Really tocuhed me :))

  27. Jazz says:

    And RM is making me mushy with the motherhood posts. Lots of love to R, she is a darling. 🙂

  28. vethal says:

    I cannot relax on working days,thinking about conf calls bugs etc … I admire u to switch off on the way to work. too good RM…

  29. Very Very nice! Immensely touching…I love the way you appreciate everyday moments of life. I had cherished these moments with my daughter, not in bus but in in general like reading to her, telling story, playing role games, playing in a tent, etc, specially the time when I was single parenting. I really missed reading to her once she started reading on her own. Now she doesn’t remember all of it but our bonding today is reflection of those years. We are very open to each other and J still requires at least an hour of hugs, mama-daughter conversation, talking about books, friends, art and craft, studies etc., some saturdays she wants me to read to her too, she loves to go to a book shop or library with me, we don’t talk there but we like the togetherness. Hope she will remember some of this in her teenage and be not that rebellious!

  30. anisnest says:

    Total Kala tikka post RM.. loved loved it…

  31. K says:

    I don’t know about the beautiful time they would have of those who have male kid, but I am 1000% (yes, thousand) sure it is an AWESOME feeling for a mom to share these kind of feeling with a female kid.
    I love you 🙂 🙂

  32. This is gold! And yes, something definitely worth reading when you and she clash during her teenage years. If there are times she yells “I hate you” that’s when you show this to her to show how much love you guys actually share! 🙂

  33. Oh RM this made me melt into a pool of mush–such a lovely post! You are a supermom, you really are. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

