Of Unlikable Evil StepMothers and Likable Yummy Expensive Pizzas

And so this Saturday was one of those saturdays where we spent the WHOLE day out..you know start off at 10 in the morning and return at 10 in the night..yep..that kinds πŸ™‚

We went to town for the whole day..for the non Bombayites, ‘town’ means South Bombay..where the Britishers originally set shop and all that πŸ™‚

Anyways, so at 10 we left home to get caught in a horrid traffic jam..oh before that, we used all sorts of Bombay public transport on Saturday..

1. Rickshaw
2.Β  Taxi
3. Bus
4. Double Decker Bus
5. Train :):)

*Gives proud look*

Anyways, so we reached the station after doing getting some work done and then got a train to Lower Parel

We went to this FANTASTIC play ‘Snow White and the Seven Drawfs’ it was a broadway style musical by the Vishaal Asrani’s Institute of Performing Arts which was done so excellently that I have few words to describe it..it was at ‘The Comedy Store’ at the Palladium Mall in Lower Parel

The Good

1. The fantastic casting
2. The superb music
3. The sutradhar or the narrator ‘Vishal Asrani’ was amazing
4. the school kids who played the drawfs…they are fantastic
5. The evil step mother called queen Evillina…R tells everyone she knows and talks to how she ‘does not’ like the evil step mother..meaning that actor was A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!!!
6. The Sandwichs at the Comedy store..yummmmmmmm
7. The dancing by the cast…Fantastic!!

The Not-So-Good

1. The prices of the tickets..if I were at RD’s place, I would not have bought them πŸ™‚
2. The rude rude rude man at the counter selling the sandwichs at the comedy store..he refused to serve us because he didnt have change for Rs.500!! and we had got stuff for Rs. 470! RDΒ  had to literally tell him that I have a child who is very hungry..and then RD got an extra coffee just to round off the bill..he was really rude and had the attitude of God Knows What
But we really loved the play and enjoyed ourselves..R even screamed the last time Evillina was on stage and all that πŸ™‚ very very convincing

Then we went to the food court and had

1. Cheese dosa
2. Pasta
3. Sandwich

Then we went shopping at Pantaloons and got one each dress of all three of us πŸ™‚

From there we took an empty train to churchgate and RDΒ  being the super indulgent father, decided to take R on the first seat of a double decker bus..which meant, we took a single decker to VT stationΒ and from there boarded a double decker bus to Backbay!!!

We sat on the first seat on the top and enjoyed the sea, breeze, conversation and R’s excited expressions..totally worth it..

AND we came back to Marine Drive sat for a while there and felt really fresh and happy πŸ™‚

After 7 janams when I earn a LOT of money, I am definitely buying a house in South Bombay..the air is cleaner, fresher and its so much more greener..and what houses man, what houses..wah!

After that we went to this place *ahem* Called ‘Not Just Pizza By The Bay’

I have been wanting to go there for a long long time, but have been dissuaded by the fact that it is super expensive…but trust me, once in your lifetime, please go there..the food is excellent, the sea view is amazing and the service is good…

We ate and ate and ate and ate and ate some more πŸ™‚

I will never go there again because it is VERY expensive..but I loved the food there..

After that we RAN to get into a fast train to Borivali and R just conked off in my arms to get up only on Sunday mornign at 7.30..she was really tired eh :):)

All in all a very very memorable Saturday..this is a second fantastic saturday on a roll eh? I hope all my saturdays are so exotic :):)

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Of Unlikable Evil StepMothers and Likable Yummy Expensive Pizzas

  1. Hrishi says:

    Comedy Store was already on to-visit list on my next trip to Bombay, now will add this not-just-pizza joint also. I miss Bombay 😦 With all its hustle and bustle, the laari waala vada pav and misal, and the high end joints.

  2. anisnest says:

    an amazing Saturday that us.. I loved that first seat travel in double decker bus part.. what fun..

  3. Prachi says:

    Good RM….
    That double decker roof top bus is in my to-do list sonce long…!!
    And you know what, I have stayed in south bombay for 2.5 years…in a lovely sea facing flat…And the experience is…. out of this world…!!!
    PS: I am feeling like…to meet R and have a long chat with her…!!

    • R's Mom says:

      Wah! you have stayed there..sahi!! ekdum sahi :):)

      LOL on meeting up with R..I doubt she will chat with you..she will only talk..you have to listen πŸ™‚

  4. OHW says:

    I don’t know what is it….the honesty in your words, the interesting way you write, R’s linguistic abilities or something else but surely R household and it’s activities capture my interest to no bounds. Thank you for sharing your lives with us RM. And about the Saturday, I too had a perfect saturday the past weekend, and have captured it in my latest post. Drop in if you have time.

  5. Even though tickets were expensive & food was expensive, important thing is that you guys enjoyed a lot naa?? bas toh phir paisa wasool πŸ™‚

  6. That sounds like such a fun day! πŸ™‚

    The pizza place sounds super exotic. πŸ˜€

  7. sandhya says:

    OK, was wondering as I clicked on the link why R has taken to calling you an evil stepmother! πŸ™‚

    We have an expression in marathi for a trip like this- jeevachi mumbai. Now let me know if you have figured that out? *runs before RM throws something*

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahahaha! R hasnt been read Snow White and Hansel and Gratel yet..or may be she would have said that about me πŸ™‚

      Jeevachi Mumbai..nah! I dont know that expression *goes off googling*

  8. wow what a wonderful Saturday that was .I want to watch a play too and ride in all that public transport on same day..there never a weekend without food huh? that why your posts are always yummy πŸ™‚

  9. Smita says:

    Not all your saturdays should be as exotic because you will not realise their worth then πŸ˜‰

    And “Not Just Pizza By The Bay”? Hmm I thought not it was called “Not Just JazzBy The Bay” and if both are same places then I have been there and I know what u r talking about πŸ™‚

    And the play sounds cool…as far as pricing of tickets etc go, they are seriously charging a bomb. Yesterday we went for Kai Po Che and I bought boiled corns and they charged 50/- bucks for itna sa cup..I was in full mood to return it but then decided not do it… I mean what is this for God Sake!!!

  10. oye that was such a nice weekend,so much fun πŸ™‚
    aapko pata RM I want to get into a BMTC bus in a nice climate with hubby and travel aimlessly ,get down at some point eat and hop back into the bus and repeat..sounds crazy? πŸ™‚

  11. techie2mom says:

    Rocking Saturday!!!! And that 10 to 10 part is amazing, i hope i am able to do that soon πŸ™‚
    I am drooling at the food….

  12. Sreetama says:

    Lovely! Wish you more exotic weekends! Have a good week ahead! πŸ™‚

  13. Ashwathy says:

    Err…. isn’t it called Pizza by the Bay?? When did “Not Just” enter the picture? πŸ˜›

    What a wonderful day!! Remind me to remind you that need to do this atleast one Saturday in a month! πŸ™‚ Hai na?

  14. meenamenon says:

    I lov saturdays like ths.. packed, tired n haaaapie πŸ™‚

  15. Amit says:

    Plays have a charm of their own, don’t they? I love the experience.
    And I love eating at expensive joints. They remind me how less my salary is. πŸ˜›

  16. metherebel says:

    Sounds like a fun weekend!

  17. My Era says:

    Wow! that sounded like a holiday packed with cartloads of fun πŸ™‚
    Glad you guys enjoyed & had some exotic food too πŸ˜€

  18. Deepa says:

    It really is an experience to be able to live in Mumbai right?? I have been an Bangalore for long and now I am in US. I feel Mumbai and NY are soo similar. The food, the people, lots of similarities. Love love Mumbai, it’s people, the energy!! I have already decided that if I win a lottery, the first thing that I want to do is to buy a sea facing 1 bedroom flat in Mumbai. You are sooo lucky to be living in Mumbai!
    Loved reading this post.

  19. pixie says:

    oh wow!!
    Sounds like the prefect saturday!!
    We went to the Indian stores for groceries and then the Korean stores for vegetables! The Korean stores was fascinating!! πŸ˜€

  20. Swaram says:

    Wow what fun!:)

Leave a Reply

