My Mom’s a Magician

IĀ  have commented on various blogs about my lack of a green thumb..whatever plants I put up, they usually end up drying or just look so so sad

Amma was here for that week when I was travelling and RD was in Calcutta and look what magic she created..

When I ask her what she did, she says ‘I just let R water the plants’

Gah! I wish I had that patience

Anyways take a look at the pictures..this is how the plants in the balcony looked a couple of days ago :):)

Never, ever, my dear home, are you ever going to see such magic šŸ™‚

Thats a view of the lemon grass which Amma Appa got for us from their garden the last time they were here :)

Thats a view of the lemon grass which Amma Appa got for us from their garden the last time they were here šŸ™‚

The lovely roses, We got this from the same exhibition which we got the sofa set from :) R selected the 'pink' colour!  The orange flowers are from Amma Appa's garden in Goa :)

The lovely roses, We got this from the same exhibition which we got the sofa set from šŸ™‚ R selected the ‘pink’ colour! The orange flowers are from Amma Appa’s garden in Goa šŸ™‚

Better view of the roses :)

Better view of the roses šŸ™‚

DSC_0113

The Kadipatta plant which neither grows nor dies :( I have no clue what to do..but after Amma came, at least its still green phew!

The Kadipatta plant which neither grows nor dies šŸ˜¦ I have no clue what to do..but after Amma came, at least its still green phew!

The Rajnigandha which I am trying to hold! and next to it is the mogra plant which never flowers *rolls eyes*

The Rajnigandha which I am trying to hold! and next to it is the mogra plant which never flowers *rolls eyes*

DSC_0109 DSC_0108 DSC_0107

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to My Mom’s a Magician

  1. deepM says:

    Simply Wow.. I just loved those pink roses šŸ™‚

  2. Prachi says:

    Right RM, Moms are really a magician….!
    My MIL has converted small french window space into a beautiful garden…!! Without having professional knowledge of gardening, she has done everything right from recycling of empty cans to utilization of vertical space…and decorated the space with my little one’s old toys…!!!
    I dnt think I will ever reach my mother’s/MIL’s level of intelligence and wisdom..!!!

  3. techie2mom says:

    Wow, she sure is a magician!!!!
    Loved all the greens…
    And this post reminded me that i have to harvest my potatoes now…..

  4. Santulan says:

    Way to Amma šŸ™‚ \m/

    Have you tried making gulkand from the rose petals?

  5. Lovely flowers RM šŸ™‚

  6. Smita says:

    It is blooming re!!!

    WOW!!!

    Message for you? Let R do the needful and all will be well…but as you said, patience is the key here šŸ™‚ may God bless us with that šŸ˜‰

  7. My Era says:

    So good to see the green & floral R household.
    Those Roses are real pretty….great choice R šŸ˜€

  8. LOvely! Your mom sure has a green thumb! šŸ™‚

    Love the idea of transferring seeds and plants from one family member’s garden to another. I find it rather cute – like the passing on of a family heirloom. šŸ™‚

    Don’t lose heart – many of our plants dry up too or die or don’t grow at all. The trick is to just be patient, be a little sensitive about them and take care of them regularly. You will see wonders if you do that!

    Love the view of your hand – you have such pretty hands. Seriously!

    • R's Mom says:

      She has a green hand infact i feel šŸ™‚

      Thanks for those tips, the only thing I lack is patience I guess šŸ™‚

      LOL on my hand..heheheheh šŸ™‚ you are the only one who can say that eh?

  9. garima says:

    Hey you have a mini garden at your home…plz try and maintain the beauty.
    And on having patience,please teach me too this important virtue.Loved all the pics,very calm and peaceful .

  10. Smita T says:

    Wow… Lovely Plants… My plants are always infected by some white insects and end by dying… I have decided not to plant any more šŸ˜¦

  11. K says:

    Wow… nostalgia for me!!! The orange flower (2nd pic.) is called ‘kanakambaram’ in Tamil. My grandmom used to grow many plants. She even had tuvar plant at home.

    Love your mom. Write more about her šŸ™‚

  12. Laila says:

    Lovely flowers! And your hands look really pretty too šŸ™‚

  13. pixie says:

    wow!! Lovely!!
    I kill plants too! šŸ˜¦ no green thumb to speak of!
    Dont know how or why?!

    A friend got Dill leaves with roots and she kept the plant in a little pot near the window (no balconies) and the plant thrived.
    I did the same – the poor plant died a slow and painful death! paavam really
    Sigh! :-/

  14. Wow, so impressive šŸ™‚

  15. shail says:

    Oh wow. The pink roses are so beautiful!

  16. Smitha says:

    Your plants are gorgeous! I just realized that I was so busy planting veggies, that my balcony has no colour- no flowers blooming! ;Love your flowers! And aunty is certainly a magician šŸ™‚

  17. Sreetama says:

    Beautiful flowers! Aunty sure is a magician! šŸ™‚ My mom is also very fond of plants n gardening. We have small garden in our balcony n terrace maintained by mom & granny respectively! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

