I Am The Last Person to Watch This

But I am glad I did. We watched Vicky Doner last to last saturday. and its an amazing movie.

Firstly, I loved that mother and grand mother…what super duper lovely acting, amazing dialogues and what delivery. Darn!I wish I had a grandmother as sweet as that one. and that scene in which both of mother and grandmother sit and share a drink…thats one of the most convincing scenes, I have ever seen in a movie. Wow! THIS is how a MIL-DIL relation should be. They were never shown extra sugary sweet to each other, each had their own issues and voiced their opinions, but what super relationship. I loved it.

That lady, Yami Gautam, God! I havent seen a lady more beautiful than her in a long long time. She is drop dead gorgeous and what restrainted acting. Wah! I am totally in love with her.

Annu Kapoor – I must confess, I hated him, in that music programs he used to host earlier on, but man! was he convincing or what? I loved him as that doctor of infertility. The bindaas manner he announced himself, the relentless way he pursued Vicky, the honest way he spoke to want a perfect baby parents about how upbringing is more important than anything else, and the lovely truth he said about how infertility is on a rise in India due to stress resulting from spending more time in office, on laptops after coming home and hardly any family time left. I almost whistled when he said those dialogues..so so true. He is very very good!

and of course Ayushman Khurrana and his sexy voice in ‘pani da rang’ super duper…

And of course, the Delhish way of talking, the streets of Delhi , the beauty of Calcutta πŸ™‚ beautiful πŸ™‚

Its a movie with a perfect social message. and it has so many take aways

1. Divorcees can fall in love and get married
2. Old people can be as modern in their thinking as it comes
3. There is nothing shameful about donating sperms or being infertile. Its just a medical condition
4. There is dignity of labour in whatever you do
5. Inter caste marriages can be a total success and in laws can support you despite you going against your spouse
6. Stress is a reality in life and the sooner we accept that, the better its for our health

I loved the movie. There may be some flaws (I didnt find any to be honest!) but its a movie I would recommend all of us to watch.

Thanks Amit for recommending this πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to I Am The Last Person to Watch This

  1. Smitha says:

    No, no,you aren’t the last person to see this movie, that would be me:)

    And your review makes me want to see it now!!

  2. You know I avoided watching the movie in theatre as I was sure it would have all Lewd jokes and be full of it… then eventually others watched and my BIL convinced me I should watch it and that it had nothing of the sort I feared… when I watched the movie… it had nothing of the sort I feared… the Mother and Grandmother of Viki ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Perfectly wonderful relationship πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Yami… sigh… I am in love with her ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    the songs are super too I liked the actor too and still although I have never liked Anu Kapoor… I guess after the lil role in Mr. India (one of my most favourite movies of all time) this is his best performance πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Take this from a movie buff they do make some wonderful movies these days !

    Another one you surely must watch is Paan Singh Tomar…. based on a true story how our society turned a military man / aspiring olympian into a dacoit… admist all the hullaboo in the movie… it also is a rare movie that is based in Bihad admist rural India full of Dacoits and yet… they do not use one swear word in the entire movie !

    • R's Mom says:

      I agree Hitchy, I wasnt watching it earlier only because of its name..but Amit’s blog convinced me otherwise nad RD saw it by himself earlier and recommended it to me πŸ™‚

      Amit also recommended Paan Singh Tomar, I am going to watch it soon for sure πŸ™‚ thanks

  3. I loved it too, for all the same reasons πŸ™‚

  4. chaitali says:

    Even i liked the movie.. it was really beautiful and indeed with a good social message πŸ™‚
    And whatever you said about Yami Gautam is so so true πŸ™‚

  5. techie2mom says:

    i too loved the movie for all the reasons you have mentioned and because it proved that to send a social message the movie doesn’t have to be boring!!!
    Good you watched it πŸ™‚

  6. Ashwathy says:

    About point #1, I have a slight disagreement. In her case she is a divorcee but apparently her husband jilted her on the first night itself ( or something to that effect, right?). So Ayushman’s character says to her, yeh toh shaadi hi nahi tha (becoz they didn’t have a physical relationship with each other).
    What if she was married for a longer time (couple of years of more) and then got divorced, would the movie have still the same effect?
    Probably yes since it is not a judgemental movie at all… but even then this was a thought in my mind. Would the MIL have accepted her even then without judgement?

  7. ehhh.. yeah… you are actually the last person to watch this movie 😦 But good that you watched it at least.. πŸ™‚

  8. My Era says:

    It’s a wonderful movie and I am glad you finally saw it πŸ™‚
    As far Yami I can somehow never remember her name & remember her as the face of ‘Fair & Lovely’ ads πŸ˜‰

  9. You are not the last person to watch this — I haven’t watched or for that matter, even heard about it! Reading your post made me feel like I was reading another language…have no clue about the people you mention either! Oh well…glad you enjoyed the movie! πŸ™‚

  10. I watched Vicky Donor, too. Loved it, too. πŸ™‚
    The ending is a tad dramatic – typical Bollywood style. Though I felt certain things could have been toned down a bit in terms of drama, I liked the movie overall. In spite of a controversial topic, I loved the sensitive, clean way it has been handled. There’s no vulgarity anywhere. Truly a movie that India needs at this moment.

    • R's Mom says:

      yes, it definitely was a bit dramatic, but theek hai rey…thats usual Indian cinema na πŸ™‚ there was no vulgarity..that was the most important part

      and she is goregous na πŸ™‚

  11. Oh, and I LOVED the heroine too. She is so gorgeous!!

  12. Smita says:

    Been wanting to see this one for quite sometime but unfortunately managed to see just the 1st half 😦

    I love the delhi ka flavor in books/ movies….so i am sure i will love it πŸ™‚

  13. garima says:

    I missed watching the last part of the movie..but yes the movie is good,something which was for the first time shown in Indian cinema apart from regular love triangle movies..Not sure how it was received in smaller cities.And I love Ayushman Khurrana πŸ˜‰

  14. metherebel says:

    I loved the movie very much…Vicky’s dadi was the best!

  15. DI says:

    loved the movie for exactly the same reasons! So real right? And the Delhi-bong way of talking, LOVELY! πŸ™‚

  16. pixie says:

    yep! Loved the movie for the exact same reasons! πŸ˜€

  17. K says:

    I watched it in between taking care of T, lunch and laundry 8-|
    I so so sooooo loved (loving) pani da song and Yami Goutham looked even pretty in that Bengali attire na?

  18. Don’t worry , I am yet to watch..Thanks for the review..

  19. Jazz says:

    I loved loved the movie too, specially the end where Ayushman goes to the little kid and hugs her, it was so emotional, I almost wept then. And then the MIL-DIL, Annu kapoor, the wedding, how both families sit together and decide for the couple etc. One of my favs. πŸ™‚

  20. uma says:

    I loved the movie..for the very same reasons..
    watched in the first time in the theater and the second time on tele :-)))
    If you get a chance, watch Talaash too..a different story..and now I want to see special 26 πŸ™‚

  21. Amit says:

    Finally watched it? Yay! I am very happy that you liked it. It is the kind of movie that restores your faith in Bollywood. All is not gone to the dogs yet. πŸ™‚

  22. Sreetama says:

    It’s a lovely film! Am so glad u watched n liked it! I loved the chemistry between Vicky’s mom & granny! Lakho me ek! The pishi’s acting was commendable too!

  23. I loved the movie to bits, and I too have to thank Amit as I saw it on his reco only πŸ™‚
    Vicky’s grandmom is the sweetest! As Vicky says, Dilli me do hi cheezen modern hain–ek metro aur doosri meri dadi!!!
    i too thought that Yami Gautam was the most gorgeous young woman ever seen on screen!

Leave a Reply

