And So We Finally Met!

After months of planning, days of cancellations, and last minute changes, Ashwathy and Pepper and I met up phew!!! This saturday goes down in my list of 40 things to do before you turn 40! yep, that was the desperation with which we wanted to meet…I did meet Pepper earlier, but Ashwathy and I have been planning to meet for like years now *rolls eyes*

These ladies did manage to confuse me with their swinging between Saturday and Sunday, to such a point that RD was like..let them come either day, it doesnt matter…you can do the cooking for both days eh :):)

We had fun..total fun

First of all like Pepper suggested, here is the menu

1. Sambhar (arachavita sambhar *gives proud look*)
2. Idlis (yes, Pepper wanted idlis for lunch ‘Amma, Pepper didi ko rice nahi acha lagta, asked the brat)
3. Rice
4. Beans curry coconut based
5. Aloo curry, kind of roasted fried with a crisp covering (as per RD, this and the sambhar topped his list of good stuff ;))
6. Molagapodi (which Ashwathy ate with RICE!!! *rolls eyes again*)
7. Ghee (Errr…not home made, but I remembered to get it to the table πŸ™‚ )
8. Parappu (this was for the brat)
9. Curd
10. Papad
11. an absolutely droolicious sinful chocolate CAKE (not pastry, CAKE mind you) which Pepper was kind enough to get
12. Some normal dal because RD scared me that the sambhar wont be enough gah!

Sigh! it was food, fun and what delightful company

Ashwathy’s undakannan came along and I got so confused with his name, thanks to R, that I called him by 10 different names by the end of the day πŸ™‚

Pepper came in first, and I got a call from security she came..but it took her 10 minutes to get to the second floor and R and I were worried she got lost. R tells me ‘AmmaΒ  woh kidhar lost go gayi, chalo neeche walk karke find karte hain’ hehehehe πŸ™‚

She came in like Santa claus with a game for R (Pepper and R and I managed to crack a bit of it!) and a lovely book (which we have read 10 times already!) and of course that yummmmm chocolate cake!

and then since Ashwathy and Unndakanna lost their way, we sat down playing chatting and cutting that cake (there was a candle as well) and R pretending it to be her birthday cake..and oh oh! RD practically butchered that cake under the pretext of cutting it gah!

and then Ashwathy came in and R and Pepper pretended to hide and R was giggling behind the curtain and as soon as Ashwathy came in, I said hello and asked her to go and find R..she wondered if RM was actually as crazy as she is in the blog hehehehe:)

She and Undakannan got beautiful hairclips and R’s first junk jewellery in form of a necklace which R promptly put on and didnt take out till the night *rolls eyes again*

And then we sat to eat..and ate and talked, and talked and ate, and ate and talked, and RD scared me again saying I will need to keep more rice and everyone switched over to the idlis heheheheeh πŸ™‚

It was super fun and like I said, we ate and talked and talked and ate..and surprisingly we didnt speak about blogs at all…topics ranged from commuting, to work to living abroad to annual days to children to what not :):)

then I made *ahem* filter coffee for everyone (Ashwathy and R decided not to risk that coffee) and finally everyone HAD to leave

My Appa came midst all this, surprised to see the door wide open, noises coming in from the bed room and his granddaughter sitting on the potty shouting ‘Thatha Thatha, idhar aao and bum clean karo’

Yaa, right, he knew he reached his destination :):)

R true to her name, cried like crazy when these people left and said a very rude good bye because they didnt stay back..gah!

It was truely a wonderful saturday afternoon, one, that I will cherish I think for a long long time

Thanks Ashwathy, Thanks Pepper, and Thanks Undakannan for coming along (He is the sweetest guy ever πŸ™‚ )

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to And So We Finally Met!

  1. vethal says:

    I will come and learn those things from you. btw me tamil too. I talk as if am referring to french cuisine. But my idlis turn too soggy 😦

  2. Smita says:

    wow!!! U guys seriously had some fun!!! Vaise I always feel that meeting at home is the best…you are comfortable & not formal also…..good good!!!

  3. chaitali says:

    Nice get together πŸ™‚ You play a good host… i think next time i come to mumbai i should try to visit u πŸ™‚

  4. Ashwathy says:

    Ohhh I was soooo waiting to see this post!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I was thinking about it ever since I left your house on Saturday! lol
    In fact each time you put up a post saying you met someone I would think mera number (humara number considering it’s you and me both) kab aayega? πŸ™„ πŸ˜›

    Oh come ON, let me eat my molagu podi the way I want to! πŸ˜› Pah!! I finish it na… phir? πŸ˜›

    RD did NOT butcher that cake πŸ˜› Give him some credit. It was looking fine even after we reached ok! *sticks tongue out at RM* (see? I am learning from you these things πŸ˜› )

    ROFL!!! Pepper got lost from the security gate to the second floor??? HAHAHAH!!! You should have told me this before, during the meet-up itself!! I would have pulled her legs like crazy!! HAHAHAHAH……

    You should have put up pics of the cake (errr…whatever was left of it) and the hairclips. But then you have put up such a lovely description of the entire day that I have nothing more to say πŸ™‚

    It was so awesome finally meeting up!! I am sure if we had stayed any longer the neighbours would have started pounding at your door for the racket we were making! :mrgreen:

    And we finally did meet!! YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ *dances around in joy*

    • R's Mom says:

      yipeeeeeee we met we met we met :):)

      that cake was butchered beyond description yaar :):)

      Pepper had a call to attend, she wasnt lost, only R thought she was lost heheheh πŸ™‚

  5. My Era says:

    Wooooooow! your post made me feel as excited as R must have felt in the awesome company.
    Though your dad’s entry & experience stole the cake πŸ˜†

  6. The joys of living in a metro where so many bloggers live eh !!!! πŸ˜€ that is so so warm and so so full of food !!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ You had to boast of the spread eh…. to make more hungry souls like me applying on the list to visit you !!!!!! Kinda book me…. next time I am in Mumbai I make Undakanni take me straight to your err…. dining table ! :mrgreen:

    • R's Mom says:

      but surprisingly Hitchy, I dont meet many :(:( its such an effort to catch up..honestly Ashwathy and I have been planning for over 8 months!!!

      you come fast fast πŸ™‚

  7. meenamenon says:

    Sambar n papad is my fav combo re … Yumm they taste!

  8. K says:

    Wow… Now I am feeling jealous of you guys. You are urging me to call some of our friends to our place.
    And Pepper was right. We always liked to see the menu list on your blog πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  9. Awwww, that sounds like a lovely blog meet. πŸ™‚
    Good to know you guys had loads of fun!
    LOL @ Thatha, idhar aao and bum clean karo. Priceless! πŸ˜€

  10. techie2mom says:

    I am drooling at the menu….LOL at “Thatha Thatha, idhar aao and bum clean karo’”….
    So your Appa is visiting you?! Great…

  11. gah…the only good blogger I had in my town…..gah gah…gah…you all stole her no? Give back my Pepper I say 😑

    πŸ˜† at R calling out to your dad to clean her bum :mrgreen:

  12. garima says:

    wow another blog meet…sounds so much fun and food πŸ˜‰

  13. metherebel says:

    That must have been super fun! You made so many items for lunch is it???? *I fall at your feet*

  14. Deeps says:

    WOW! You girls met up! Oh I am so jealous! 😦 ..but very happy all the same that you all had such fun! I so love to read about such blogger-meets πŸ™‚

    You know I always used to wonder why, despite living in the same city you and Ash never met. Not anymore πŸ˜€

    And that was one lavish spread, RM! Drooling!

    Last but not the least, R is such a darling and I am so so eager to meet and hear her talk! LOL @ the bum cleaning part! πŸ˜†

    • R's Mom says:

      Ash lives in the other side of the world…or like she will say ‘I live in the other side of the world :)’ thats why the meetings are a little tough to happen hehehehe πŸ™‚

  15. Smitha says:

    What fun! I am so envious! First, you get to meet Ash and Pepper! And then have such a wonderful time! So so so green, I can’t tell you πŸ™‚

    R as usual is just amazing πŸ™‚ – ‘Thatha Thatha, idhar aao and bum clean karo’. That is vintage R πŸ™‚

  16. sandhya says:

    That menu sounds yummy. OK. Decided. Next time I’m not meeting you at some mall. I’m hereby inviting myself and kid over to eat your haath ka banaya khana! πŸ™‚

    And why is it that you haven’t visited my blog when I go all out and write an uncharacteristically lovey-dovey post? *sulks*

  17. Tharani says:

    Atleast add, “meet tharani” in your 50 things to do before you turn 50. okie. Gah.

  18. Swaram says:

    I so want to meet some blogger-dosts soon. U make me all J πŸ™‚

  19. pixie says:

    I wish I was there in Mumbai!! Esp for all that food you had cooked!! πŸ˜€
    Sounds like you girls had fun!!
    Pepper is cute na?! πŸ˜€

  20. Totally Jealous post, first of all you all met and secondly all those mouth watering food..

  21. uma says:

    hmm..now you make me all jealous, OK?
    When are you coming again here?

Leave a Reply

