The Annual Day Update

1. R still had 100 Fever when I dropped her to the auditorium
2. Crocin still works wonders
3. She danced amazingly nice and even had a guy stand on her back at the end of the dance
4. She danced on the song ‘Go Go Govinda’ from the movie Oh My God (All information given are RD’s copyright πŸ™‚ )
5. She thankfully had to wear a black pant, silver t shirt, rani coloured jacket, which meant no difficulty for me
6. I went to my neighbour to borrow a lipstick and the neighbour is so so so cute, that she ended up getting her whole make up set for R and did the entire make up from the compact powder, to kajal to blush to everything *Falls at her feet*
7. R looked at her teacher, while I explained the fever, to teacher, then she looked at me and said ‘abhi aap jao, upar sit karo, main dance karungi’
8. I didnt click a SINGLE picture darn!
9. RD messages me on Wednesday afternoon when he had gone to her school to figure out how to dress your child

Β ‘Can you beat this. I am the only dad here. All others are mothers’

I reply ‘ hahahaha. thats because you are a perfect father’

I am not very sure about the perfect father part, but he sure is a perfectionist,

Check out this paper in which he wrote the instructions

 

untitled

Read in particular about bad manners and see the cute sa drawing about how to tie the hair

I sure love this fellow hehehehe πŸ™‚

10. R still has fever, severe wheezing and bad cough accompanied by a bad ear ache. but other wise she is doing well *rolls eyes* I am taking her back to the doctor tomorrow evening :):)

11. Completely irrelevant, but this made me feel bad 😦

Today morning, I came to office late after dropping R at the daycare. In a hurry, and the total morning confusion, I left my phone at the wash room.

This lady who cleans our wash room gave the phone to the admin guy, who called up my brother, etc etc and figured out it was my phone. HE called me and asked me to take it which is great. I am thankful to the lady for being so honest. He told me to give that ladyΒ  something so that such goodness can be encouraged, I didnt dispute that.

So that lady came to see me, I thanked her profusely aand told her that I would meet her at the washroom.

I went to the washroom, thanked her again adn gave her Rs. 50.

She looks at the money, and says ‘kya madam itna hi, yeh to bahut kum hai, thoda aur do’

I was shocked. I just said ‘nahi theek hai, thank you’ and walked off.

Now, was Rs. 50 really less? I admit the phone I have is some Rs. 3000, but should I have given her more money?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to The Annual Day Update

  1. Sreetama says:

    Good to know her performance went so well! Oh no pics? 😦 Am sure R was looking vibrant with the colourful attire. And salute to RD for the perfect notes taking skills! Thank you so much for updating it! πŸ™‚ The picture of the pony specifying the rubber band took the cake! πŸ˜€

    • Sreetama says:

      I really don’t know what to say about the incident. I think 50 rs. is a lot to reward the honesty and integrity of a person but to expect something is like… you are selling your integrity or quoting a price or it. If that is the case, they should probably come up with a rate chart like returning wallet – Rs. 100 (if it didn’t have a lot of cash), Rs. 500 (if it was loaded with money); for returning jewellery – Diamond earring (1000) necklace (5000), bangle (2500) gold tops (750), gold danglers (1000)… n similarly with mobiles, if it’s a simple or or a smart phone! I give up, can’t segregate more! πŸ˜›

      What you did was absolutely alright. Shouldn’t indulge.

    • R's Mom says:

      Cute na that pony is heheheeh πŸ™‚

  2. chipmunk says:

    Lol on the pny πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ the doodle was really cute and adorable πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ keep ssome ice cubes, chances of fever coming down, . . feeling sick is becoming more common now between the kids, give her hot water every time. she will be doing good soon πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    LOL on the only father attending πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. chaitali says:

    This time i will applaud for RD first !!
    R is an enthusiastic kid kudos to her!!!

  4. Rainmusings says:

    great job RD , i see some we have soething common here . i tend to do these things πŸ˜‰ .Hope R gets well soon. The current viral fever type stays put for a week or so and are exactly like what you said- excess cols, leading to wheezing. And on the phone- why should we pay anything at all in the first place.

    • R's Mom says:

      Aiyo, I wrote you a reply 😦 Kidhar gaya??

      Errr…I said, you do stuff like RD is it?

      I hope R gets better!

      and yes, I didnt mind paying, but it just is still making me upset 😦

  5. Santulan says:

    How nice of the R family πŸ™‚

    Also, for the incident it depends on perception.. For example you are giving her 50 INR from the bottom of our heart.. but aajkal 50 ruppes ki value kam bhi to hai.

  6. Ashwathy says:

    I completely hand it to R. She is a total sport if she did all that in spite of running fever and cough. I guess what you were like in your pregnancy is definitely showing on R today… being active no matter what the circumstances eh? πŸ™‚

    Pah!! U forgot to take pics?? Useless you are! πŸ˜› And then you manage to scan the sheet of instructions instead? 😐 πŸ™„
    Looks like RD is better at taking down attention to detail than you πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      Dont speak like my Appa…grrr..all the running about in pregnancy makes R a bouncy kid or something in those lines πŸ™‚

      yaa..see I did manage to scan the sheet *looks proud*

  7. Swaram says:

    Awww R is a rockstar πŸ™‚
    And I luv the ponytail pic too πŸ˜›
    Hope she gets well soon.

  8. chattywren says:

    Lovely read, kudos to R, well done! Oh and to the parents too:) loved the pony tail drawing. Is the weather changing there or something causing illness, not a fun time for anyone for sure. In our place, we are playing relay race with flu so alternately down, sigh!

  9. Filter Kaapi says:

    The pony and the white rubber band stole the show! πŸ˜‰ R’s enthusiasm needs a applause! A super colourful costume, that is!

  10. meenamenon says:

    u can trust men to come with these detailed instructions na πŸ˜€ N R is the true rockstar

  11. K says:

    LOL on point no. 5.
    about the fifty rupees – a big sigh.

  12. Amit says:

    I hope R is all right now? Take good care of her.
    I liked the ponytail pic. πŸ™‚
    And 50 Rs was enough. What is this world coming to? You go to say thank you and people grab your neck!

  13. metherebel says:

    i love the note RD has written and the ponytail picture is the best πŸ™‚

  14. Smita says:

    RD is tooooo cute!!! W/o your pointers also I had seen *bad manners & the pony tail* hehehehe…
    BTW With the amount of grease ( & the frequency) they expect you to put make up on R’s face, high time you bought a lipstick & all πŸ˜€
    And that honest lady? All her honesty went pffft when she accepted the money from you & nosedrived further when she asked for more….honest shouldn’t come at a price….

    No photos??
    Lady you are just….

  15. garima says:

    Hats off to RD for properly noting down the details…LOL at point 7..R is one confident girl,touchwood!You are one brave mother RM,allowed R to fulfill her dream inspite of her having fever.Hats off to you too πŸ˜‰
    I better not comment anything on washroom incident…even I would have felt the same 😦

  16. techie2mom says:

    R is a brave girl…Good to know she had a fab function…She got dancing genes from you, eh?!
    Why no photo, RM?!

  17. MaybornGemini says:

    Wow,hats off to R, not only did she dance, had some body stand on her back ,with that fever.Your hubby’s writing is sooo cuute, he made sure he took all the notes…Hope R is feeling better now.

  18. Tanishka says:

    RD is really cute… He was really attentive throughout… πŸ™‚
    Kudos to R… πŸ™‚ How is she now??

  19. RD is super sweet..I love his handwriting too.. πŸ™‚

    R is such a sweet little enthusiastic girl. I love her spirit..I am still at denial she danced with all that fever..hats off to the little champ πŸ™‚

  20. pixie says:

    Hugs!! I hope R gets well soon.. and you take care too…
    RD’s note is really cute!
    and that lady was rude re… don’t feel bad oki? She shouldnt have asked for more…

  21. How is the little rockstar now? what did the doc say?

    πŸ˜† that pony tail drawing was the cutest

  22. Hugsss sss to the little one ! She is really brave ! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It swells my heart to just read… I cannot imagine how you feel πŸ˜€

    RD’s note is priceless ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ he actually followed what you told him to do… write it down and I will do what all is needed !!! πŸ˜€ Its ok to not click pictures… I m sure it will stay in your memory forever ! Thats all that matters πŸ˜€

    about the Rs. 50 incident… sad… sigh…

  23. Pingback: From the camera of an aspiring stay at home dad…. | My attempt to write

  24. Smitha says:

    R is such a star! She is amazing! Hope she has completely recovered now?

    RD is amazing too πŸ™‚ Such detailed instructions, and he even drew a picture! What more can you ask for πŸ™‚

    As for that lady, it is upsetting. What more can you do? I feel bad when people demand, when we already are being generous..

  25. Nice to hear that R’s performance went well. Too bad there were no pics though. The reminders by RD brought a smile to my face…that’s nice that he shares so much of the parenting! πŸ™‚

    And that lady…well, I’m sorry but if people are only being honest for something in return, they don’t deserve anything in return. You do something honest because it’s the right thing to do. Not for the money or anything else. I’m glad you didn’t cave in. Just make sure you don’t leave you phone in there next time because I doubt you’ll get it back!

    • R's Mom says:

      RD did a good job na πŸ™‚

      Arey thats what na PB, if that admin guy had not told me, I would not even have given her anything 😦 somehow the incident has left a bad taste in my mouth

  26. LOVED that note. It is super cute, especially the pony tail drawing and the ‘bad manners’. πŸ˜€

    I think Rs. 50 is a good enough amount for a reward. It is not like you are trying to pay according to the value of the thing you had misplaced. Irrespective of whether the lady returned a cellphone or a diamond earring, you should be paying a gift out of gratitude – to appreciate her honesty. It does not have to reflect the price of what she returned. Such behaviour in people shocks me too.

    • R's Mom says:

      I spoke to my parents and RD about it, and they suggested may be I should have waited till the next day and given her a bar of chocolates or a packet of sweets..that would have made more sense..gah! I hate it when they are right!

  27. Writerzblock says:

    That drawing is the cutest thing I’ve seen in a long time :-)he
    About the ‘reward’, I really don’t think we can get much out of Rs.50 these days, and more than the cost of the phone, the ‘info’ stored in there, and the inconvenience of losing it, is quite invaluable. So imho, maybe the lady was right πŸ™‚ in asking for more.

    • Writerzblock says:

      Sorry I don’t like ‘demanding’ money..she should not have demanded anything at all. At the same time, however, I guess we can reward people according to the help they have rendered us. Dh lost his phone on Friday night, and we traced the cabbie who asked for a small amount to cover the cost of bringing it back. We gave him triple of what he asked, simply because he saved us a huuuuuuge deal of trouble. Yep…it is relative. Had it been something like a jacket perhaps, then we would not have given that much, because it can easily be replaced.
      Sorry for the lecture πŸ™‚ This is what happens when a mum has put her kid to bed and sits down with coffee and the google reader πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Oh yes what you say is correct, but what hurt me more was her attitude…she EXPECTED me to give her something..but honestly I am just going to stick to what my parents told me the next time *God Forbid* such a thing happens..give a packet of sweets and chocolates to the person πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

