Frustrations of a Mother

Disclaimer: A little upsetting post ahead, dont read it if you dont want to spoil your mood

R has been unwell since a week..RD tells me its because of the Kala Ghoda festival followed by a Kala Khatta Gola and then the trip to Bvr market on the day of our anniversary…

I dont know what it is, but I HATE HER BEING SICK!

Today is her annual day…

Monday, she went to school and came back with some fever

Tuesday, fever was there, so I didnt send her to school..she was fine by mid morning so dropped her to daycare and came half day to work

Went to the doctor in the evening, but his aunt had expired and he was not there..so the guy who helps him out with the meds gave me medicines for fever and cough…

I hadnt slept through Monday night and Tuesday night I spent rubbing R’s back because of the constant cough she was having…administered meds every two hours..and the fever subsided in the morning..

The cough was still there…but she was adamant on going to school to practice for the annual day

We left and got into the BEST bus..she had a bout of cough and the conductor told me ‘ghari ghenu ja, woh bemaar hai baachi’ (Take her home, the child is sick) I mumbled something in the lines of annual day practice..and no sooner did I say that, then R puked a huge quantity of cough all over her school uniform…there were 5 people in the bus..

The conductor stopped the bus..the driver parked it in the side and then the conductor helped me get her down, not caring about the puke or anything…I was so touched that I had tears in my eyes..I was mumbling sorry sorry, thank you thank you like an idiot..

one old man in the bus called out asking me not to worry and that its just normal cough and all kids have it…I was so so grateful

R looked down in dismay to her uniform ‘Abhi aap mereko school nahi send karoge?’

I asked her if she really wanted to go and she said yes..

So we walked back home (The bus had not even gone to the second stop) and I changed her clothes, ensured she had another dose of the meds, asked her if she was fine, she insisted she HAD to go to school

Got a rick, and reached in time to catch her bus..

And then her school…its really bugging you know…

The last Thursday they had called us to pick up the kids from the hall which they have booked for annual day..at about 11.30 AM..which meant, I had to take a half day then

and then they now asked us to meet the teachers yesterday, to tell us how to dress up the kids for the annual day..thats on a Wednesday…at 11.45 in the morning…Since I had taken a half day on Tuesday and have taken a holiday today, I told RD to go for the dresses…

Err…what if I dont understand he asked

Just write down everything and we will figure out I retorted!

But whats bugging me is, doesnt the school understand that working parents with no support system in town will find it difficult to keep taking leaves at such short notice….I am sure I am going to talk about this in the next open house…

Okay, frustation over, and now going to enjoy R’s performance, please pray the cough doesnt bother her too much..

Jeez! Just realised its Valentine’s day today..wishing everyone a happy romantic one with your loved ones…

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Frustrations of a Mother

  1. Happy Valentine’s day to you and R and RD ! 🙂

    She is such a brave girl, way beyond her age !!! *youshouldreallyfeelproud*
    Kids evoke so much mush and love when they fall sick.. not that they are not lovable and evoke mush from us otherwise but still… its kinda different no! ? and no… this is not at all a depressing post !!! 😀

  2. Tharani says:

    Ayo. Hope R gets well soon and rocks her performance today. hugs.

  3. Prachi says:

    I can understand RM, dont worry, everything will be fine, Just take care of R.
    I have to leave for an official trip today for 3 days leaving my junior behind. This is our first time. I don’t know how I will manage, just remembered you and some other working moms and gathered some courage to go ahead…!!

  4. Deepika says:

    Enjoy the performance RM!! Waiting for the pics
    R will be fine 🙂
    Happy Valentines day 🙂

  5. Smitha says:

    Hugs, sweetheart! I so get what you are saying.. Hope R has a wonderful time and her cough magically disappears!

    As for the school, I don’t understand why they need to have such meetings. Can’t they just send a note with what they need? And a note well in advance so that the parents have enough time to procure everything… You should have a word with the teachers,

  6. chipmunk says:

    she will be all fine dear don’t worry, give her hot hot water. she will rock today

  7. Don’t worry RM.. she will give rocking performance without any coughing… Wishing R good luck 🙂
    Happy Valentine’s day to you too.. already waiting to reading your post tomorrow to know how u guys celebrated 😉

  8. Smita says:

    Hmmmm it is frustrating indeed to see ur kid sick and then these things from school surely irritate you!! You shud for sure make it a point to talk about it and don’t forget it!!

    Hope u click some pictures of the l’lle princess 🙂

  9. chaitali says:

    Wishing you a very happy Valentine Day!!

  10. momofrs says:

    Firstly, (((HUGS)))
    Sweetheart, wish you a HAPPY Valentine’s Day.
    About R, don’t worry…kids have a nasty habit of sending their mothers into an over-drive of worry! R’s cold/cough is perfectly normal at this time. The fever will last at least 2-3 days after which the cold/cough might take around a week or 10 days to subside. Just give her plenty of fluids and she’ll be just fine.
    As for the school, believe me, I’m the ONLY working mother in the pre-primary school!! They had a habit of keeping parents meet on Thursdays or Fridays. One day I asked them to be considerate towards working women (actually, only me 🙂 ) and they obliged. Since then, the meets are on Saturdays. So you can request the school for either weekend meetings or early morning ones.
    Hope you have a good day today 🙂
    Love,
    N.

  11. telugumom says:

    Oh Poor thing. Hope she feels better and hope her annual day function goes well too…

  12. meenamenon says:

    Seeing R perform on V day will make u come back forgetting all this.. so smile now 🙂

  13. Ashwathy says:

    Travails of a working mother… sigh.
    Yeah I totally agree. What is with her school and expecting you to take leave at odd times? Why can’t they keep it for evenings or something like that? Weird, isn’t it?

    Wow, you can’t be serious. She was really sick and STILL wanted to go to school??

    How is she now?

    I dont know what it is, but I HATE HER BEING SICK!
    All mothers say this 🙂 So nothing new there, chill.

  14. Jazz says:

    Aww hugs RM and to little R. She is a strong girl, I’m sure she will be okay and rock the Annual day. Take care !

  15. Hope R is better now, and that her annual day performance went well. What is she performing, BTW?

    Yes, it is irritating when people do not understand the time constraints of other people, working or not working. I have been through that, too. Do raise the issue in the next open house – at least, it will make them aware that such problems exist.

    Was extremely touched to read about the bus conductor and the old man in the bus. 🙂

  16. rarasaur says:

    Oi, sounds frustrating! I hope R feels better soon. Happy Valentine’s day to you!!

  17. Swaram says:

    I hope R feels 100% better soon 🙂 Meanwhile, wishing her the very best for the annual day 🙂 Hugs!
    And how sweet of the bus conductor and the old man!

  18. How is the little darling now? I hate it too when my kids (jeez just a few months ago, I used to write only KID!!! 🙄 ) fall sick. It’s funny to note that they don’t bother about it but rather I am the one who goes on a panic mode 😥

    Ps: People are good to you because you are good and an adorable darling…muahh and need pics of R okie?

    • R's Mom says:

      Yes, I guess I am like you..it hurts me more than her I guess 🙂

      LOL on writing kids :):)

      She is not too good honestly, hopefully should get better

      Errr..pics nahi liya rey

  19. K says:

    Hugs to you. I can totally relate to you as I had sleepless night yesterday with my daughter. I noticed one thing. Though R is sick, she is enthused to go to school. This is exactly like you na? You work, travel, house keep … even you are in bad health condition. I wish I have your attitude 🙂

  20. techie2mom says:

    Hugs RM. Hope R is better now….I know how it feels when the child is not well..
    Hope she and you enjoy her annual day…
    Though i don’t work outside home now, but i can totally understand the frustration of last minute information from school. You will be right in talking about it in the open house.
    Take care….

  21. garima says:

    Hugs and more hugs to R and RM..Hope she is bettter now and I pray her cough gets choo-mantar 🙂

  22. Tanishka says:

    Hey RM.. I’ am sure R would have done really well in her annual day performance… Do post about it in the next post… How is she now??

  23. summerscript says:

    It was so nice of that old man and the best bus conductor and driver.
    Hope R is feeling better now. Hugs darling!

  24. Sreetama says:

    Hope R darling is better now? Hugs & love to her. May she gets well soon. How was the annual day?

Leave a Reply

