Tomato Achar

Finally that RD came back from Calcutta and I insisted him to check his phone

RM: Mera achar ka pictures tere paas hai
RD: Arey bhej diya  na..kitne baar blog karegi
RM: arey no, the tomato achar
RD: I dont have
RM: you do
RD: I dont

and the argument continued till the man just got bugged and fished out his phone and check..and viola! he had them *gives smug look*

anyways so here is the recipe

1. Take a kilo of tomatoes
2. Boil them in water to remove the skin (I usually use the microwave)
3. Simultaneously soak fistful and slightly more of imli in water
4. Take out the skin of the tomato
5. Grind the tomatoes and soaked softened imli in the mixer
6. Take a kadai
7. Add some til oil, mustard, hing (a bit extra) and haldi
8. Add the tomato/imli combination into it
9. Cover it (Please do that unless you want your kitchen wall to have modern art in form of tomato splatters *Rolls eyes*
10. Add some mirchi powder after a while (I use kashmiri mirchi powder because it gives the colour and not the spice)
11. Add salt to taste and let it cook on very slow heat till the mixture becomes thick like an achar
12. Dig in
PS 1 – In case you have an enthused four year old in the house, you can use her skills for removing the skin of the tomatoes
PS 2 – NEVER use the mixer without its actual sealed cover (Dont use a plate to cover the mixer jar) RD thought he was helping me and I ended up cleaning the kitchen walls and cursing him (More of the later and less of the former)
PS 3 – Keep the achar in the fridge after 24 hours, or else it will get spoilt

PS 4- Forgot to add the pictures ..so added here randomly 🙂

 

Get the helper to remove the skin of the tomatoes

Get the helper to remove the skin of the tomatoes

   

Thats the tomatoes which are boiled

Thats the tomatoes which are boiled

Before getting into the mixer

Before getting into the mixer

Just as you add it in the kadai

Just as you add it in the kadai

Final product

Final product

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Tomato Achar

  1. Yumm!!
    I remember taking this chutney to school in lunch box when I was a kid.. Now also, when i don’t know what to eat, I just make this and eat it with roti.. But I did not knew we can store it 🙂
    Will make it in bulk soon & store it (when tomatoes will be cheaper here) 😉

  2. Sumana says:

    Why do you have to remove skin of tomato? Anyways you grind it na… just curious

  3. Smita T says:

    Yummy…. I want this when I come next time pls pls pls 😉

  4. Smitha says:

    That looks absolutely yum! I have to try it out one of these days.

  5. Smita says:

    Aah!! Simple recipe this is….

    My Mom makes another version of this which is a little longer & complicated but the end result is yummy!!! 😀

  6. meenamenon says:

    N u want us to believe tht u don cook well! This sems sooooooooo yummmmmmm

  7. chaitali says:

    Drooling!!
    How do u use a plate to cover mixer jar while running it????

  8. Ashwathy says:

    Been meaning to make tomato chutney for awhile now. Thanks for this recipe! Will try it out 🙂

  9. chipmunk says:

    slurrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrppppppppppppppppppppppp ………………………..will cook and tell you the result 🙂

  10. garima says:

    wow tomato+tamarind+red mirchi=tangy+spicy=heavenly taste 🙂
    Thanks for the post..

  11. That tomato achar looks yummy! We make it the same way. 🙂
    R looks so cute! 😀
    LOL @ modern art on your kitchen walls. Same story here, lots of times.

  12. K says:

    Mouthwatering 🙂 I never added imli as I feel tomato itself will give enough khatta taste.

  13. techie2mom says:

    Very cute helper you have got 🙂
    LOL at PS2!!!
    I had this at one of my friend’s place, i soooo loved it that she packed a dabba of this for me!!! Thanks for sharing, RM…
    BTW, do we sieve Imli or the tomato imli mixture before adding it to kadaai?

  14. MaybornGemini says:

    Wow, mouth watering, Thank you sooo much for posting the recipe.
    So, ooondhiyoon recipe will be next… right????

  15. You know RM, this could be the best recipe you shared here, you know why? R loves tomato achar and after living with him, my fav too..I am going to try this home this weekend. I am tired of trying store bought ones…Its looks tasty , my mouth is watering..

  16. Must to book mark this recipe !!! for a khatta lover this tomato achar is straight down my lane !!!! maybe I bribe wifey to make it or maybe wait till next year and devour it at your place 😉 😛

Leave a Reply

