And We Went To….

…the Kalaghoda Festival 2013 ..and boy! was it fun or what?

I had promised R last year I would take her there, but RD went off to Australia and I didnt have the guts to take a 3.5 year old alone..and she was pretty disappointed…Amma aapne promise kiya tha na…

I promised to take her again this year and I am glad I lived up to it..

I have never been to this fest despite living in Bombay for the past 7 years..and I am really sad I didnt do it earlier…its the most amazing place to be..and what events..super..

There is something for everyone there..kids, artists, old people,Β theaterΒ lovers, movie goers, foodies..everything…I would not go into the details..if you want more pictures, just google Kala Ghoda Festival and you can get the lovely pictures of Vespa turned into a Butterfly, a car painted by a 11 year old, and lovely coin stuck car, a lovely cut out of a sparrow…

Dont ask me why I didnt click pictures…err…didnt have a camera..

but but but, I am directing you to a wonderful blog which has an amazing write up and a super collection of lovely photographs so dont complain. Read Sudhagee’s versionΒ  here

On Saturday, 9th Feb, all three of us were going to go from 11 in the morning, but unfortunately R had her annual day practice and had to go to school..so we had to go only the afternoon

We attended three sessions with R that day.

1. A story telling session with Rekha Mohan where she read a book called The Bookworm published by Karadi Tales

2. A book release of Deepa Balsavar’s Round and Round Book by Tulika Publishers, Aunty Jeeva was there as well, enacting the story

3. A story telling session by Aunty Jeeva

and gosh, we have so much fun…and Aunty Jeeva is the bestest storyteller on earth…if you ever ever get a chance to attend her sessions, please please dont miss it out..

Everyone was laughing clapping enjoying the session with her

R got her book ‘The Seed’ signed by Deepa Balsavar and she is so so sweet that she even illustrated a cute little puppy for R improntu on the book…she is so cute πŸ™‚

and R just went after Aunty Jeeva’s first session, tapped her on the back, and gave her a big hug…Aunty Jeeva was pleasantly surprised and asked R to come back for the next session..which of course we didnt miss her session…she was having some issues because of the open air atmosphere with a slight throat problem, but she was amazingly nice to agree to that extra story which the audience asked her to say..and her involvement with the audience is amazing…

In short, if you hear Aunty Jeeva coming to your town, DONT, Β I repeat, DONT miss her sessions

Check out some pictures RD clicked of Aunty Jeeva in Action (she is the one in black with a pink dupatta, and Deepa Balsavar is the one with the red dupatta)

DSC_0117 DSC_0118 DSC_0119 DSC_0123 DSC_0125

After the story sessions, R wanted to see Marine Drive, so we walked from Kala Ghoda to Marine Drive (it was a long walk) but there is something absolutely amazing about walking in South Bombay with your loved ones..R was a bit tired, but we had fun sitting by the quiet sea (it was low tide) and then we took a double decker bus back to where the car was parked.

R was so tired that she slept off in the car (8 PM) and got up only at 8 AM in the morning on Sunday πŸ™‚

It was a wonderful experience and something I am sure I will try and not miss every year πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to And We Went To….

  1. I didnt know about this festival earlier you know… but Next year I think I will make a special visit to Mumbai for this festival… with junior ! All that I heard about this festival has just got me more and more interested… πŸ™‚

    Lucky you that you made it this year ! πŸ˜€ Maybe next year you plan and show us around ! πŸ˜€

  2. Smitha says:

    Sounds like so much fun! I feel really bad that I haven’t been able to go anywhere of this sort in Bangalore- totally my fault, there’s been loads happening, but somehow, I haven’t been able to.. One day..

  3. Read Sudhagee’s post on the festival and was amazed!I have heard so much about Kala Ghoda, but have never had the chance to visit it. Some day, I will. πŸ™‚ I would love to see it in person some day.

    I have never attended story-telling sessions, too. would love to do that too, someday. πŸ™‚

    So cute of R to go and hug the story teller. πŸ™‚ Such incidents must make her day, too, no? πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      its beautiful TGND..next year????

      oh there are so many story telling sessions happening in Bangalore..will let you know incase I get to know of one..its total fun πŸ™‚

  4. Smita says:

    😦 We were planning to go on Sunday but the fact it was Sunday & the last day discouraged us. As is had ah ard week so was tired…next year for sure!!

    ANd u guys really had loads of fun πŸ™‚

  5. Hrishi says:

    Can we see the puppy ka photo?

  6. Ashwathy says:

    Ok 3 years in Mumbai and I am yet to go to this festival πŸ˜› *hides face*
    Need to go next year pukka!

  7. techie2mom says:

    When i read Kala Ghoda, i thought you went to Baroda (i think there is this circle called Kala ghoda near Kamati baag)!!!
    This festival sounds so much fun, hope i am able to take Zini for something like this…

  8. I have heard so much about this festival. Maybe, next year I will also tag along with Hitchy (he can carry the twins :mrgreen: ) and we all can do some horsing around in Bombay…ohh I miss my childhood days in bombay πŸ˜₯

  9. I love the Kala Ghoda fest and interestingly, this year is also our 7th year here! I’ve been there each time, except this once 😦
    Congos, by the way…I just nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award…you can get all the details here
    http://mylittleoneandme-debolina-raja-gupta.blogspot.in/2013/02/presenting-liebster-blog-award.html
    I look forward to getting a link of your related post in my comment box πŸ™‚ congos again!

  10. I have heard of Kaala Ghoda Fest but never had the luck to attend one being in Delhi. Lovely blog here…

  11. Swaram says:

    I wish like coming to Mumbai just for the Kala Ghoda atleast every time that I see it coming up πŸ˜‰ I wanted to visit a particular stall this time too. Loved reading the updates here RM. Thanks much for sharing!:)

  12. K says:

    hmmm….. sounds interesting. If I come to know that it’s happening in HYB, I will definitely go. BTW, I have gone through this site – http://www.jeevaraghunath.com – after reading your post and watched her videos. She is amazing na?

  13. Prachi says:

    RM
    I was also there in the KALA GHODA ART festival on SATURDAY (around 4pm) !!!
    it was so so crowded…that we left without seeing much. Then we went back again on sunday and I enjoyed it to the core…have lots of pics and blogpost is pending..!!

  14. sandhya says:

    *sulking* Why don’t these things happen here? Or at least when I’m there? *goes back to sulking*

Leave a Reply

