About Going Cloud Se Bhi Upar – Blogging Marathon Post 31

Phew! I did it..yes I did it…I am so so happy about it..

now all I have to do is sit back for the next few days and read all the pending posts on my readerΒ  :):)

Thanks all you guys co-BM bloggers, commenters, readers for bearing through my rants and cheat posts :):)

Now I will not bug you guys for a while

And so, since RD left suddenly that Friday, I had to tell R what happened to Chittappa…she didnt seem too affected about it and so we just left it at me telling her that Chittappa thatha has gone to bhagwan and become a star…

Then we went to Calcutta and she saw his photographs etc etc.

I didnt want to hide from R that Chittappa had died and I didnt want to tell her some story about him gone somewhere and will come back. I think its just best to be honest to kids as long as its age appropriate.

Yesterday, she asked me when Appa was coming back. I told her late today night, so she could see him tomorrow.

After five minutes

R: Appa kyun itne din udhar stay karing

RM: Well, because he needed to be there for 13 days..

R: Kyun 13 days

RM: (because I couldnt think of an answer since I have never questioned the 13 days ritual) well, because then after 13 days, CHittappa thatha would become a star

R: it takes 13 days for him to reach the sky

RM: Errr…yes

R: Toh woh slowly slowly jaa rahe hain?

RM: Errr…yes

R: Toh woh phir star ban jayenge..

RM: Yes

R: Woh cloud se bhi upar go karenge?

RM: yes

R: hmmmm

After a while

R: Amma, woh uss din (10th day) Why H Chittappa threw all the food into the river?

RM: Err…well, so that Thatha could eat it

R: But Amma, woh toh sab kaise dala tha, ekdum mix karke, how can thatha eat like that…and waise bhi river se how he will take?

RM: Well…errr…guess if you die, you can do it.

R: Okay..but woh patram (there was a kalash with a piece of ash from the burnt body I think which my cousin was carrying and praying to) mein kyun thatha hain?

RM: Well, after 13 days it will go up to Thatha

R: Then he will become star

RM: yes he will

R: Phir kabhi vapis nahi ayenge

RM: No beta, once you die, you cant come back

R: acha

Again after a while

R: Amma, why thatha die ho gaye?

RM: Well R, basically you dont know when you die and why you die..may be God wanted him up there, so he went..and anyways, remember anyone who is born has to die..thats how it works

R: oh okie..toh mein bhi die hoyegi?

RM: Errr…yes

R: Kabhi

RM: Well, it will be a long time afterwards I think, you are still young na

R: Toh main bhi cloud se bhi upar go ho jaungi

RM: yes beta

R: Arey woh to mein aeroplane mein bhi cloud se upar jaa sakti hoon na heheeheh πŸ™‚

RM: !!!!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to About Going Cloud Se Bhi Upar – Blogging Marathon Post 31

  1. Isn’t it hard to reply to such questions from small kids??
    You cannot say whole truth but you cannot even lie to them..

  2. ya true…
    so me first ??? πŸ™‚

  3. Prachi says:

    Congratulations RM..!!!! Well I enjoyed reading your posts daily…!!
    About birth, death…yeah I too feel that it is difficult to have these kind of conversations with kids…!! I loved the final statement of R πŸ™‚

  4. ashreyamom says:

    he he he.. she has a point na.. it must be really difficult to bring in such topics with kids na.. but u did a good job RM.. u are becoming my encyclopedia of bringing up kids.. πŸ™‚

  5. Vidya says:

    It is difficult to talk about or explain ‘abstractions’ like life and death to children.. You handled it well..

  6. You handled R’s questions very well, RM. Seriously. I would have been too shocked for words to be able to answer such difficult questions! πŸ™‚

    LOL @ the punchline by R. πŸ™‚

  7. And, yes, congratulations on the successful completion of the marathon. πŸ™‚

  8. meenamenon says:

    I kjnow i hv said it before too.. But I luv the way u hadnle her qs

  9. hitchy says:

    You are seriously very very patient… you didnt divert or run away ! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Proud of you πŸ™‚

  10. Sweet lord she had me in splits with her punch line πŸ˜† Muahh to the clever little devil.

  11. summerscript says:

    R is brilliant!
    Beeeggg Congrats on completing the marathon successfully!!! πŸ˜€

  12. Aditya says:

    She needs the following books:
    Tell Me Why
    More Tell Me Why
    Still More Tell Me Why πŸ™‚

  13. Ashwathy says:

    Love her joyful conclusion at the end πŸ™‚ Sigh! Bliss of innocence!

    In fact this time round most of your explanations of the rituals etc. did not make any sense at all. But I guess what do you really tell a child eh?

  14. Jazz says:

    Ims just read this out for me with full expressions and we are laughing since then. πŸ™‚

    He really liked how you put down these small daily stuff on your blog, which is such a treasure.

  15. K says:

    Congratsss!!! and a big hug. You are too good. I know about your hectic schedule, but you are here after completing the BM successfully. Wow.. I love you πŸ™‚

  16. metherebel says:

    Oh God…so many questions and worse is when you yourself do not know the answers to them.

  17. NBose says:

    Baap Re!!!….but must say you handled the these tricky queries so well πŸ™‚

    P.S.: I read all your post loyally but unable to comment from my phone…so this reader of your blog is still alive πŸ˜›

  18. sandhya says:

    Hmm…existential questions from kids. Then there are the ones about life – those are also difficult. They keep coming. And as the first comment say, you cannot lie to them, but you cannot tell them the whole truth too!

  19. anisnest says:

    yayyyyy RM.. we did it πŸ™‚
    woww R asked so many questions? My girl is still not ready to talk about it yet.. When our neighbor patti died she didn’t ask anything about her and was not ready to even discuss about it… There is time and we can always talk about it when she is ready.. So, I didn’t insist and left it at that..

  20. Swaram says:

    Loved how u handled it all RM. And how smart the brat is – ofcourse aeroplane works too πŸ™‚ Hugs and special muahs for her.

  21. chattywren says:

    Hmm, a v. mixed emotions post. It is so tough to explain things like death to kids. Congrats on finishing the marathon RM, it is thanks to your blog that I came to know of it and I had a good time. Now back to regular programming:)

  22. diatriblog says:

    Hmm I recently explained to my 5-yr-old nephew the meaning of death. His grandfather (my BIL’s dad) just passed, and his parents were too busy arranging the last rites to explain anything to him. He’s a great fan of Lion King and I told him his grandfather is in the same place as Simba’s father. He seemed to understand, but my heart still breaks when he expresses desire to see his “Ajoba” now and then.

  23. Smita says:

    Tricky situation indeed!!!! But you were right in being as honest as possible…..

  24. Amit says:

    It is so hard to handle questions like these. 😦
    But congratulations to R for the final punchline. πŸ™‚

  25. Yay for completing the marathon successfully despite having so much happen last month! Death is an interesting topic to try and explain to kids. I liked how you did it RM!

  26. Yay to you RM! πŸ™‚

  27. Yay to all of us πŸ™‚

    And I also have similar questions like R, she is one smart cookie πŸ™‚

  28. Tanishka says:

    Her questions!!! You really have a lot of patience RM… But her punch line was the best… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  29. telugumom says:

    It is very difficult to answer these questions from kids…. You handled it very well.

    Congratulations on finishing the marathon πŸ™‚

  30. Sreetama says:

    Congratulations on completing the marathon successfully in spite of the tun of events in your life. *Respect* R is a super awesome kid & I loved your answers! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

