How to Make Achar – Blogging Post 22

My mother makes the world’s best rasam and the world’s best achars.

Often She and I fight on whose mother makes better rasam, and whatever she says, my mother’s rasam is better thanΒ  hers.

RD is a big big fan of Amma’s achar….whichever time of the year she comes, he always asks her to make achar..

This time, during my bed rest, she made tomato achar for him. and he ate it as if he was eating rice or something and finished it a week and made a puppy face to her to ask her to make it again. But the guy didnt get her any fresh tomatoes, so it was left to her daughter to do the needful.

Also, amla achar is one of my favorites and I have learnt to make a low oil version of this since I anyways store the achar in teh fridge. Thats the only ‘cupboard’ in my kitchen which has some space in it *rolls eyes*

anyways, so here is a picture post of the Amla Achar..Tomato achar is someother post πŸ™‚

SS as suggested by you, I managed to cajole RD into clicking some pictures and going WOW at the end of every click eh?

Boil the Amlas (I did them in the microwave) and then put them in the mixer after removing the seeds

Boil the Amlas (I did them in the microwave) and then put them in the mixer after removing the seeds

DSC_0091

They will look like this after putting them in the mixer

Β Β 

Add very little oil (I used til oil) and then add mustard, hing, add the ground amla and salt and red chilly powder

Add very little oil (I used til oil) and then add mustard, hing, add the ground amla and salt and red chilly powder

This is the end product..RD was not around to click the intermediate photograph *rolls eyes* Caution - Store in fridge since oil is very less

This is the end product..RD was not around to click the intermediate photograph *rolls eyes* Caution – Store in fridge since oil is very less

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to How to Make Achar – Blogging Post 22

  1. Yum! Stupid question — what is amla in English??? I’m trying to figure out through the pictures but don’t have a clue! They look like lemons but I’m not sure…

  2. Looking forward to the tomato-achar post πŸ™‚

  3. vethal says:

    Thanks a lot ..seeing a lot of these BIG ones in bangalore this season
    hope ur amma is managing well.

  4. Smita T says:

    Hey, Instead of putting them in mixie can we make small small pieces, so that it has some bite in it?

  5. Ashwathy says:

    I will choose the easiest way out. I will come to your home to eat it πŸ˜›

  6. Deeps says:

    Mot much of achar fan, still those clicks got me slurping! πŸ™‚

  7. techie2mom says:

    Looks tasty and healthy…

  8. Swaram says:

    Looks yum RM! Amma is coming day after and getting us lotz of pickles and podis.
    Here, Su is a big fan of my Mom’s cooking, but when it comes to Rasam, it’s always my Dad who he says makes the best rasam in the world πŸ˜›

  9. Whoa…I will tell you 3 months in advance when I will land in Bombay so that you can make bottles and bottles of achaars for me.

    Waiting waiting waitings for teh Tomato Achar recipe…do it quick please as I love anything that has tomatoes in it πŸ˜›

    • R's Mom says:

      Arey RD has the photos in his phone..once he is back I will put up the pictures nad the recipes πŸ™‚

      you can tell me even 3 days in advance…I will give you tons of achar home made for sure πŸ™‚

  10. anisnest says:

    woww.. looks so simple.. i will try some day.. can amla be replaced by mango or tomato or any thing else? will the recipe be the same?

  11. Prachi says:

    Hi RM,
    I like the idea of using less oil and keeping achar in fridge

  12. Lovely pics!
    I have never tried making amla achar this way.. this looks droolicious. I should try it out some day. πŸ™‚

  13. pixie says:

    looks absolutely delicious! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

