R’s Report Card – Blogging Marathon Post 17

R had her exams last month and we were called last saturday to get her report cards.

Honestly, I spent exactly 5 minutes in her class

1. Because I didnt know what to ‘discuss’ with her teachers
2. I was in a hurry to go back home to meet up with Zephyr and Sudhagee

We were called between 9 AM to 10 AM. I reached there at 9.05 AM and saw a few parents already seated. Since it was not fixed time and anyone could come anytime between 9 and 10, there was a bit of chaos with everyone trying to get the teacher’s attention.

I took R’s report card and her papers.

Honestly, I was shocked to see her English Paper where they had to fill in the missing alphabets. She has done a VERY good job. It was neat! I cross checked her name and number and then had to admit that its my child and she is not bad at all.

Her Maths paper was kind of funny to see. They had to fill in the missing numbers and the darling brat managed to write the mirror image of 5 and 6. I have noticed this very often in her and have been trying to correct her. Amma says its nothing to worry and some children do have this habit for some time. So I wasnt too worried.

She did her counting properly *rolls eyes on that!* and then she had done correct matching and stuff.

All in all, I shouldnt complain.

Then I saw into the report card. It was pretty much same as the last time’s including a tick on ‘am I obedient’ and the teacher has ticked on ‘sometimes’ instead of all the time πŸ™‚

But, I must admit that they had written that ‘R is a very helpful and friendly child who helps all the other children. She is very open to learning new things’

Or something in those lines…I dont remember, but it was something like this.

As long as the friendliness and helpfulness lasts a lifetime, I think I have succeeded as a parent πŸ™‚

I went up to her teacher to return the card. She was surrounded by other parents.

She smiled at me. I said thank you teacher.

She was a bit surprised ‘no questions’

I said, no teacher unless you have any complaints.

She said does R talk about school

I replied, not much honestly, but she does like coming to school

She beamed and was happy.

IΒ  just said thank you and walked out.

That was perhaps theΒ  shortest parent meet anyone would have had eh?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to R’s Report Card – Blogging Marathon Post 17

  1. summerscript says:

    Wow! Congrats darling R!
    I used to write J and L 9 and P as mirror image wonly! πŸ˜€

  2. When I was teacher in India, during PTMs all parents had same questions – How is my child?? Does he/she studies well? You did not asked that questions as well, RM?? LOL
    R is no doubt a superb child but RM you are good parent too.. πŸ™‚

  3. chaitali says:

    Now that you have got R’s report card let me appreciate your efforts for inculcating right values in your child.

  4. Seema says:

    Writing mirror image of number is common among kids I guess. Mantam too do it, but intermittently. Specially when they are learning S and 5, P and 9 and 6 and g simultaneously!! It must be confusing na?

    ‘As long as the friendliness and helpfulness lasts a lifetime, I think I have succeeded as a parent’ -Mmmuah to you for that line.

  5. Amit says:

    Oye! Mirror image of 5 and 6 is not normal. I hope there is no problem but you better get this sorted.
    Waise glad that she is doing well. πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      if you check the comments, you will realise it is pretty common πŸ™‚ Amma is a teacher and told me that she has seen loads of kids do it till the age of 8 or so…

      • Amit says:

        Okies then. I was a bit worried there.
        And why are you not on Facebook!!!!!!!!??!!!!!!!
        *clue alert*
        I am in Zephyr’s friend list. πŸ™‚

      • Preeti says:

        Well RM, I have a 5 year old and he writes mirror images of some alphabets and numbers all the time. It is not the same alphabet each time either. Sometimes it is Z , sometimes h and other time J.
        The most funny incident was when I asked him to write 1 to 100 . He had the 5 right at all times other than 50-59. Go figure !! πŸ™‚

  6. That’s a good report card, RM. Honestly. Kudos to R! πŸ™‚

  7. meenamenon says:

    Err I remember my daddy telling my teachers in primary school when they tried telling him tht the marks are upto mark that – its oki as long as they know their basics n are not a trouble πŸ™‚

  8. Sreetama says:

    Well done R! Way to go sweetheart! πŸ™‚

  9. My Era says:

    Yay! to R doing well both in academics as well as being a helpful, happy, obedient kid at school πŸ™‚
    Congratulations R and offcourse RM πŸ˜‰

  10. uma says:

    Hey RM!, I know it’s been awfully long since I’ve commented here..sorry re..have been busy..doing…actually nothing great..:-) but haven’t found the time and inclination towards the blog world..just wanted to say you are doing great at this marathon..have been reading most of the posts..
    Loved R’s report card and I’ll also be among the parents who wouldn’t know what to ask at a PTA. Even my question is generally, “is he well-behaved?/any complaints/concerns?”..and am happy to leave if the answer is Yes for the first question and No for the second..:-)

    • R's Mom says:

      Arey its fine…it was fun talking to you the other day :):) I hope I can continue the marathon..running out of topics and its just too much pressure rey!

  11. garima says:

    yayay 3 cheers to R and RM…R for being a wonderful kid and RM for being a wonderful mom πŸ™‚

  12. techie2mom says:

    Wow, a real report card!!! Do they have English and Maths papers at this age?!?!
    Congratulations to R family for the great report card…I am sure this must have been the shortest PTM πŸ™‚

  13. Prachi says:

    Lots of love to R for “Very Good” and “not so very good” work. These kids do really surprise us sometimes !!
    And about shortest parent meet, dont worry RM, I will score lower than you, I attended the first PTM in excitement, and for the rest poor DH goes everytime..!!
    PS: Well I would love to go, but they schedule PTM on fridays…!!

  14. Ashwathy says:

    I think you noted all the finer things that you needed to notice. That is enough πŸ™‚ No need to have endless rounds of useless conversation that lead nowhere.

    She has done a VERY good job. It was neat! I cross checked her name and number and then had to admit that its my child and she is not bad at all.
    My God… give her some credit for goodness sake! 😑

    I was in a hurry to go back home to meet up with Zephyr and Sudhagee
    Hopeless mother you are! Sigh……… πŸ™„

  15. chattywren says:

    Well done, R and you too RM!! Even I am one of those parents who is in and out of PTMs. Of course, for me it’s also the language (though I tend to prepare) and I basically ask the teacher if she has any feedbacks or observations regarding behaviour, learning, etc. For lil G’s PTM, the teacher had a half page full of notes, which made me smile.

  16. Swaram says:

    Yayie she is such a lovely child πŸ™‚ Hugs to both of u RM!

  17. 1endofanera says:

    came across ur blog after a long time , great going , a marathon of posts.

  18. Muuuaaahhh to R. See she is such a sweetheart.

    And when there are no complaints what else is there to discuss na? πŸ™‚

  19. anisnest says:

    you are a cool parent eh? no worries on the mirror image of numbers.. Adi used to do the same until she was 6 or something..

  20. Smita T says:

    Congrats to R… I am sure its all her.

  21. Looks like we are soul sisters, I had similar experience last time(or first time) when I visited PTM for Chucky. I am planning to send R next time, he is the one usually has more questions..

Leave a Reply

