When Love OverFloweth – Blogging Marathon Post 14

Pongal O Pongal, I used to shout as a kid when Amma used to let the brass patram full of pongal overflow just a bit so that the gas didnt get turned off but bro and I had a feeling of the festival…

I dont do it with R anymore..

One that I still havent unpacked the brass vessels which my parents gave for my wedding *Dont ask me why they gave, rolls eyes* and two, that I dont think I have the patience which my mother had

So we try and do it on the pressure cooker and shout ‘pongal o pongal’ above the din of the whistle…try it, its fun I tell ya 🙂

I got up like a good girl today to make

1. Sweet pongal
2. Salt pongal
3. Chutney
4. Idlis
5. Coffee

and managed to pack everything in a dabba for RD and me to take to work…*looks proud*

The pongal o pongal reminded me of the love which we got on Saturday..

RD, R and I managed to go to Zephyr’s house and meet up with her and her L&M…Sudhagee managed to come and join us..and oh what an afternoon it was

I called up Z saying R  is very hungry..she said food is ready…

and yes RD just as you managed to figure out what I would write in the post….The menu

1. Rice
2. Parappur
3. Rasam
4. Vetha kuzhambu
5. Aloo curry
5. Cauliflower peas curry
6. Shrikhand (thanks to Sudhagee)
7. Chips (thanks to Sudhagee)
8. Amla achar
9. Tomato achar
10. Papad for RD who demanded it *rolls eyes*
11. Rotis

It was Delicious and the company was such fun

Sudhagee is everything that her blog says and more…she seems to be just sitting and enjoying all the fights and bantering happening between RM and R, RD and R, L&M and RM, Z and RM (errr…why am I the common factor here)

She gave a wonderful book from Africa to R, which we have read already!!!

We talked about everything under the sun, including blogs

L&M is everything that Z talks about and much more…he and RD were discussing Modi and what not 🙂 but he is really patient to R and made her watch videos on his laptop..

He felt my mamaras need to have more groundnuts in them hmpf! I told him to come home next time to have them 🙂

He and I fought about the chips that Sudhagee had bought..but Sudhagee is a smart girl..she got two packets 😉

Z packed up some aloo curry for me to take back home which RD had straight from the fridge without even waiting for me to heat it in the evening!!

Z also gave four books to R and a DIY trinket box decoration..books have been read and the decoration is work in progress 🙂

I think we have gone beyond being blogger friends to being family friends :):) It was totally amazing for RD, R and I

R didnt even throw a tantrum!!!

I loved the whole afternoon we spent together..and oh oh! Z also made amazing ginger tea for us!! L&M needs to do it the next time we meet hehehehehe 🙂

Thank you Sudhagee and Z for the lovely lovely meet…it was super fun

and this si what I mean when I saw love overflowed 🙂

Hope you guys have a wonderful Uttrayan/sankrant/pongal 🙂

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to When Love OverFloweth – Blogging Marathon Post 14

  1. chaitali says:

    Nice Read.. Happy Sankranti.. must be missing gujarat…

  2. Wow! You met up with Z and S?! Super cool. They seem like such lovely, warm people from their blogs, and I would love to have the chance to meet them sometime, too. 🙂

    Sounds like you guys had a totally fun meet! 🙂 It is a lovely feeling when blog friends progress to being family friends, no?

    Amma is making Pongal for us today. We are going for lunch at her house today. 🙂 We have chutti today, both of us, for a change. Why don’t you have a holiday for Uttarayan? 😦

    LIke a good girl, I will try and make some payasam to take to Amma’s house. 😀

    • R's Mom says:

      Gah! you must be kidding..take payasam to Amma’s house..dont do all that 🙂

      have fun for the chutti

      R’s school is closed but we are working 😦

  3. Bhagyashree says:

    I am super jealous…. made all the stuff and met Z too. Bad bad very bad.
    I always wanted to know what is vetha kuzambu??

  4. meenamenon says:

    ofcourse it wouldnt hv been complete without the menu 😛

  5. Swaram says:

    Grrrr I am so jealous of u RM! You are meeting bloggers left, right and centre 😛 😛
    Now why don’t u make that trip to Hyderabad too? 😉 I read lifeslittletwists’s post yesterday and figure out S&S is here too 😉 So double dhamaka for u eh? 😛

  6. chattywren says:

    Mus be interesting to meet blog pals. You sure had a great evening with abundance of food and friendship and conversation., things which go very well IMO. And you packed all that in RD’s dabba, a salute. Happy Sankanti to you all.

  7. Smita says:

    Happy Pongal / Makarsankranti 🙂

    You guys really had a great time!!!! And you fought with so many people?? 😀

  8. nachu says:

    oh…. no holiday here as well! Just like you, The bloke and I shouted “pongalo pongal” when the whistle blew!! 😛 We shortened the menu to just sweet pongal and Mochai (looks like lilva in hindi or we can settle for just bean in english ;)).

    Looks like you guys had super fun and equally awesome food!

  9. garima says:

    Shrikhand yummy 🙂 That sounds so much fun and lovely blog meet!

  10. sudhagee says:

    RM, you forgot the delicious Mamra in the list of food items we all had. Well maybe the R family didn’t. It was delicious and I almost finished it in the rickshaw ride back to work. 🙂

    Saturday was a one of a kind of day wasn’t it? And you have put it so beautifully when you said that love overflowed and was a perfect prelude to the actual Pongal pandigai today. It was lovely to meet all of you.

    Hope R and RM liked the book and hugs to all of you. Hope to catch up with you again soon 😀

    • R's Mom says:

      heheheh LOL on the mamara..no I didnt eat it and then L&M told me there wasnt enough groundnuts in it!

      It was beautiful…I loved having you around..

      R loved loved loved the book 🙂

  11. Jayashree says:

    Happy Pongal to the R household…..

  12. Zephyr says:

    We had a super fundoo time too, RM. And the L&M was like, ‘R is the sweetest child ever,’ ‘That boy is great company,’ and ‘RM is such an open and friendly girl.’ and I was beaming away since I had discovered the R family 😀
    I had met Sudha earlier, but this setting was so different, less a blogger meet than a family get together, as you have mentioned. Thanks for a wonderful time too RM 🙂

  13. My Era says:

    Happy Pongal RM 🙂
    Wow! that sure sounds like a fantastic weekend with tasty food & great company with RM fighting with everyone 😉 😆

  14. anisnest says:

    Happy happy pongal to you and your family RM… Enjoy the festive season..

  15. Ashwathy says:

    Oh you did meet Zephyr eh? Sheesh, I didn’t know you had a holiday, else I would have tagged along too! 😦
    I have emailed you, reply when you get time ok?

  16. Amit says:

    That must have been something! Loved reading the account. 🙂

Leave a Reply

