Appa Travel Tales – Blogging Marathon – 12

From the topics that I am writing about, you can be rest assured that this is the LAST ever blogging marathon I am ever going to take part in!

Its too much pressure..

Anyways, so I read this (https://mannbikram.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/airports-flight-hotels-holidaysssss/)Β on Bikram’s blog, I was reminded of a couple of incidents my Appa told us when he was travelling…

Now Appa has travelled extensively aboard…and has told us many a tales of his travel

A few of them I remember now

Appa was in Iran for a few months and fell in love with the local art and culture there. On the way back, he picked up really tiny dolls made up of ceramic for us to keep in the Golu.

Since those days packing has not reached such heights, he basically put all of them in his veshti and then rounded it off with another veshti and then just made a big ball of the entire thing so that there was no danger of anything breaking.

At the airport, on the way back, he was stopped as he went through the security check…I think in those days, even the check in luggage was checked in front of you. The guy asked him to open the bag since it looked in the X Ray like a huge bomb.

My dad looked at him and explained what they were and said why would he carry a bomb in the open like that

No, you have to open it, the guy said.

Appa tried to convince him a lot but the guy was adamant.

Appa finally told him ‘Fine, you go ahead and open it, but mind you when you finish opening it and checking the dolls, ensure that its packed EXACTLY the same way, otherwise even if one of the dolls break, I will ensure I come back and complain, even if I dont my wife may come back and complain about the dolls breaking :)’

And the guy just let Appa go.

Of course, this was in the early 90s when the security was not so stringent and people just didnt blow away planes left right and centre!

======

Appa went to the US for the first time. As soon as he reached the migration officer, there was a security guard standing there.

He was a white man really tall, if you see Appa he is a typical Indian, brown skinned, not very tall.

The guard looked at Appa with disdain and asked very very slowly ‘you…..speak….English?’

Appa looked at him for a second and without missing a beat replied ‘Probably better than you do!’

The poor guy was stunned for a second and burst into laughter and Appa joined in!

=======

After writing these two incidents, I think I am going to call up Appa and ask him for more fodder for the marathon πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Appa Travel Tales – Blogging Marathon – 12

  1. chattywren says:

    The 2nd one is really hilarious!

  2. summerscript says:

    I love your Appa I love your Appa, I Love your Appaa πŸ˜€

  3. Swaram says:

    πŸ™‚ Show us those dolls tpp if u still have them πŸ™‚

  4. Tanishka says:

    The US security incident is super cool… πŸ™‚

  5. anisnest says:

    loved the second incident.. πŸ™‚

  6. sjscribbles says:

    The security guy would have freaked out at the very thought of re-packing the dolls with the two long veshti’s RM…That was a cool threat though πŸ™‚ LOL on my wife will come over and complain..
    “Probably better than you ” was too good too…

  7. Great uncle has traveled a lot!!!

  8. LOL
    Both incidents are hilarious!

    Why don’t you narrate more of your Appa’s travel tales? Would love to hear more! πŸ™‚

  9. Smita says:

    LOL!!! Ur Appa is just tooo good!!!

    U can surely make a series out of this, “Appa Says” πŸ˜€

  10. Amit says:

    I think you can start a series of such incidents. They were really good. πŸ™‚

  11. Ashwathy says:

    ROFL !!! πŸ˜†
    Your appa is priceless!!!

    I have to hand it to that immigration… he took it in his stride didn’t he? πŸ™‚

  12. fun2oos says:

    I loved the two incidents very much but more than that, the you way put the incident into words to express them infront of your blog reading audience…And i too have heard some of my Appj’s (dads) stories but i ll try to put them into word on my blog which i have recently started, and those words may not be as good as yours but i ll try my best to do..
    And forget my first line, I like the you express..

Leave a Reply

