The New Year Party and Menu – Blogging Marathon Post 3

So this year we went up for the new year party and hold your breath, actually stayed up till the near end which would have been extended till 12, if R’s bladders had not given way πŸ™‚

First things first – The Menu

1. Pani Puri
2. Bhel puri
3. Dahi puri
4. Moong Chilla
5. Undhiyu
6. Paneer Butter Masala
7. Salad
8. Puri/Roti
9. Jeera Rice
10. Dal Fry
11. Basundi
12. Gulab Jamun

– And R, Amma and I ate only the first three on the list…Dont ask me what RD ate, I hardly saw him in the party..since he was in the organizing committee and kept disappearing at regular intervals to God knows where!

– Not everyone came..but mostly who came had either kids or were just married couples..

– Most commonly heard was ‘we are bored’ and these are from people who refused to participate in the musical chair and other games we tried to play

– Most commonly heard from kids ‘Last year was more fun, yeh bade log khana kabhi finish karenge ufff!’

– Amma had the chaat items and sweets and came down to snooze away to glory by 9.30 :):) She has the best way of welcoming the new year as per her..by sleeping it off πŸ™‚

-We did play musical chairs (I didnt participate because I couldnt run!)

The kids had most fun..RD ran around like crazy in that

The ladies round was pretty drab with a mother daughter duo just walking and playing safe gah!

The senior citizens uncles round was fun…

– We felt that this time, more people came in and mingled a lot more instead of forming groups…

– A guy and I had a minifight on who was cheating in which game πŸ˜‰ RD just washed his hands off me and went away to the dinner area while I pushed and fought around with that guy :):) It was super fun πŸ™‚

– I refused to take part in a ‘couple game’ with RD but instead chose to play with another mother πŸ˜‰

– I didnt want to play that stupid Housie game and thankfully God heard it in form of R’s bladder and we rushed down for her to do su-su and I convinced her that the party was over πŸ™‚

And the best part was

R and I lay down side by side till about 1 in the night until RD came down, chatting with each other..yes yes yes..for the first time, I didnt insist she sleep..but we welcomed the new year gossiping with each other about the party, about her friends, day care, about my job..

God! I am so thankful to have a daughter πŸ™‚

=======

Today morning I broke a brand new bottle of Bajaj Almond oil 😦 Darn! what a start to the new year 😦

Thankfully amma agreed to do the clean up since R and I were racing against time…

The reactions

RM: Oh SHIT!

R: Maine kuch nahi kiya saachimein…Amma ne giraya

RD: The way R ran with that bottle I was wondering if something would happen but R didnt you…you did it eh?

Amma: Forget it you guys, go to work, I will clean

Did I thank God that I have the world’s bestest mother!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to The New Year Party and Menu – Blogging Marathon Post 3

  1. PANIPURI
    BHEL-PURI
    DAHI-PURI
    YUM!!!! Thoda yahan pe bhi bhejte naa…
    I am going crazy, my mouth is watering..I am pakka going to eat chaat tonight..
    btw.. that new bottle of almond oil breaking is actually good.. you know the saying – kanch(glass) ka tutna shubh hota hai?? πŸ™‚
    You surely have world’s best Mom & best daughter of course πŸ™‚

  2. The Bride says:

    Hehe, that sounds like fun and I want me some of that chaat. Hope to have lots of gossip sessions with Mimi though Benji is pretty good on that front too, though I can’t quite get what he’s saying and a lot of it involves Toto the Auto.

  3. chipmunk says:

    list is quite big πŸ™‚ to eat this much on one toe, i have to starve for a week πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ hope you had a beautiful day πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ fight is always a fun πŸ™‚ I love to do that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. UmaS says:

    Mothers are the best na ??? Hugs on that note πŸ™‚
    And also hugs on the note that you are indeed lucky to have a daughter πŸ™‚

  5. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Hey that looks like a nice new year party. Getting reminded of the days when I used to be Indore and we used to celebrate new year in our colony with all such fun celebrations. Missing a lot of those stuff in Singapore. We have a different sort of fun like going to see fireworks and then participating in the Indian celebrations as when they happen but miss that community celebration at the stroke of 12!! My Hubby is not a very party (social gathering) person who is happy left to himself so he is very Happy here.
    And so nice to hear that you and R had some cool time in the bed giggling and gossiping. What better way than this to welcome the new year. Your mom is cute πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Even RD is not a social person..he just pretends to be one..most times he just walks here and there, trying to look busy so that no one strikes a conversation with him πŸ˜‰

  6. I am drooling! That menu sounds SO wonderful! I want all of that NOW! 😦

    Awww @ your midnight gossip session with R. I am so touched to read about that.

    I quite like your mom’s way of ringing in the new year. It is better to sleep and rest yourself on New Year’s eve, so that you wake up all fresh and sated on the New Year Day. That’s good, rather than waking up the whole night and feeling tired and sleepy all of the next day. I am growing up, or have become old, eh? πŸ™‚

    How sweet of Aunty to clean up the mess! πŸ™‚

  7. Your party menu, particularly the chaat items, made me drooool. And chatting with your kids late into the night is one of the greatest joys life has to offer, na? This is exactly what I was doing at that time.. what a lovely way to ring in the new year!

  8. summerscript says:

    but we welcomed the new year gossiping with each other about the party, about her friends, day care, about my job—– that is so so sweet πŸ˜€

  9. DI says:

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Nice! Chaat on the menu cannot be replaced with or beaten by anything!
    I am so glad to have a daughter too RM, can’t wait for when we have our little chats πŸ™‚

  10. ashreyamom says:

    wow.. nice menu.. i love housie.. yes, its always nice to have daughters na.. :).. nice amma who agreed to clean..

  11. rohini26 says:

    Yum, you just brought on an intense craving for chaat in these parts.

  12. garima says:

    wow you sure had dhamaka with all that food and fun :-)aww on midnight conversation between mum and daughter…yes amma is the sweetest.

  13. But isn’t spilling of oil a good omen.. I am sure it is.. so a good thing. .

    I have purposely ignored food.. I feel jealousy and hungry now.. so ignoring it

    • R's Mom says:

      oh its good omen..so thanks for that πŸ™‚ feeling better after reading that in two comments πŸ™‚

      you just got up..go have a nice cup of coffee πŸ™‚

  14. Swaram says:

    RM, I would have eaten only the first three on the list too πŸ˜› U had me drooling at the mention of so many chats πŸ™‚ And yes, Moms and daughters are the best πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    Am glad u had so much fun that day, esp. the talking until 1a.m bit πŸ™‚ Hugs!

  15. Yoy know what? I just loved the way u welcomed the new year. I think it couldnt have been more personal and meaningful. So so much better than playing housie i think.

  16. hitchy says:

    somehow I have never felt the zest to celebrate this 31st wala new year… btw why couldnt you run ??

    p.s. I am leaking this but I have always loved musical chairs… somehow… even today ! πŸ˜›

  17. anisnest says:

    daughters are the cutest and mothers are the bestest πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    I wish to live in an apartment community just for these get together’s.. what fun it is to share the joy and happiness with people on special occasions..

  18. Jazz says:

    Ah bliss na ! πŸ™‚

  19. RM, our posts always make me hungry , real hungry ..I have to run to kitchen and eat something πŸ™‚

    You sure do have the best mom daughter and husband.

    Have a wonderful year ahead my dear!!

  20. Nachu says:

    RM, the party menu is just amazing! Broke glass? Ask me about it. Last year I broke glass left, right and center! 😦 I just hope I don’t break any this year! Cleaning up the shards is such a tough thing! And followed by the constant worry of stepping over it!

  21. Thank you for making me drool at the menu. Not. Guessing this was a building New Year party? Brings back memories of the few times we had parties back when I was in Bombay…it was ok because I didn’t like a lot of people. Yes, I’m like that.

Leave a Reply

