Jeez! I am Clueless! – Blogging Marathon Post 2

So last to last to last week, Tharani sent me a message asking me ‘RM suggest me some books from yourΒ  all time favorites for me to read’

and to my shock I couldnt come up with anything except PG Wodehouse and Harry Potter. Jeez! I am shocked….I dont have all time favorites 😦

What kind of a reader who claims to be crazy about reading, says she doesnt have a list of favorite books 😦

I feel awful at this time…(No Tharani you are not to take the blame, I should have realised this on my own!)

I mean, imagine showing off to all and sundry about how much I love reading, only to realise I dont have favorite books or favorite authors…

In one of womensweb’s contests, I had written how Elizabeth Allen from ‘Naughtiest Girl series’ was one of my favorite characters but no favorite author 😦

Go on laugh while I sob in my corner in disbelief and lament over my lack of having an all time favorite book list…sob sob 😦

=========

But, since I didnt post this post on the day it needed to be posted thanks to the unwellness…I thought and thought and thought..

What? I was on bed rest na for a couple of weeks…

After thinking..here is my have-to-impress-Tharani list

1. Harry Potter series
2. Any PG Wodehouse but Jeeves is a favorite
3. Trustee from the Toolroom – Nevil Shute
4. Town like Alice – NevilShute
5. To Sir, With Love – E R Braithwaite
6. Naughtiest Girl in School – Enid Blyton
And so on and so forth…go on Tharani, like I said on the message, just ask Vidya or SnS..they will help you better eh?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Jeez! I am Clueless! – Blogging Marathon Post 2

  1. Come on, you do have a list of favourite books! πŸ™‚ It is rather difficult to come up with an author, all of whose books you like. It is better to have a list of your favourite books rather than your favourite authors. I do the same.

    I haven’t read any of the books in your ‘favourites’ list, except for To Sir, With Love. I loved that book.

    I don’t know anyone who reads Nevil Shute!! How are his books? How is the language? What books of his would you recommend as a starting point for me?

    • R's Mom says:

      Nevil Shute is an old author rey…I mean my dad introduced me to him…He has written lots of books..but Town like Alice and Trustee from Toolroom is among my favorites..knowing your taste, I think you will like him..the language is pretty simple and lucid

  2. Amit says:

    I too don’t have a favourite list. 😦 But, yeah I can name a few of the books I like. I won’t go blank like you. πŸ˜›

  3. Tharani says:

    Awww RM, an entire post because of my sms:-) πŸ™‚ One resolution for this year to read more and will definitely pick up from the list. As of now i’m reading the help and loving it:-)

  4. ashreyamom says:

    hmmm.. i started reading very lately.. so no comments.. πŸ™‚

  5. Ha ha.. That is okay, RM. I mean, not to have favourites. Which means, all the books and authors you read are lovely. No? πŸ˜‰

    If you ask me, Indu Sundaresan’s Taj trilogy is a big hit at my end. Also, the Shiva Trilogy by Amish Tripathi. Then, all of Amitav Ghosh’s books. Khaled Hosseini is also another favourite. And, also Dahl’s Matilda and Narayan’s Swami & Friends.. See, I can’t stop once I begin! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Gah! I am so jealous..you could come up with a list eh?

      I loved all of those..though I found a thousand splendid suns a bit too depressing 😦

  6. Swaram says:

    I luv Indu Sundaresan’s writing and can read Sherlock Holmes and Agatha Christie any number of times πŸ˜€ . I also like Cecelia Ahern πŸ™‚ Actually, I think this is good fodder for a post … thanks for the idea RM πŸ˜‰

  7. hmmmmmmmmmmm I hope Tharani is Impressed now πŸ™‚

  8. Nachu says:

    Though I have hunted and read most of Enid Blyton’s novels, I haven’t come across “The naughtiest girl” yet.
    My favorites would be HP series, any of Agatha Christie, E.Blyton, The Second lady (Irving) and We the living (Ayn Rand).
    Among the ones I read recently, Atonement (err it is a bit depressing) and The litigators.

  9. Vidya says:

    Try shaking your brain- you’ll surely have a list:-)

    Mine: http://lifeunderthesky.wordpress.com/2010/11/12/books/ (all time favs)

  10. UmaS says:

    HP, Enid Blyton are my favs too…

  11. Wrote a long post with my fave books and sont know what happwned with the phone lost the whole comment. Im so stupid.
    Yeh smarr phones mere bas ki baath nahu 😦

  12. Pepper says:

    What online library do you use?
    I have always been a reader, but I don’t have favourites. I go crazy each time I try to compile a list.

  13. anisnest says:

    my current favorite is Indu Sundaresan RM.. done with Taj Trilogy and determined to finish her other 2 books too to claim that I have read all the books published by a author πŸ™‚ Chitra bannerjee’s Palace of Illusions is on my fav. list too.. wowwww I am also talking about books after a long long time.. all thanks to you folks my fellow blog avid reading buddies..
    And and thanks for the list.. I will try them soon.. πŸ™‚

  14. hitchy says:

    Geez… I have not read any of your all time favourite… but let me do a post about my favourite books.. I think I have atleast 2-3 in my mind right away…

  15. Pingback: Favourite Book List… « My attempt to write

  16. chattywren says:

    I don’t read a lot these days but I used to like reading James Herriot, and Geral Durrrel – love his humour.

  17. shail says:

    “What kind of a reader who claims to be crazy about reading, says she doesnt have a list of favorite books”

    Me, me, me! πŸ˜‰ Except for PGW (and yes Harry Potter is also a fav) I just could not think of any book or author offhand if someone asked me (till now). But now I have another fav author too: Haruki Murakami πŸ˜€

  18. techie2mom says:

    Wow, after saying you don’t have favorites, you actually gave list!!!! BTW, same pinch at PGW and HP. And i too am partial to Jeeves and Wooster…
    i named few of my favorites in my About page….

  19. What good is it to be a Voracious reader when you have to go to bed daily with just one favorite author? :mrgreen: Jeez…look what you did to me RM..I just made up that quote and feel all too smart πŸ™„

  20. That’s a nice list. As part of our book club for the end of the year, we had to list our top 5 favourites and discuss with others. It was quite difficult coming with just 5 but I managed to in the end. I think favourite authors are easier for me: J. K. Rowling, Jodi Picoult, Rohinton Mistry, Jonathan Franzen, Enid Blyton, Lionel Shriver. {So far!}

Leave a Reply

