Among Other Things In Life

I got a shocker on Thursday. Apparently my manager has got feedback that my English writing skills need a lot of improvement and now they are planning to arrange for someone to tutor me and our team to write good reports. I almost jumped out of skin when I heard that…Here, I was churning post after post thinking my English was not-so-bad..and then this comes in..

Moral of the story : Pride always takes a fall!

=======
I was so so upset to read about Savitaย Halappanavar, but didnt write anything because emotions just overwhelmedย 

=====

I had written a post about Mumbai post its ‘leader’s’ demise but didntย post it because I was too scared ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Yes, I admit it on my blog that I lack guts, because I didnt want to end up like these two girls.

Go on, you can call me a coward definitely.

=====

I heard from SDT (Who helped me click pictures during the Pratham book reading) that a lot of people in my office are shocked to hear that I have a four year old. One of the guys in my bus stop actually went and asked her twice whether I was married at all!

Err…well, I dont have any signs of marriage on me, but it seems the way I dress (and RD tells me I am among the lousiest dressers he has ever seen!)ย I dont look married *Rolls eyes*

Well, so it be…I was grinning when SDTย told me that..and so was she..she says she loves to put up a conspirational tone and say ‘haaย haaย uskiย 4 saalย ki betiย haiย pataย hai?’

hehehe ๐Ÿ™‚

=======

I have been asked to attend a conference with the boss. I dontย want to do it. It involves networking with people you dontย know and I hate doing that. I am thinking will it be unprofessional if I refuse to go with him and suggest a colleague’sย name instead? I dont want to go seriously. I find the papers interesting to attend but the networking during lunch and tea breaks gives me tummy aches! and then I can always read the presentations in peace when I get them from boss na! I dont think I will EVER succeed in business development EVER!

=======

I have come to a stage in life when I am completely comfortable with the way I look. I am wondering at the fact that why God gives us such maturity when we dont need it..I mean, I wish I had this comfort levels when I was 18 right?

Anyways, I no longer bother what people think about my image…I have overheard people laughing at the fact that I tie my short hair into a choti, or that I wear knee lengthย skirts or that I wear a jacket ALL THE TIME AT work or that I am wear thoseย cream coloured split socks with my chappals…but I have realised I dontย care..I like my chotis, I love my skirts, I am freezing due to the sub arctic levels of the AC in the office and I want to stop my feet from cracking like the earth in dry weather in winter..so whats wrong..

I would rather be dowdyย and comfortable than be hot looking and uncomfortable..yes one thing I need to do is pull up my fitness levels which means excerising…I have been walking for two days now..nothing major..just about a kilometre..but I hope at least its a start eh?

I am extremely comfortable with the way I look…soda bottle kanadisย and holed face included ๐Ÿ™‚

I wish I was this smart 10 years ago ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

=======

RD is pakaoing me to go out with him..and I am still refusing…the argument continues still…the guy is asking his 6 year ki wife for a date..can you believe that?

=======

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Among Other Things In Life

  1. sandhya says:

    RM, have I told you that we love you just the way you are? Soda bottle kannadis, mismatched attire and all? We wouldn’t have you any other way. What matters to us is what goes on in that mind of yours. It’s wonderful.

    And LOL on the ‘conspiratorial tone’! :):)

  2. //I would rather be dowdy and comfortable than be hot looking and uncomfortable.// And what is dowdy for one is sensible for another ๐Ÿ™‚

    You aren’t the only one scared, can you imagine what would have trended on twitter and been the most searched and read name on Google is fear didn’t discourage most of us? The one who should not be named of course.

  3. Awww, poor RD! Why are you even making him wait for so long? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Go on, burn the dance floor, girl. ๐Ÿ˜€

    I love your attitude. I would rather look dowdy and be comfortable, too, rather than look hot and be uncomfortable. Totally understand what you mean, for I am just like that, too. I have been learning, of late, though, that it is possible to look hot and be comfortable, too. It just needs some time and creativity. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope things settle down at work soon!

    IMHO, if you are really not interested in attending the conference, you could try talking to your boss. I hope it helps!

    • R's Mom says:

      arey date as in, he wants to go out of town ๐Ÿ™‚ which I dont want to ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks TGND..yes you are right, its possible to look hot and be comfortable..unfortunately, I dont seem to have the time or creativity..which should be solely attributed to my laziness…

      Talking to the boss ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  4. Kudos on the exercising bit too. I have started exercising too. It’s not regular, and it is not much, but I have a good feeling at the end of the day – I know I am doing the right thing. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. anisnest says:

    hmm.. this is a mixed post now for which pointer do I comment?
    1. chalo yaar.. it happens.. may be they are looking for some corporate jargons to be used.. anyways its always good to get trained.. so chill and enjoy it..
    2. same here.. I was so so upset too especially… you know na?
    3. hmm.. those pity girls.. Is India still a democratic country?
    4. this contradicts with you last but one pointer.. its only by your looks that guys think you are not married no? you look so young? I can’t wait to see you.. email me some family pics plsss…
    5. Just get over those tummy aches and go ahead and attend the conference. Not everyone will get this kinda opportunity.. give it a try RM.. you can definitely do it..
    6. I don’t know if I still feel comfortable esp. with my complexion but I have learned to look beyond the outer look and doesn’t let this affect my confidence in anyway..
    7. wowww.. arey this is too much.. why are you refusing? Just go gal.. don’t feel for missing it later.. you never know when the husband’s mind changes so better go.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    have a good week ahead..

    • R's Mom says:

      how sweet of you to reply to each point hehehe ๐Ÿ™‚

      I loved all your responses…about going to the conference, well, you seem to give me courage now ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Amit says:

    You need English tutions? Why don’t you take printouts of your blog post and flung it at your manager in pure Bollywood style? ๐Ÿ˜›

  7. Ashwathy says:

    Your English skills need improvement?? How come? The English on your blog seems fine. Unless you are using informal language in your office communication as well… unknowingly!

    Will you finally put up that post?? You’ve been mentioning it in so many comments in so many blogs, but doing nothing about it! ๐Ÿ™„

    And why on earth are you refusing to go out with your own husband??!!!

    • R's Mom says:

      no no..its more about writing reports properly ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      No I wont Ashwathy..till I have the guts to do it..will mail it to you ๐Ÿ™‚

      Because the man wants me to travel out of town with him!

  8. Okay starting with the last one…RM! It’s so sweet of RD to ask you on a date. You should go!

    As for your English…you should just have the person who complained come see your blog and they’ll have proof of how dumb they sound ๐Ÿ˜›

    And you are SO not a coward! I don’t really know much about him or why some people revered him and others didn’t, it’s just really sad the way those girls were treated. I would be scared after that too. So, you’re definitely NOT a coward!

  9. ashreyamom says:

    i love ur dont care attitude.. i wish i had that.. i get bugged when somebody says that, a particular dress is not suiting me, or youngsters have joined, i need to dress competitively.. etc etc.. be the way u are RM.. i am too with you, scared to write about the leader.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    hey, that was so sweet of RD, go na.. i am sure u r going to enjoy it.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. chaitali says:

    Hi Rm,
    I like you for what u are. and i don’t expect anything more from u..
    ppl who love you hv accepted the way u are.. and yes i don’t knw what’s da pt in refusing for a date? when ur father can take ur mom for a date at this age why not RD????

  11. My Era says:

    Love the idea of saying you have a 4 yr old daughter in a conspirational tone ๐Ÿ˜‰
    You sound soooo like me in this post.
    I too have been very upset ever since I have heard the news about Savita. It’s very upsetting in more ways than one.
    Don’t worry about the English bit dear, offices have a habit of pushing such refresher courses on everyone from time to time.
    Hugs dear

  12. Arey go for a date no.. your are married for 6 years but still refusing like you are still his girl friend ๐Ÿ™‚ Go.. go.. we will get to read about it na if you go?? ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. sudhagee says:

    No, no RM. This improving report writing skills is only a bahaana. Your reports are probably so good they want to make it dry and boring as most reports are supposed to me. Ask me, I edit them all the time and oscillate between wanting to cry and having very violent thoughts against the report writer. And these writers have all gone through workshops on report writing and what not.

    And for office colleagues and their perspectives, let me share an amusing incident with you. This happened about 10 years back. I don’t wear any make-up, the only exception being a lipstick rarely. Like once in a year or so. A friend had gifted me a lipstick and I really liked it so I started using it to work. Within a week, the results of the lipstick effect came in. My secretary walked in and announced, “I hope you know that you are getting married thanks to that lipstick.” ๐Ÿ™‚

    I know you don’t bother about what others say, but still reiterating it – you have to live with yourself not others. ๐Ÿ™‚

    As for that date, give RD a break and go for that date !

    • R's Mom says:

      LOL on that one…no I guess, I may have to improve some facets of writing..now searching for a tutor here ๐Ÿ™‚

      Gosh! seriously..thats so so funny

      You have a secretary..wow! I am so so impressed ๐Ÿ™‚

      that date will cause numbness of the bum because the guy wants to go out on a long drive ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  14. Sapna says:

    “the guy is asking his 6 year ki wife for a date” – that is so amazing and you are saying no. Not done…

    “I have come to a stage in life when I am completely comfortable with the way I look.” – That is just amazing!

  15. That sucks about the English language thing. I haven’t noticed that on the blog!

    Planning on writing a post about that and religion in general

    Heard about the leader thing and all I can say is ridiculous. When it’s something that happened due to natural causes, doesn’t make sense to shut down a whole city. But I don’t blame you for your fear. It’s unfortunate…freedom of speech is thwarted.

    Haha…you don’t “look” married…always made me wonder what you are supposed to do to look married!

    Go for the conference…it will be out of your comfort zone but it will get better. You have to do it gradually and expose yourself to this anxiety.

    Oh…and I know what you mean about wishing we felt this way about our bodies and ourselves a decade ago! On the bright side though, better late than never!

    • R's Mom says:

      oh please do..I am waiting to read that one ๐Ÿ™‚

      Well, in India you are supposed to at least wear a mangalsutra and sindoor if you are Hindu ๐Ÿ™‚

      Well, about the conference, I dont know rey PB,..honestly, I am scared ๐Ÿ™‚

      yes yes…definitely better late than never ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Smita says:

    I have a very simple fund for these things, I am ok with the way I look and if you don’t like how I look then you don’t have to look at me. Simble!!!! So a high five from me on your thoughts!!!

  17. I can understand exactly what you mean about not putting the post .. but dont worry , If you want to put it , I will stand by you …

    and noooooooooooooo why are you NO’ing , aisa nahin na karo.. listen sww the movie DATE NIGHT ๐Ÿ™‚ , it is hilarious and you will get the hint.. Dekho dekho ๐Ÿ™‚ and Excuse me here is a question..

    If not his wife.. WHO should he be asking for a DATE .. let me know I shall give the information to RD.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Pepper says:

    What is wrong with going for a date with your husband of 6 years? My parents still go on dates. I am assuming yours do too.

    Out of town jaana hai usko car main, toh jao! Tell your bum to cooperate.

  19. So sad to read about Savita and those girls, thanks for posting I wasn’t even aware of that.

  20. Scribby says:

    I for one declare that you are not dowdy, you look pretty because you love what you are and that’s all what makes the difference ๐Ÿ™‚ and the confidence with which you carry yourself is very rare…of not caring what others think, of just thinking what you want to wear ..basically being yourself yeah? my lovely pretty sister, muwah to you!

    And you better go out with RD okay? *Of course I’m pretty much his friend as I’m yours and I can change sides ๐Ÿ˜‰ *

  21. Swaram says:

    So with u on the comfort thingy ๐Ÿ˜› Smithu and I keep talking about that ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Go on that date na ๐Ÿ˜‰

  22. pixie says:

    I am so with you on the comfort clothes thingy! ๐Ÿ˜€
    I dress with comfort in mind – tight tight clothes are not my cup of tea! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    and I have been told many many times to get rid of my glasses and wear contacts because the glasses make me look serious! ๐Ÿ™„
    I love my glasses!!

    and yes, I keep hearing the – “you dont look married” thingy all the time! sigh! Been married for almost 7 yrs to the same man and I hear this! ๐Ÿ™„

    hugs! your English is fine!! Dont worry, attend the training, see if it confirms that you know more than they do ๐Ÿ˜‰
    And yea, go on that date na!

Leave a Reply

