Diwali Celebrations and Realisations – Goa Diaries – Part 3

okie, this one is the concluding part… Read part 1 (https://readingthroughrsmind.wordpress.com/2012/11/15/of-car-rides-and-devi-calling-and-diwali-holidays-part-1)

and part 2 (https://readingthroughrsmind.wordpress.com/2012/11/16/the-unexpected-stuff-and-confessions-of-a-reluctant-car-passenger-goa-diaries-part-2/)

and so we reached Appa’s house at about 12 in the afternoon..and then as soon as I went in, I saw Rahul, sitting on my brother’s lap..trust me, seeing your brother’s son on his lap, is one of the best sights in the world ever!

So, I quickly went to wash my hands, and *drumrolls, applause, crackers*, the kiddo came to me without crying..infact he was smiling..yipeeeeeeeeeeeeee.. (I am not stating the obvious that this one is a kiddo who NEVER cries, always smiles no matter who takes him and is never bugged) but hey, he didnt cry when I picked up…thats the main thing!

We had an amazing Diwali together…

Here are a few pictures of the Rangoli we made

Amma made the kolam, Bhabhi and I coloured it

Obviously this is R’s work…Appa made that Dragon Fly for her (She wanted a Dragon Fly because she saw one in the house!) and then the next one is a lotus (Blue) amma made for her!

We had a super duper Diwali..we went to a place called ‘Big Foot’ which features the Goan culture in a wonderful manner! and then had food in a spice garden (Appa lost the way and we did some kind of a Goa Darshan!) It was amazing

In the evening, I made pav bhaji while bhabhi, RD and R burnt some sparklers…

It was really nice and it was fun

Some observations

1. R was very taken by Rahul…she wanted to hold him, cuddle him, practically eat him…my heart was in my mouth most times the way she handled him…I must admit my brother and bhabhi are extremely nice people…the way she handled him..baap rey! I know its love, but its definitely scary love 🙂

2. R had two complaints with Rahul (1) He is always sleeping..jab mein awake hoon, toh woh sleeping hai, jab mein sleeping hoon, toh woh awake hai kyun Amma? (2) Woh jab dekho tab, uske amma ka milk peeta hai, kyun amma, mera biscuit kyun eat nahi kar raha?

3. Rahul is a wonderful child..he hardly cries, is content with his own toys and does not need his mother all the time! He crawls at the speed of light literally..leave him down for a second, and the next second, he is next to the chappals trying to fight them eh?

4. At my Amma’s place, we drink a lot of milk…a lot..dont ask me how, but we do *Rolls eyes*

5. Amma gets worried for the following reasons (1) No water (2) No milk!

6. RD feels we hardly went to Goa because we didnt go out to the beaches too much…My argument  – I go to my mom’s house to rest, not to travel around…this is going to be the issue if my parents continue to live in Goa  🙂

7. Everytime I go there, I feel I should stay in the campus forever..its gorgeous, its quiet, its lovely and its got so much space around!

8. I envy my parents’ garden..its superb..they grow amazingly lovely flowers, super duper plants, ginger, kadipatta, haldi, pudina, chillies, and what not…appa wants a vegetable garden, while Amma says the monkeys come and attack the veggies..so thats still the argument at home 🙂

9. R agreed to go to Ahm with bhaiya and bhabhi, she says she will stay with Rahul and go to the same school as my cousin’s kids…Gah! She always travelled with my bhabhi ALL THE TIME we went out..I want mami I want mami and I want mami! I better realise that my baby is grown up and doesnt need me all the time *Gives a scream of glee*

10. Appa left for Paris the day before we left and R was so so worried that my Amma was going to be alone…Amma, thode din idhar rahe thathi ke saath, woh akele kaise live karenge she told me!

11. All in all, a very memorable trip….

We returned on Saturday late night after leaving on Saturday morning…we didnt stop enroute anywhere, except for lunch…It was bad for my bum, but good we reached on Saturday evening..spent the Sunday trying to return to normalcy…everytime I go to my Amma’s place, I come back so so lazy, that life gets tough to get back to normal 🙂

Thats the concluding part of my series… 🙂

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Diwali Celebrations and Realisations – Goa Diaries – Part 3

  1. Jazz says:

    Wow loved the series RM. Sounds like you guys had lots of fun. And I like R’s rangoli. 🙂

  2. How wonderful that your parents live in Goa, RM!!You’ll get to go to Goa every now and then!!
    Amazing kolam!! And R’s rangoli is super duper.
    Loved your description of your parents’ garden. Why didn’t you put up their pics too?

    • R's Mom says:

      not now and then da..only once an year!

      Oh I didnt click any pictures..you know by now, how horrible I am at picture clicking na…yeh do bhi RD ne liya 🙂

  3. My Era says:

    Woooooooooooow! I read all the three parts in one go and now I soooooooo wanna go on a holiday like you.
    Glad to see you guys had a fantastic Diwali 😀
    P.S. – I love R’s artwork and mind you I too produce similar results if asked to make a rangoli.

  4. chipmunk says:

    trilogy over 🙂 🙂 happy that u had a gala time 🙂 R not found of babhi but little kid 🙂 yes 🙂 🙂 🙂 I can find t 🙂 that too her questions are not answerable 😀 😀 happy handling 🙂

  5. chipmunk says:

    between R coloring is good 🙂 🙂

  6. everytime I go to my Amma’s place, I come back so so lazy, that life gets tough to get back to normal 🙂 – I so so understand that! It is the same for me with every vacation. I take a couple of days to get back to normal.

    Your dad is going to Paris?! Wow!!

    I envy your parents’ garden too. It sounds amazing!!

    I melted at the descriptions of the love between R and Rahul. 😀 So cute! And R is so considerate of her thathi!! 🙂

    Going out or staying at home, relaxed, is always a debate when you go to your parents’ house. You are torn between the two desires. 🙂

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yaa..Appa is there for a couple of days for some project work from college 🙂

      so totally torn..actually not TGND, I prefer just staying at home..the spouse pakaos me into going out everytime 🙂

  7. uma says:

    wow..sounds like a super duper Diwali!!! loved the rangolis..hey you should post some snaps of your parents’ garden too..
    Getting to the routine must be so awful after a great holiday…and Sunday was virtually shut down there na..?

  8. Ashwathy says:

    Teach me how to make the rangoli so well na! 🙂 I have a hard time making sure it falls within the borders evenly 😛

    baap rey! I know its love, but its definitely scary love
    That’s what you must have been like with your brother (he is younger to you right?)!! 😛 Or vice versa. Just that you don’t remember it now! 😀 And besides, you don’t know it yet coz you are only now seeing R behaving with a younger one. If you had a younger one of your own, you know…you would know more about these things!! 😉 (ducks chappals thrown and runssss)

    Amma, thode din idhar rahe thathi ke saath, woh akele kaise live karenge she told me!
    Awww… she is growing up isn’t she? 🙂

  9. sjscribbles says:

    wow…one happy trip RM…So glad you’ll enjoyed it !

    I’m already counting my days for my India trip and mom’s home stay 🙂

  10. Arch says:

    What fun series you write, RM. I had a superb diwali too, went home, watched so much sun tv and ate truck loads of mithai. But, I can never write like you. R is too cute but being grown up is not a nice thing. Grown up life sucks. Really. I was a little girl too, drawing dragonflies in a faraway world.

    Your parents live in Goa??! Really * eyes pop out*

    • R's Mom says:

      oh you were in Chennai..how wonderful! I had truck loads of mithai and now suffering due to over indulgence on sweets gah!

      yaa..appa got a job as prof at a campus so they are enjoying in Goa 🙂 moved there two years ago from baroda 🙂

  11. chattywren says:

    loved reading all 3 parts with the drama and adventure bits. One Diwali you are going to always remember! Kids are fascinated by babies, aren’t they? I took mine to a toy shop and both have chosen baby dolls!!?? to take home.

  12. Smitha says:

    What super fun!

    Rahul sounds like such a cute munchkin! I can imagine why R couldn’t keep her hands off him 🙂

    Goa and it’s beaches – can’t blame RD 🙂 Husband has been going on about going on a beach holiday. He is not even bothered about going to meet his parents -all he wants is to go to Goa 🙂

    Your parents’ garden sounds wonderful! I wish I had the space to grow stuff like this!

    R is such a sweetheart, and such a senstive, loving child! Pass on my huge, huge hugs to her, ok?

  13. Smita says:

    lol @ R’s complains 🙂

    You know when we go visiting my Mom My hubby wants to venture in the city & I want to relax at home because I also feel main ghoomne nahin Mummy ke paas aayi hoon 🙂

    And yes staying with Mom’s just makes you plain simple lazy!!!

    Sigh! U cud have stopped at my place during the return trip but on the hindsight its good u didn’t stop because at least u reached safely long before the whole Bal T thing began 🙂

    • R's Mom says:

      Thank God there are other people who feel like me 🙂

      I guess you are right…I just was glad to reach home safe…we should meet up rey…will msg you 🙂

  14. sandhya says:

    Know all about difficulty coming back to the normal routine after visiting parents. I feel as if I’ve come back to an alien place when I get back after a visit to Mumbai.

    And even I leave A with my sis-in-law (brother’s wife) and gallivant around town when I’m there. After her parents, her mami is the one she is closest to.

  15. ashreyamom says:

    loved the kolam.. so where are pics of \rahul?? yup coming back from parents makes us lazy.. 🙂

  16. Amit says:

    That was a super duper lovely Diwali celebration. And go to some beaches once in a while. Try paragliding if you haven’t done it already. 🙂 You will love it.

  17. meenamenon says:

    everytime I go to my Amma’s place, I come back so so lazy, that life gets tough to get back to normal

    So true! true! true!

  18. Swaram says:

    How awesome RM 🙂 Can’t wait to go to Maa’s place and laze around without bothering about the milkman, the maid , the cooking etc.. etc.. 😛

  19. Sreetama says:

    Lovely! 🙂 You are so lucky that you can be in Goa whenever you want! Awwww at Rahul & R! 🙂 The rangolis are very nice & cute!

  20. Sumana says:

    That was a lovely update RM. I love that veggie garden. Love going to amma’s place even if it is for a day’s break. It is just plain relaxing, no spa or resort can give you that luxury.

  21. shail says:

    So sweet R asking Thathi akele live karenge! She is so concerned!

  22. anisnest says:

    a nice roundup.. mom’s place or even mom’s visit makes us so lazy na.. I cant wait for amma to arrive here in another 2.5 months.. started counting the days already.. 🙂

  23. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Loved the posts RM… Was down sick and did not come to work for the past couple of days so could not reply to your posts till now.
    Great to know that you had a great vacation at your mom’s place (Sigh!) and R seems to have enjoyed Rahul’s company a lot. Did she not ask you about the baby bro/sis she wants??

  24. Sujatha says:

    I read all the three parts today.. It was like watching a RajiniKanth movie… awww…u had so much fun at ur amma’s place.. Im really really jealous of you…
    My muahhhs to R.. Take care RM…

  25. Love that Rangoli and glad to hear you had great time with family and now you are back to hectic life..Hugs dear!!

Leave a Reply

