The Unexpected Stuff and Confessions of a Reluctant Car Passenger – Goa Diaries – Part 2

Read Part 1 here (https://readingthroughrsmind.wordpress.com/2012/11/15/of-car-rides-and-devi-calling-and-diwali-holidays-part-1/)

and so…

We are waiting for the car guy to call us to let us know when the car would get ready..

In the meantime, we were frustrated, RD was even more frustrated, R had given up hope..and RM..well RM was in zen state…(NOT!) imagine wanting a break badly, wanting to go to her parents house after an year and imagine NOT being able to go 😦

Anyways, in all that frustration, the man in the house decides he wants to visit a temple to ask God to get the car get ready faster πŸ˜‰

We say hello to the God and then I suddenly remembered a Khadi Fest happening nearby..

So at 12.30 in the afternoon in the hot summer (winter in Bombay gah!) sun, the three of us board the scooty and go to the exhibition

RM: we are not buying anything

RD: Then why are we going

RM: Do you have anything better to do ?

RD: Errr…

RM: Gah!

so we go there…and we first buy a couple of earrings for me and one elephant for Rahul and errr..nothing for R…

We decide to go out..and then…then..I see this Bamboo ka sofa…Click, I get reminded of Sangi’s blog where she had featured a lot of her house stuff…and then I called RD to look at it..its big enough to seat big people like us and it looks really nice…What say ? I ask RD

and then that guy who is selling it in the exhibition comes and starts his sales pitch..RD and I are impressed and even more impressed by the fact that he offered water to R when she was getting cranky πŸ™‚ and then, we just bought it…go figure..from buying nothing to ending up buying a really really expensive Sofa set…we paid the advance..told the guy to deliver it next Sunday and then we walked out

As RD sat on the two wheeler, he started laughing..aloud…I thought the combination of the heat plus the fact that he spent a lot of money just gave him some kind of a hysterical mood..

RM: Kya hua rey

RD: RM, we must be the only people on earth who go into an exhibition ‘just to browse’ and end up buying a sofa set that costs half our salary

RM: !!!!

Anyways, its done..if it looks good in our house, I will put up some pictures

And then we came home…and ate our lunch

As we were lazing around, RD’s phone rang

RD: Kya, ho gaya car?

R and I screamed so loudly that RD thought something happened πŸ™‚

In 2 minutes (I exaggerate not!) we were ready to leave..didnt I mention I had the kitchen clean the last night!

We left..took a rick filled it with 5 luggages (Dont judge, we were going to my parents house for ahem! a week!!) and then went to the car garage

Boarded the car and off we went πŸ™‚

Yes yes…at 2.30 in the afternoon…in the blazing sun of Bombay..we are definitely nuts! but R’s enthusiasm was so much, that we really didnt have a choice πŸ™‚

As soon as we tried to get out of Bombay, we got stuck in a major major jam..guess the whole of Bombay was trying to get out of Bombay πŸ™‚

We just didnt have a choice…we waited and waited…R got tired and went off to sleep..

We finally reached the Pune expressway after THREE HOURS! yes, three bloody hours to get out of Bombay…I swear I am quitting this place for sure soon!

Few observations as a reluctant traveller

1. I wonder how people can travel for so long sitting at one position…my bum is definitely protesting…by a. growing bigger and b. by going numb

2. I dont have any patience for traffic..I was getting frustrated just sitting next to RD and I am wondering how the guy was driving through that traffic..it was horrible honestly…

3. We went overboard stocking up junk food for ourselves…

4. I cant imagine driving for so long…It was so so tiring..I really admire people who travel long distances by road

5. The bus and truck drivers – a big big salute…I would NEVER ever do their job, I swear!

6. Night driving – I am definitely NOT a fan, though RD was pretty cool driving through the highway to Kolhapur..we took a halt there overnight…We reached there at 11 in the night and I swear, I was so so tired that my eyes were closing by themselves, if RD wasnt in his senses, I dont know how we would have reached that place!

7. Navigation – I am the worst navigator EVER! RD wanted me to record the kms, time, etc etc on a piece of paper which he had even printed out the way he wanted it, and I couldnt do it..we ended up in a big fight in the car because I lost the pen *rolls eyes* I couldnt record anything! I tried doing it with R’s crayons which resulted in even bigger a fight!

8. I got worried every time RD overtook someone..RD feels at this rate, I can never be a good passenger!

Next day morning at Kolhapur, we were just plain lucky

1. We got up at about 5ish and reached the temple at about 6ish..we got an aarti and absolutely amazing darshan!

2. One man came as God to us, he took us into the temple, showed us where to give the prasad, where to give the oodhni, and how to get out..we dont know who he is..he just came, helped and went away

3. The locals are the only ones who were there so early in the morning and they were amazing people..smiling and helpful

4.Some old uncle came and just put some prasad in my hand and told me to give it to my daughter…I was so flabbergast that I didnt even have time to react

5. All this proves, goodness still exists in this world πŸ™‚

and so we went ahead, and reached Goa at about 12ish in the afternoon πŸ™‚

Next post – Meeting Rahul, Diwali Celebrations and Laziness in the air…Thats the concluding one okie?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to The Unexpected Stuff and Confessions of a Reluctant Car Passenger – Goa Diaries – Part 2

  1. haashhh finally!!! your post is up & you reached Goa…
    I feel pain in my bum while sitting in train for 45 minutes continuously.. I can so imagine sitting for long hours dear…
    You find good people where ever you go.. I guess you yourself are so good that good people get attracted to you πŸ™‚

  2. The Bride says:

    I am with on sitting in a car over long distances… driving is even more painful, I would think. I just do not get road trips. I like “drives” which last about an hour. That’s it.

    But if you ever do decide to drive to Goa again, there is a very nice hotel in Chiplun. Also, there is this village called Rajapur where we stayed overnight when our tyre came off once where the mangoes are awesome.

    • R's Mom says:

      Exactly! but RD loves long drives…I wonder why we didnt discuss this when we met each other for the first time…I am definitely advising people planning for arranged marriages to confirm if their future spouses like to travel by car!

      oh it is…thanks rey..I will let RD know about it..or wait, may be not, then he would want to take another ride JUST FOR THIS!

  3. Ah, very interesting post! So, that’s how you finally got to Goa!
    I have a similar story to tell about my Pondy trip. πŸ™‚
    BTW I have no clue why you aren’t able to comment on my Pondy post. 😦 Could you please try again?

  4. Amit says:

    Wow! Good that you finally got the car and reached Goa.
    And that ‘we are not buying anything’ line is very misleading. It basically means that tragedy is around the corner. πŸ™‚

  5. sandhya says:

    RM, Charles Dickens wrote most of his books in serial format. He wrote a column for a newspaper, and one chapter would be published every week/ fortnight. People would wait eagerly for the next episode.

    You should consider this an alternate career.

    Wonderful. You have the ability for the reader to think- phir kya hua?

    • R's Mom says:

      LOL you are so so funny…Charles Dickens kidhar and mein kidhar πŸ™‚ I read about Charles Dickens style of writing when I was doing some research on him for Amma…that was wonderful na πŸ™‚

  6. meenamenon says:

    I like this travelogue! But err why no mention of the highway food.. thts the best part of a road trip for me πŸ™‚

  7. //I thought the combination of the heat plus the fact that he spent a lot of money just gave him some kind of a hysterical mood..// hehehe RM you are too funny πŸ˜€
    //my bum is definitely protesting…by a. growing bigger and b. by going numb// ROFL!!
    //5. All this proves, goodness still exists in this world // True!!Nothing brings that home more than these random acts of kindness from complete strangers.

  8. Ashwathy says:

    We finally reached the Pune expressway after THREE HOURS! yes, three bloody hours to get out of Bombay…
    Yes I know. Been there done that. Got stuck while travelling out of Bombay to Lavasa on a Friday evening… and that had been to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. 😐 Sigh… We reached Lavasa at 1am !! πŸ™„

    I can understand your bum growing numb, but please do NOT make excuses about your bum growing BIGGER!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    I think the reception you got at Kolhapur was worth the effort you took to get there, isn’t it? πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      hai ma…so so long to LAVASA! Cant imagine at all!

      Errr…no excuse..did you know that sitting in one position for a long time, increases the bum size gah!

      yes, I agree πŸ™‚ they were wonderful people

  9. sjscribbles says:

    ok…Waiting for Part -3 !

  10. Sreetama says:

    Your life is so dramatic RM! Really! Great to know the updates! Why didn’t you buy anything for R? Bolo bolo! Ok I guess the sofa set is for her! When it arrives, she should be the first one to sit on it along with her toys & let you guys wait!!! πŸ˜› Looking forward to the next part!

  11. Sangitha says:

    Picture, picture, pretty please? Am sure this will be a real nice sofa set.

    Don’t know how you do it – am a very bad car traveller in India. Loved long rides, countryside….operative tense – past!

    Hope you get back ok in the current scenario, can’t believe such a big city is held hostage like this!

    • R's Mom says:

      yes yes…will definitely post pictures…RD sends his thanks as well πŸ™‚

      I am working from home today…R’s daycare and school both are closed 😦

  12. Sumana says:

    Wait some more before the bum complains haan, you have to travel back in the car na… RD laughing loudly, man that was hilarious. I can so imagine that situation i have landed into many times and get laughed at..

  13. I love driving πŸ™‚ Drove from Chandigarh to Ahemedabad on way to Mumbai.. on a Motorbike , yes me and my little brother and NO we are not idiots … πŸ™‚

    and As Aswathy above said EXCUSES πŸ™‚ he he he he he ..

    here in uk too, anywhere I have to go , I prefer using my own car rather than a train or something .. and you know the plan for 2014, yes still more than a year away 15 months away.. the plan is , to Drive from UK to guess guess … yesssssssssssssss chandigarh punjab πŸ™‚ OH YES its happening god willing … 4 weeks of pure pleasureeeeeeeeeeeeee….

  14. Smita says:

    Happy Diwali πŸ™‚

    – Congrats for the sofa!! Once I did that…bole to had gone to buy a MP3 player (discman?) and ended up buying a big philips ka music system….just like that hehehehe….

    – I want photos of Sofa & of Goa nahin to I am not commenting here again. Sacchi main!!!

    – Waiting for more updates πŸ™‚

    – I also hate long road journey’s. They are not just worth it. Too much tension and no comfort.

  15. Nithvin says:

    That must been some Diwali RM! So glad you were able to make it to Goa!
    Since I read both the posts together, commenting for both of them here. The Indian Railways actually makes profit in crores because of cancellations every year. And we keep joking that a major chunk of that goes from our family. Why? We have NEVER travelled without making one cancellation or the other till now. We usually book multiple tickets on various days for one single journey. Don’t ask me why!
    Just loved reading about your ‘flight to Goa’ πŸ˜€ LOL on your ‘bum’ observations.Even I can’t sit for too long in one place without the bums going numb. And I want to see the pics of that sofa set in your house. So please put it up, ok?

  16. Im sooo glad that i read both posts today. The previous post was so cruelly left halfway. Wouldve tortured me enough to call and ask u!
    U not back yet?hope the goa weather will help ease ur nasty cold and the laziness will improve the general health…

    And we want to know how R is treating Rahul..

  17. anisnest says:

    woww we feel so good when some random unknown person offers help at temples na? goodness definitely exists with people like you RM.. enjoy your stay at amma’s place.. can’t wait to read about Rahul’s antics.. have a safe trip back.. take care

  18. Jazz says:

    Cool, we love road trips you know. And that sofa set sounds good, waiting for the pic.

    I’m liking these travelogues RM. Have fun !!

  19. Swaram says:

    Wow super-awesome – the shopping, the darshan everything πŸ™‚
    Waiting for the next part!

  20. I thought the combination of the heat plus the fact that he spent a lot of money just gave him some kind of a hysterical mood: I laughed crazy at this, good that I am reading this post from home πŸ™‚

    You guys were so spirited to get into the Car and hit Goa, I can so understand how much you all were waiting for this moment.

    Have lot of fun dear, hope you had great Diwali with parents πŸ™‚

  21. Pingback: Diwali Celebrations and Realisations – Goa Diaries – Part 3 | R's Mom

  22. Smitha says:

    So you guys got the car, finally πŸ™‚

    ‘We finally reached the Pune expressway after THREE HOURS! yes, three bloody hours to get out of Bombay…’ – Been there, done that. This was our story everytime we took the car out in London. It would take us ages to just get out of the city, and it would have me cursing husband for refusing to use the wonderful public transport. And to add to that, I cannot even read in the car, I’m too busy applying breaks and changing gears(in my mind of course, and my feet move as if they are the ones driving :))

    As for impulse shopping – been there done that too πŸ™‚

    Having said that, I like road trips in the UK – it is much more comfortable, and once we left London – it was wonderful! We done some fun trips – some with scenic routes, which took us the whole day, but fun it was.

    • R's Mom says:

      hai ma…is that true for London!I thought it was only Bombay!

      LOL on feet moving..happens to me..RD keeps telling RM brake mat laga koi farak nahi padega πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

