Of Car Rides and Devi Calling and Diwali Holidays – Part 1

Warning: Long long long post ahead..read at your own risk

The past week was horribly hectic for me..well I already cribbed about it eh?

But I had decided I was going to take the Diwali week lightly..since R’s daycare was closed, we had decided to go to Goa to my parents house πŸ™‚

Some months ago (did you know that you have to book tickets 90 days in advance now for the trains) RD had booked the tickets for Friday night (9th Nov) to Goa..so the plan was, we board the train on Friday and reach on Saturday morning..my bro, bhabhi and Rahul were going to join in as well…basically a family Diwali πŸ™‚

But the R family being the R family, had to change plans na…didnt you know the Indian Railways makes that little bit of profit thanks to the zillions of cancellations and bookings that we do..

anyways I digress. So RD inspired by a lot of people including some blogs that he reads, decided to embark on a ROAD trip to Goa..from Bombay……he started putting forth his proposal about 2 months ago..telling me how wonderful it is…quoting movies like Dil Chahata Hai and Zindagi Na Mile Dobara..and finally provoking the vows of marriage of in sickness and in health, in travel and in cars..etc etc..you get the drift eh?

anyways, so finally he caught me at a vulnerable position and I agreed to that road trip! and so it was decided we leave at 3 in the morning on the 10th Saturday and reach by 10th night to Goa..

Friday night at 9:

RD: I still have my packing left

RM: Tell me something new

R: I am going to Goa

RD: yes tomorrow morning, but RM right now, I am going for a haircut

RM: When will you pack

RD: Arey ho jayega

R: I am going to Goa

RD: yes tomorrow morning, also RM, I will go and fill petrol in the car and come

RM: NOW?

R: I am going to Goa

RD: yes tomorrow morning, arey then when will I go?

RM: Whatever

R: I am going to Goa

Did you notice the brat’s single track mind?

Anyways, so RD goes to whatever, and then I clean up the kitchen spic and span, put a cloth over the stove and the phone rings

RD: RM, the car stopped

RM: WHAT?

RD: Well, the car is not starting, I am at the petrol pump, can you come with my phone?

RM: Errr…yes yes

and so R and I take the bike and go to RD..where the man is standing looking in total despair at a car which is supposed to take him on a 604 km journey tomorrow but refusing to start today 😦

Finally, at 10 in the night, he gets it towed to the garage..and we are wondering how we are going to go to Goa

at 11 in the night

R: I am going to Goa

RD: I dont know beta

R is stunned at the change of reply…and she starts crying..we cajole her to sleep

We are disappointed…my parents, being my parents, come up with bizzare ideas..no wait, thats my dad

Appa: RM, you HAVE to come, I want to meet you all

RM: yes Appa

Appa: Do one thing, get a flight tomorrow

RM: Errr..its very expensive Appa

Appa: So what, I will sponsor you

RM: Appa, its 12 K a ticket

Appa: Well, you just got your bonus eh?

RM: yaa Appa

Appa: okie, try and book tatkal train ticket

RM: You know its tough na Appa

Appa: Get the bus get the bus

RM: Appaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Appa: Gah! I want you guys here

RM:!!!!!

Next door aunty gets scared to hear R’s voice the next day morning at 7 AM

Aunty: what happened what happened? I knew you young children would get up late…didnt I tell you to leave early to avoid the sun..

RD: Errr..aunty, the car got stalled

Aunty:WHAT?

RD: yes aunty..abhi what to do?

Aunty: Do one thing, leave a bit late as soon as you get the car, stop at Kolhapur and visit the Devi temple…she is supposed to be very powerful

RD: I told RM today morning, aunty, but she doesnt want to go to any temples

Aunty: RM, its a beautiful temple

RM: well..aunty..welll!

and so we decided to leave as soon as the car came..but but…

Well continued in the next post eh?

PS – Wishing you guys a very very Happy Diwali and superb Bestu Varash and a dhamakedar Bhai Phota πŸ™‚Β 

PS -1 = Next post will be up tomorrow pakka

PS -2 – Am still chilling in Goa, go on get jealous πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Of Car Rides and Devi Calling and Diwali Holidays – Part 1

  1. uma says:

    hey what a thriller movie type Diwali Dhamaka you guys had…and what nonsense of part 2…write the part 2 now! I can’t take the suspense..
    btw, Happy Diwali! πŸ™‚

  2. Aditya says:

    You cannot be leaving us in such a suspense!

    PS > And chilling in Goa
    PS1> Enjoy!

  3. chipmunk says:

    :O too bad 😦 but good for u to have a ahramse time for yourself πŸ™‚

  4. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Wow RM! Nice to see such a cheerful post from you!! Im seriously jealous that you are still enjoying in Goa..
    Anyway eager to know more, so better post the next episode of your travel tale tomorrow!!

  5. Batao.. itna sab happening-happening bata kar yeh toh suspense create kar diya RM…
    can’t wait to read next post..
    have fun in Goa πŸ™‚

  6. ashreyamom says:

    hmmmm waiting for 2nd part.. arey u should made the next part release today evening only na.. πŸ™‚
    happy diwali..

  7. Shweta says:

    This was not at all a long post.. forget about Long long long post.. πŸ˜›
    and u need to tell the whole story.. come on.. u cant leave us in the middle wondering how u reached Goa and all..

    Peeeezzzz Peeeezzzzzzzz peeeeeeeeeeeezzzz.. put up the conti wala post sooner na.. πŸ˜‰

    • R's Mom says:

      sorry was busy yesterday doing nothing hehehehe πŸ™‚ arey I first thought I will write the entire story, but then got too tired, thats why the disclaimer

  8. Gah! I am so jealous! We were supposed to go to Goa for Diwali, but had to cancel our plans since we didn’t get tickets – neither the regular tickets nor in Tatkal. Ending up driving to Pondicherry instead. That was a lot of fun, though. πŸ™‚

    Happy Diwali to the R family! πŸ™‚

  9. sjscribbles says:

    Happy Diwali RM !
    Arrey Suspense movie hai kya ! Part 2 -??? Release it ASAP ! How did you all get to GOA ?
    Enjoy your mom’s home visit RM ! Parents home visit is such a pleasure πŸ™‚

  10. The Bride says:

    Haha, what drama and suspense! I don’t think the idea of driving to Goa is so crazy, hahn, since that’s the only way I’ve been to Goa between the age of 12 and 22. But as a result I have decided that road trips are not for me.

  11. Vidya says:

    Evil! You had to end you post without telling what happened and on top of that have the gumption to tell us that you are in Goa right now! hmpf! Evil, evil! And then I have to google for Bestu Varash, Bhai Phota and all that! So much work and you are holiday-ing in Goa?!!

  12. yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy… so you made it to goa then as you are chilling there πŸ™‚

    I hope you stopped on the way at the temple to get that power πŸ™‚

    have fun RM , enjoy your days off .. hope you had a great diwali

  13. Trish says:

    Happy Diwali,RM! and waiting for the next part πŸ™‚

  14. anisnest says:

    this is totally unfair lady… we know that you can post daily.. now suprise us with an hourly post esp. as you are still chilling at Goa and cannot claim to be busy.. Let me come back and check in one hour..

  15. Jazz says:

    Ohh I’m so J.. Anyway, wish you guys a very very happy Diwali RM.. πŸ™‚

  16. Smitha says:

    Waiting to read the next part. Since you are in Goa, I guess we can safely assume that you reached – car or no car πŸ™‚ And I LOVE R’s singleminded focus on the most important fact – that she is going to Goa πŸ™‚

  17. Pingback: The Unexpected Stuff and Confessions of a Reluctant Car Passenger – Goa Diaries – Part 2 | R's Mom

  18. Amit says:

    Oh! I am biting my nails! What suspense! πŸ™‚
    You still in Goa? Yesterday Geet and I were talking that it has ben a year since we went to Goa, how times flies, sigh and all that.
    Hope you had a wonderful Diwali!

    • R's Mom says:

      LOL on still being in Goa..yes yes..still here..but one thing, my Goa trips are unlike the usual ones people take…we dont go to the sea and stuff..we just chill at home πŸ˜‰

  19. sandhya says:

    Wonderful reading, RM. Can’t wait to read the next post.

    And tell me about one track minds!

  20. Ashwathy says:

    Oh my God!! U cannot even undertake a single trip with the usual adjacent drama, can you!! πŸ™„ Sigh……….

    Love your Appa’s insistence of making you reach Goa, come hell or high water! πŸ˜€ He’s such a sweetie pie!

  21. deepM says:

    Happy Diwali RM!

    Waiting for your next post. πŸ™‚

  22. Swaram says:

    Wow this does not feel like a long post at all, come on RM!:P

  23. Such a dramatic moments RM, I am glad I didn’t have to wait for Part2 πŸ™‚

  24. Pingback: Diwali Celebrations and Realisations – Goa Diaries – Part 3 | R's Mom

  25. Pingback: Diwali Celebrations and Realisations – Goa Diaries – Part 3 | R's Mom

Leave a Reply

