Singing All The Way?

watch?v=lRRCo9ySmnU&list=UUPDfcPKbr5JZs9qPEkefAhw&index=1&feature=plcp

R: Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Ga Ni Sa

RM : Pa GA illa R, its Pa Dha,  I told her, as R and I were sitting and pretending to sing

So she starts again...Pa GHA Ni Sa

R, I say exasperated..its Pa DHA..dha, as in Dha

okie Amma, and starts again ‘Sa Re Ga Ma Pa GHA Ni Sa’

I give up. and then I realise it really doesnt matter. At 4, she can afford to make her own song.

Afterall, I, at 31, am still singing my version of the Song called motherhood eh?

Parenthood is for a lifetime..honestly I have realised that..whether your child is 2, 22, 33, 111..a parent is a parent is a parent…

My Amma worries about me the same way I worry about R..and she is as incompetent in singing as I am..but for the song of life called motherhood, she is my rockstar..and well, the brat did tell me that ‘I am her rockstar’ eh? So definitely the song for life na 🙂

When did this singing start?

Was it, when I first heard R’s scream as she came out? THE song of my life?

or was it, when I heard her whimper for the first time as she was brought to me 6 hours after delivery for want of milk? Was

that MY song for life?

or wait, may be it was the first time, I heard her gurgle in laughter? That definitely WAS my song for life eh?

When I think back, do I say the first time I heard her say ‘Amma’ in her singsong kiddish voice when she turned 10 months…was that the song for life for me?

Or was it when she sang her first rhyme without my help..will that be my song for life..or was it when we said our first prayer together? or wait, may be its the first song we sang together…? (which was tu hai aasma mein)

Motherhood, I must admit, has not been easy for me. I am just not a maternal person. Whether it was the delivery or the post delivery care or even now, whether its making her sit and write her alphabets, it doesnt come easy to me.

Patience is a virtue I lack, and patience is what makes 99% of a parent!

But I  have realised, that the best way to tackle motherhood is to treat is as a song…

But me, well, I am just blessed with a brat who knows what keys to play with me.

does it mean, our relation is perfect? no, its far from that. We play our songs of tantrums and fights, we also play our songs of cuddles and kisses..

We have our special songs of hugs and we definitely have our songs of major screaming sessions..but they are our special songs..songs in which sometimes even the father gets left out…

While most mothers say motherhood is the most blessed thing that happened to them, I would admit, for me its a challenge..challenge in every step..

It was then scary to have a tiny being so dependent on you for everything..from nourishment to cleanliness..and it is scary now because the tiny being now has her opinions..and this I am sure is going to continue at the rate at which she is 4 going on 14 🙂

But we sure plan to keep the singing going on and on….

Yesterday morning I told her, R sing a song for me and she said

tu hai aasma mein, teri yeh zamin hai
tu jo hai to sabkuch hai, nah koi kami hai
tu hi dil hai, tu bhi jaan bhi hai
tu khushi hai, aarasa bhi hai
aur aap meri amma hai 🙂

Definitely signing up for the song for life..yipeeeeeee

This is an entry for Womensweb’s contest (http://www.womensweb.in/articles/motherhood-a-song-for-life-contest/)…Phew I made it! I havent missed a single contest yet 🙂

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Singing All The Way?

  1. My Era says:

    Parenthood is indeed the song of life ….yes, a parent is always a parent!
    Good luck for the contest!

  2. Awesome RM. Lovely post. When i thought of participating in his contest and i read HHGs post i thought i can no way compete with her experience and expertise so i backed off…
    But this post is written so well that the lack of experience really doesnt matter here
    The feeling of being a mom and how the child makes a mom is well expressed. Like they say a mother is born when the child is born…

  3. well you said it parent is a parent no matter how big the child gets 🙂

    and that is such a beautiful song by R ..

  4. Lovely post, RM! Loved reading it. Beautifully written. 🙂

    All the very best for the contest!!

    Appreciate your honest opinion about motherhood, and saying that it is a challenging task for you. I am a mix of practical and emotional, and have the feeling it would be the same for me.

    Loved the song that R sung for you, especially the last line. 😀

    The brat says that you are her rockstar, eh? How cute!!

  5. Sreetama says:

    Awwww! Such a heart warming post RM! Every stage melted my heart. I totally agree with you on the part where you mentioned that no matter what age your child is, you always worry about him/her. I’ve seen my grand mother worry about my mother the same way that she does for me! Motherhood is indeed a beautifully melodious song! Happy singing!

    P.S: All the best for the contest! 🙂

  6. Jazz says:

    Wonderful !! 🙂

  7. RM, your post brought tears to my eyes! 🙂

  8. Arch says:

    WOW. RM, thanks so much for that link. The video is lovely. I think, the song goes on all through life. A new one each moment. I have sent the video to amma 🙂 Hope she likes it!

  9. Ashwathy says:

    Love this post. Period 🙂

  10. Aditya says:

    I’m seeing one such relationship between a family friend and her daughter too… Little daughters are damn cute, aren’t they? – especially because they express their emotions so lovingly 🙂

    And all the best with the contest!

  11. Smita says:

    awww! She really sang that song? wow!!!

    And yes like u motherhood doesn’t come naturally to me but I am loving every moment of it 🙂

  12. Nivedita says:

    amazing 🙂

  13. sjscribbles says:

    Awesome RM ! Sounds so straight from the heart ! Liked the way that it is so much associated with the title ….So Apt RM!

  14. Swaram says:

    Awww what an apt song she brought up there. Muahs to R 🙂
    And yay to U for not missing even a single contest 😀

  15. NBose says:

    If I had been in the panel of judges would have declared this post as sure shot winning entry without even reading others!!
    loved the post….R is an adorable darling….quite smarty pants 🙂
    I missed commenting on your previous posts…reading them post festive hectic days 😀

  16. Pepper says:

    “aur aap meri amma hai ” – How truly touching 🙂 Beautifully expressed, RM.

  17. Amit says:

    This is such a lovely post R’s mom. 🙂
    And yes, you are right. We will always remain kids for our parents. Even though I have lived on my own for 5 years, my Mom still gets tense when she has to leave us for a week to attend a wedding. 😐

  18. ashreyamom says:

    such a lovely post.. all the best for the contest RM..

  19. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Agree, agree and totally agree on that! Yes Parenthood is a song, albeit a difficult one. I still say Parenthood is the best thing that has happened to me but its just not a joke. I have screamed like anything at my son and have had days when I have literally gone mad. But the hugs, and the way my son rubs tiger balm if I say I have back pain is enough to compensate everything else for me. I can sense that unique bond running between us, and how nowadays my son senses my moods and behaves! Maybe he is more mature than me!!
    It’s such a heart warming post RM!

  20. Sujatha says:

    this is such a sweet post.. Good luck to u on the contest..
    I was so touched by the line ‘aur aap meri amma hai’ ..May GOD bless R 🙂

  21. Nidaa says:

    “parent is a parent no matter how big the child gets”…- Sweetly exasperating or exasperingly sweet!
    “YES Mom, I knowwwww”
    “For Gods sake, im 26. I knowww”
    – Battle never ends 😀

  22. Deeps says:

    What a beautiful beautiful post, RM! Awwwww the last line in the song that R added…so so sweet and touching to the core!
    Parenting is a song for life, indeed!

    All the best for the contest 🙂
    Hugs!

  23. Vidya says:

    Yaay to the adorable mommy, to her adorable daughter, to this beautiful post:)

  24. Shadia says:

    “a parent is a parent is a parent…”
    So true, I’m 35 and a mother of 3 kids, but given a chance my Mom still manages to make me feel like a 5 year old. And the funny thing is I feel nice about it, the thought of having someone who cares for you unconditionally. And I guess I’ll be doing the same thing with my trio years from now.

Leave a Reply

