Achievements over the Weekend

1. Posted three T shirts..trust me one of them was done in August or something…Finally went to a post office and got them speed posted *Looks so totally proud* Now I learnt that painting T shirts is the easy part, posting them requires too much effort!

2. Saw a movie in a theatre WITHOUT RD! Yep thats definitely an achievement…one – because its a movie in a theatre and two its without RD 🙂 this has never happened before…oh for the sake of records – It was English Vinglish and I must admit, I loved it…it may have its moments of craziness, but overall I loved the movie..and if my daughter turns out to be anything like Sridevi’s daughter in the movie, I would be so so sad 😦

And after a long time, I actually cried in a movie..darn! its so embarrassing 😦 and upar se, I wear specs…do you know how difficult it is to wipe tears putting your hand through your specs in such a way that the person sitting next to you does not suspect that you are crying…very tough indeed!

3. Came home and slept for two hours…without R…which meant no kicking 🙂

4. Went to the temple on Saturday after a long time..picked up R and then came back home…figured out what google hangout is all about *Looks proud* without RD’s help..yipeeeeeee

5. Got up at 5.30 in the morning and went walking with a friend in a park..we did officially 2.1 kilometres..good part is that the effort for training for the Bombay Marathon has started..the bad part is, the body is screaming silently but effectively about the lack of exercise! we plan to meet up every Sunday :):)

6. RD got bitten..very very badly infact…by that darn thing he otherwise escapes for 364 days an year…
by the cleanliness bug…and so much so that we cleaned the windows, fans, balcony, got the plants in shape…and cleaned the swami shelf before mahalaya amavasya…*looks proud*

Now our house resembles a hospital undergoing renovation with all the pillows striped of covers and sofa devoid of cover..well its at least better than resembling Howrah station eh?

7. cleaned R’s and my shelf…and I threw away 15 t shirts…of mine..I kid not…shirts I know I will never fit into..shirts I know are faded beyond wear..gave them away to the garbage lady who looked at me as if Christmas came early for her 🙂

8. Bought a chaniya choli for R *Pats RD and self on the back* our first buy of a traditional garment for her…only to come home and realise that there is absolutely no connection between the colour of the chunni and the chaniya choli..but hey, its a good start eh?

That was my weekend, what did you achieve over your weekend?

=

ETA: Also achieved, reading to R, her first non-picture, novelish book which had ten chapters..and she didnt get bored, neither asked me to not read …well well. it did have some pictures, but mostly I was reading..and we finished the book in 2 days (keeping the bookmark ahem ahem in place!)..and started re-reading again this morning…dont know how long it will last, but hey, its a record worthy event…Thanks Smitha 🙂

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Achievements over the Weekend

  1. sandhya says:

    Patting R’s Mom on the back too…

    *runs away before being chased away by RM with cleaning zaadu in hand*

  2. Shweta says:

    Movie without RD.. 😮 How did that happen…
    I cry and Laugh all the time in the movie.. (as per the scene demands of course) without thinking what the person sitting next to me would be wondering about me.. Oh Come on.. I paid to Cry and Laugh.. then why bother.. 😉

    Chaniya Choli for R.. wow.. and so what if the color doesn’t match.. Contrast is in Fashion these days.. Check out few models on the Ramp.. 😀

    Cleanliness Bug. I am sure I will be bitten by it soon.. 😉

    • R's Mom says:

      oh well, this friend of mine and I decided to watch it, RD had to go somewhere, so we ended watching the movie without him 😉

      Oh is contrast in fashion, but the problem my darling, is that this one is not contrast..the chaniya choli is of a light pink, and the chunni is of bright pink 😦

  3. I’ve been cleaning up the house like crazy too!! Actually, I managed to get the kids to clean up their cupboards and polish brass things, while the husband did a great job with the windows and fans. I was very busy in the kitchen, you see 😉

    • R's Mom says:

      Errr…I think, I will wait a couple of years more before I get R to clean her cupboard..

      and believe it or not, I dont have any brass in the house except the diya which I washed myself 🙂

      errr..what did you cook darling?

  4. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Hey super duper weekend re.. I did some similar cleaning last week and gave away a lot of clothes. Few to my maid and few I had to simply throw because there was no one to give!
    Cleaning of the house part, my maid takes care so I can simply relax there.
    Then I for the first time taught my son a school lesson. Apparently they are teaching about seeds, plants and how they grow. I thought it was fun to teach this and we sat in our balcony next to the pots and saw the parts of the plant, what they need to grow and such stuff! It was indeed a first time experience for me as well!!

    • Mathangi Vijay says:

      Btw, I am not being able to reply consistently, to your blog nowadays because of very high work load. Hope to do so, this week onwards, but still I manage to read all of them!

    • R's Mom says:

      How adorable…There is a book by Tulika called ‘the seed’ you should get that for him, he will love it

      I speed posted your T shirt finally..please let me know when uncle/aunty get it okie?

  5. Sounds like a good weekend…accomplished a lot! 🙂

    Me…Sat I worked till 3. Went out to dinner with a friend later so that was nice. Sunday was spent working on reports and procrastinating with the kitties… 🙂

  6. chipmunk2890 says:

    pinch u hardly 🙂 i too cried like hell on the ev movie 🙂 but super movie otherwise 🙂 had the same experience!!! but here its double 😛 sentimental buffalo u see 😛 and to cry with out any one else view is another big project i will say!!!!!! good that you cleand home:) mine still a garbage dump 😛 😛 don no when i gonna give independence day for ma wardrobe 😀 I purchased cars for golu 🙂 and some dolls 🙂 and spent rest by sleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeepppppppppppiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnngggggggggggggggg

  7. Wow, that is a lot of activity over the weekend! 🙂 I am especially thrilled to know about the reading of R’s first picture book. Super!

    LOL @ wiping tears through your specs in a theatre. I wear specs too, so I know exactly what you mean. Trust you to observe and write about such minute things. 😀

    My achievements over the weekend:

    1. Got some reading done peacefully, after ages
    2. Cooked peacefully, after ages
    3. Spent some lovely time buying veggies, after ages
    4. Had a lovely lunch yesterday, followed by a beautiful dessert, outside, after ages

    • R's Mom says:

      first non picture book..yep..or rather, its like the book had a lot of text and not just pictures on all the pages..and the brat was silent enough for me to read through it!

      You had a lovely weekend eh?

  8. ARP says:

    Hey RM,

    I missed R, RM, R fly and the blog so so much. Things had been crazy at work, now settled down. And the first thing I do today is start with your blog. Post was crisp and interesting.
    Hey even I watched E.V. yesterday. Nice movie with a learning. R is a gem, hence chances of her behaving like Sridevi’s daughter are slim. Also am sure you would reason it out with her, if at all she behaves like that and point out that she’s wrong.

    Cheers,
    ARP

  9. Smita says:

    hehehe sending a post is seriously a big job…I used to carry my MILs envelope for some 3-4 days before finally going to the PO. Now I have found a guy who does it for 5 bucks 😉 errr but I still take 3-4 days to give it to him. Chronic disease u see 😀

    EV? Hmmm aaj hi was talking to my MOM, never been a Sridevi fan…so no excitement for it….am waiting for Mads to do a movie 😀

    Chaniya CHoli for the doll? Do send her pics once she is all dolled up 🙂

    What I did for the weekend? Took my sarees for Navratri…are u wearing?

    • R's Mom says:

      Arey yaar..its ages since I posted…I couldnt courier since I didnt have the phone numbers! finally sent them by speed post, now hoping they reach the people!!

      arey go for English Vinglish..I am not Sridevi fan myself, but I loved the movie 🙂

      Errr…taking pictures is the father’s job in our family 😉

      Arey in our office there is some pooja on 23rd…I dont have a SINGLE saree to wear…only ones left with me are my marriage sarees which my mother and MIL refused to take 😦 and honestly Smita, am no big saree fan…I find them extremely cumbersome…so nope, not wearing sarees 🙂

  10. Sujatha says:

    I’ve also been cleaning my house since dusserra is cuming.. so same pinch.. I get so emotional when I watch movies.. I cry when I watch movies without realizing tat there r many people around me

  11. meenamenon says:

    Hey today morn I was blessing ur blog for tht done-ina-a-jiffy corn salad recipe u shared! I buy orn wheneva I happen to see fresh ones now n thts jus courtesy you :-). I think u should continue with ur cooking experiments… its a saviour for peop like me who are otherwise clueless!

  12. ashreyamom says:

    good job Rm.. keep the cleaning going.. 🙂
    my weekend achievement too was seeing ” English-vinglish” without bunty.. and that too without feeling guilty about not spending time with her on weekends.. :)..
    yup me too couldnt stop myself from crying.. i have already started worrying what will i do if my daughter too is like Sridevi’s daughter or what if i find another love :D.. he he he..

    • R's Mom says:

      oh I dont feel too guilty now a days..its better to leave kids at home and watch movies instead of torturing them inside the hall with loud sound eh?

      LOL on finding another love..dont think thats happening in my case

  13. Ashwathy says:

    From a hospital undergoing renovation to Howrah station! 😀 Only you can come up with such outrageous extreme comparisons ! 🙄

    Looks like its a weekend for patting yourself on the back eh? 🙂

  14. Sreetama says:

    Wow RM these r quite some achievements! Pat pat! Happy Mahalaya to u all! 🙂 House not resembling Howrah Station! Rofl! 😀 Have a happy week ahead! My weekend was quite hectic & I was sleep deprived! I compensated by sleeping till late today! 😀

  15. Vidya says:

    I think I have become immune to the ‘C’ bug now 😉 English Vinglish is on my agenda too, and also Barfi. Don’t forget to email R’s pic with that attire ok?

  16. techie2mom says:

    I know that posting problem. i too keep procrastinating posting somethings and as a result, i end up speed posting the rakhis so that my brothers get rakhi on time!!
    I too loved English Vinglish (actually i loved it so much that i did a post on that 🙂 )
    Sweet of you to admit that you cried watching it..
    Hey good to know that you have started exercising, that will definitely help with overall health and boost spirit. All the best 🙂
    Wow, R had her 1st brush with “real” book!!! Congratulations and all the best…

  17. Chakk te phattteeeeeee 🙂

    my weekend was FULL of fun too , had a party to celebrate my nephew’s first birthday .. so lots of food – daroo and chicken what more can a man ask for and oh yeah had lot of cousins to dance with 🙂

  18. Amit says:

    Hey! I got the shirt and I loved it!!!!!!
    It is very cool and I will wear it to the office on Friday. Geet thinks it looks good on me. I love the color too. Thank you. Thank you very much! 🙂
    I will mail you a photu wearing the shirt. Okie? 🙂

    And so true about wiping the tears with your glasses on. I too have this problem, So I start looking here and there to avoid the situation. 🙂

  19. anisnest says:

    movie in theatre without RD.. cool RM.. hey do you use fabric marker for painting t-shirts?
    abt my weekend – we just lazied around at home, played family game (Monopoly), visited library, made mushroom biriyani and played Scrabble with Aditi.. 🙂

  20. Sangitha says:

    Okay, question on movie…badly want to go but can’t manage time off without kids. Do you think this might be kid-takeable movie? Have never taken kids to a non-kid movie except Taare Zameen Par. What do you think? You kinda know my brats now, no?

    • R's Mom says:

      Well honestly Sangi, your kids are older so may be its fine…I had one of R’s daycare guys sitting next to me (Talk about coincidence) who is R’s age ,and he got TOTALLY BORED!! kept talking to me, his mother, was hungry, was sleepy and everything…

      The movie has no violence, no child-cannot-scenes..but I did break into tears…..I am not very sure if 9 year olds will enjoy the movie…

  21. Very eventful weekend, that is. 🙂
    And you paint….awesome….

Leave a Reply

