It was One of Those Times

….when everything just came together..work, illness, social commitments..and I just decided to lie low on the blog front..

I just skimmed through the regular blogs I read (Eeeeppsย on that one!) and I so wanted to comment on some of them, but was so so tied up with work, that just couldnt..after coming back home, I didnt have the strength to log in!

For the first time in my life, I felt it would be good to have a phone with net connectivity..but on second thoughts no..then I would definitely become an addict, which I dont want to be!

The cold which I caught some 2 months ago, threatened my hearing abilities…I had to go to Kochi for office work and when I boarded the flight, and as it was landing I thought people could die of ear pain…its was pathetic..and since I didnt take any medicines for nearly two months, the cold has now got almost solidified in the upper part of the body including near the throat, ears, forehead and where not ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Iย  had to go to R’s homeopathย (after having tons of antibiotics etc etcย and more etc) who gave me such a scolding…which even Ammaย hasntย given me in recent times! All in all, I am kind of recovering but cantย hear ANYTHING from my leftย  ear..so the world seems strangely silent eh? and surprisingly I dont seem to be missing the noise around me ๐Ÿ™‚

Praying the cold deserts me soon enough ๐Ÿ™‚

and oh I have tried all possible home remedies, but the cold has become so congested in the chest, that the doctor feels I need meds to cure them darn!

got an XRayย doneย of the sinus area yesterday, it shows blockage in the left side…thats why the hearing impairment I guess ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Working on it now..regular steam etc etc!
=====

Last to last Thursday, I left for Kochi at 4.30 in the morning…RD and R stayed back and RD actually managed her for the first time without any help…and hey, he did a good job..

He was pretty confident, but the only issue was her hair…in her school, its compulsory to make two ponies and tie black ribbons…RD and I had decided that on Wednesday night, I would put some oil in her hair and just comb it flat so that two days he didnt have to tie the pony..

The issue with her hair is that if you make a pony, it just stays up all the time, till the next wash or oiling it and combing it..

anyways, in all the confusion and her bad mood I didnt do it..

RD was sweet enough to get up and wave me good bye early in the morning (I never do it for him when he goes, I just zzzzz!)ย anyways, so he did all that and suddenly in the car enroute to the airport, I get a call from RD who is screaming his head off..for two seconds, I didntย understand, until I realised he was getting bugged about the fact that I didntย remove her chotis..we had a mini fight until he realised it was futile and said he would manage..

so what happens is that, R gets up, and he decides to tie her two chotis..before that he goes at 6.30 to the neighbour aunty’s house to request her to do it..but aunty has gone for a walk…

now RD is frantic, and decides to do it himself..anyone who had seen R will realise her hair is practically like silk (preens!) getting a rubber band through it is like very veryย tough (ahem ahem, I do it everyday, preensย again!) anyways so the guy somehow manages and one choti is down and the other is up…RD tells R ..

R checks in the mirror and saysย ‘areyย appaย its very nice’

and RD now is a pool of emotional love and all that..

anyways, just 5 minutes before they are to leave for theย  bus, neighbour aunty comes knocking..apparently uncle asked aunty to rush to our house to comb R’s hair (Touchwood on wonderful neighbours!) and so aunty came in and did the miracle ๐Ÿ™‚

the next day (Friday) she not only arrived at 6.45 but also got a chocolate for the brat…can you believe it…

I am thanking God for such wonderful neighbours..and oh when I went to thank her after coming back, she actually scolded me (yet again a scolding!) for not informing her in advance and giving tension to RD..Gah!

======

In other news, (good one now!) I met up with the absolutely mindblowing Sandhya ……, go on get jealous..not often you get to meet up with such an intellectually stimulating person..

So she had come down to Bombay and was kind enough to informย  me in advance..and so I went ahead and met up in a mall in some other part of Bombay..but whatever..the whole meeting was oh so worth it eh?

We spent 4 hours together, including an hour in a book store..rest of the time, we were just talking…it was the most amazing afternoons I have spent in a long long time..

She got me books, and I gotย  her chocolates..yaa yaa…I am smart that waysย eh?

 

======

and in other news, Please check out what Saffron Tree has got in store for us…its amazing that they come up with such beautiful stuff…go on click on this link

===========

Last week has been good in terms of work, I learnt a lot of bureaucracy, a lot about how to handle people at senior level and also met up with some amazing folks who are super senior but heightย of humility…I wish my blog was anonymous, there was so much more I would have written ๐Ÿ™‚

and monday starts with a stinker mail..Darn! I hate that guy so much!

I am back to the blogging world, though honestly I doubt I can comment on the million unread blogs on my reader..but whatever…I am coming back with a bang eh?

Missed me?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

69 Responses to It was One of Those Times

  1. Smita says:

    Missed You… I was thinking of calling u up and asking if everything was alright? but since you were /are not well chalo maaf kar diya… take care…. follow dr’s instructions to T….

  2. Amit says:

    Areeeee I thought you went to meet your relatives and were having fun but it was this bad? Take care and take loads of steam. It really helps.

    • R's Mom says:

      nah! I was busy and more busy..though had a lovely weekend with the super bad cold last week..will post that when I get the pictures from the cousin ๐Ÿ™‚

      Oh your T shirt is done..and packed in a wrapper..now the couriering has to see the light of the day..the way it has been, I am yet to send a T I had painted in August..so well…hopefully by 2013 you will get it

  3. Sure missed you, RM. It’s good to see you back! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Aww at RD making R’s chotis, at R liking it, and at neighbour aunty saving the day in the nick of time…and then to come again next morning, with a chocolate too! May she continue to be your neighbour for many many years ๐Ÿ˜€

    //I wish my blog was anonymous, there was so much more I would have written //
    But your blog IS anonymous, RM, isn’t it? How much more anonymous can you get!!

  4. deepM says:

    Thank god you are back RM! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Honestly i missed you. I checked your blog on even weekend and when i saw that in the morning i felt so good that i read your blog first before having my breakfast today. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Good to see that u r back. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Bhagyashree says:

    Missed you? Definitely. I have to leave in an hour after getting the lunch ready and here I am reading your post. ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Sreetama says:

    Yes yes RM you were terribly missed! Sorry to know about your health dear. Why didn’t you take the medicines properly? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Now take good care of yourself, will you? Good to read the other updates! R & RD’s tryst with the hair! ๐Ÿ˜€ Have a good day & week ahead! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Ashwathy says:

    How is it fucking possible to have a cold for 2 WHOLE MONTHS??? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ You don’t deserve a scolding…. you deserve a total THRASHING!!! ๐Ÿ˜ก Jeez!!
    And then you have the nerve to complain about the ear bud being stuck in your mother’s ear. Like mother, like daughter!! ๐Ÿ˜›

    You are lucky to have such wonderful neighbours ๐Ÿ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      language darling..language..yeh family blog hai heheheeheh ๐Ÿ™‚

      I agree..I do deserve a thrashing…The doctor, RD and Amma have done the needful…yesterday when I spoke to Appa, he started out but then I told him after the three thrashings and he was like okie, may be next time eh?

      oh I am ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. ashreyamom says:

    yes yes yes, we missed u a a lot.. get well soon.. take proper medicines and no more of home remedies..

  9. Hurrah! You’re back! Hope your sinuses and hearing improve. Yes, it’s horrible to fly when sick. Been there, done that and hated every moment.

    Lol at RD tying R’s hair…exact same thing happened to me when I was in the 6th…I think mum was sick and couldn’t do it and so dad tried…and there was one up and one down…I went to the neighbour’s house and asked aunty to do it!

    Good to have you back… ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Yesssss!! I missed reading your posts every morning. Good to see you back! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Awwww it is so sweet of your neighbour to come to your place early in the morning to make plaits for R. Touchwood. Very sweet!

    Yay to RD managing R alone, and your getting back to your blog.

  11. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Oye RM Thank God you are back! Missed your blog and R so much!!
    So lots of things seem to have happened. And great that RD managed R so well without you. Well its kinda expected haan..
    And your health. You better take care of yourself. Well, the same thing has happened to me and I met up with similar excruciating ear pain and my left ear was blocked without any sense of hearing for more than a month.
    Then I went for an ENT, who lectured me about how I cannot ignore cold and blah blah and finally after a lot of medication the ear cleared up. But the pain can get really unbearable. So you better take the medicines properly!
    So all in all take care, and please get back to regular blogging thik hai??

    • R's Mom says:

      yep am back :):)

      Your T shirt is still not sent *rolls eyes* though applauding myself for at least putting it inside a cover and writing an address on it! hopefully it will be sent for the newyear as a gift eh?

      Ear aches are horrible na ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  12. garima says:

    Oh yes you were definitly missed!!

  13. chipmunk2890 says:

    welcome back ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ that really awesome of RD ๐Ÿ™‚ and R supporting him eh ๐Ÿ™‚ now u can give the job to RD ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ u went to invade the city eh! do u lik the place ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. sudhagee says:

    Yes, RM. You were missed. I may not comment, but I do check out your blog every day. Yes, even on the weekends ๐Ÿ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      oh do you?? how adorable sweet..and no I usually dont post on weekends ๐Ÿ˜ฆ so dont bother okie?

      I was going through your blog…you have captured Mumbai so beautifully in it…I am a follower now okie?

  15. meenamenon says:

    Ho sheeesh lady! Why do u keep doing this to urself…. health is wealth! I mean all of it will jus fly out of window if u don take care… Imagine ur entire left side is all clogged… not goo!

  16. My Era says:

    Welcome back RM ….you were missed ๐Ÿ˜€
    Ouch! that frozen ear and sinuses are scary….please steam them well so that all cold melts off.
    Glad to hear that you have such caring neighbours ๐Ÿ™‚
    Bureaucracy, tell me about it ๐Ÿ˜ฅ after staying abroad for a while I too have had a tough time fighting and facing it ๐Ÿ˜ฅ ๐Ÿ˜ฅ
    Get well soon dear ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. You were missed RM ๐Ÿ™‚ So happy to have you back with your cheerfulness ๐Ÿ™‚
    Yay to your neighbours, RD and R for liking appa’s chotis ๐Ÿ™‚ Awesome of her really!

    Take care RM. I don’t think I can say that enough. You are so so negligent! Hmmmf!

    • R's Mom says:

      Awww! thanks da

      the T shirt is awaiting to be couriered after packing..dont ask me kabhi hoyega..hopefully you should get it as a new year gift *rolls eyes*

  18. Deeps says:

    Hope you’re feeling better now, RM! Please dont neglect your health, its something that you just cant afford to take it for granted. I’m realizing this for the past few days when I see my mom slog it out without caring much about her health, and now her sugar has shot up at an alarming rate and she has been in the hospital under observation. By god’s grace she is in good care and fine with some random tests left to do. But its when things like this happen that you realize how important taking care of your own body is, RM! So please take care, for your sake, for your family’s sake.

    Hugs!

  19. I hope the cold has left you by the time you read this comment.. I have my own home made remedy for it to go away but I am sure you wont like it .. yeah the punjabi one ๐Ÿ™‚ he he he

    god bless the little one for being so good to daddy ๐Ÿ™‚

    you know there is a ad here that comes which i love, the mom goes for day and the father has to take care of the little boy, he does all the boy wants play, study, tv , go to park everything .. in the evening or night .. mum comes home open the door .. to find the
    dad and the son laying on the sofa with eyes closed ..

    mom says “hope you took good care of him”
    and before the father replies the litte one replies “Yes I will” ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Swaram says:

    Hugssss RM! And u have company on the cold front ๐Ÿ˜‰ I have such a bad cold and cough *ahoo ahoo* ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Take care and get well soon okay ๐Ÿ™‚

    And I am really J of the no. of bloggers u are meeting he he ๐Ÿ˜‰

  21. metherebel says:

    You certainly were missed RM. Welcome back. Looks like you had your hands full! Sorry to know about you suffering from cold. Hope you get well soon RM!

  22. anisnest says:

    oh RM I am just now reading this post after replying to your email.. take care of your health re.. that’s very important.. kudos to RD on managing R and her kudumis.. ๐Ÿ™‚ hugs and take care..

  23. Nidaa says:

    the last 2 weeks ws jam-packed tht i didnt get time to read the usual blogs, not even news… now when i finally shoved it all under boss’ big nose i m free… And now im like, ‘what! jus this one entry??!’ About the earache-in-flight thing… Let me giv u d tips if someone hasnt already. either talk to someone (or urself if u gt snooty companions) or chew gum. apparantly thr s some scientific explanation… i will look it up later n tell you okie? (ghoshh i sound like those high school teachers when asked a doubt outside syllabus!)… please take care.
    now tht my schedule z back to normal i will start missing you ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. Welcome back RM, last week was relatively less work for me and I was wondering where you disappeared. Ear pain while air travel is common, but when you have cold its dangerous, please consult a doctor and take care of the cold. One of my friends lost hearing (1ear) it takes long time to recover.
    RD is super cute and neighbors so caring ..
    Once again welcome back..

  25. Jazz says:

    OMG I thought you were caught with work at office. Please give your health top priority and get well soon. Hugs !!

  26. Sangitha says:

    Ah, here I was feeling super guilty for not coming over and reading up. Please take that ear thing seriously. There’s nothing wrong with taking meds, sinuses aren’t for playing around. I am a chronic sinus sufferer and went from no meds to one miracle spray just as it begins….weakening the system by not taking meds is a bad thing to. As with all in life, balance is the word of the day.

    So that’s not a thrashing at least, huh?

    Agree on Mindblowing Sandhya. Heard that, Mindblowing Sandhya? Heard that loud and clear, I hope! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      oh and Sandhya says you are mindblowing to..total mutual admiration soceity you both have, while I sit and agree that I am fan of both you (and oh oh Chox and Starry as well!) I think I bored her to death by telling her how much I admire you ladies while she being the adorable lady, just shook her head and smiled at me :):)

      yep taking care of the cold definitely now ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks

  27. The Bride says:

    I didn’t miss you because I was missing too ๐Ÿ™‚ Looks like we’re back at the same time.

    A tip for flying with a cold. Before take-off, use Otrivan nose drops in your nose, hold your nose and blow outward. That will send the drops into your eustachian tubes and prevent waht happened to you from happening. This is what my doc advised when I had crazy cold and needed to fly and it worked.

  28. uma says:

    oh god that ear ache sounds bad and scary..please do take good care and do not neglect henceforth. Even I kept ignoring my throat ache till I couldn’t swallow at all. Now after those antibiotics, am all OK ๐Ÿ™‚ Take care. R is a big girl now..managing so well without the amma. And, it helps to have a supportive husband and a great father ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. sandhya says:

    Thanks for the nice words, RM. I couldn’t go online for a few days, so read your post just now.

    It was wonderful meeting you, and really sweet of you to battle all that Mumbai traffic and come over nearer my place. Enjoyed our conversation, too, and for the record, you are pretty mind-blowing too. Would have loved to meet R too- maybe next time when A is with me, eh? Or when you make that promised ‘next trip’ to Bangalore.

  30. techie2mom says:

    Hey, hope you are feeling better now…Take care…

  31. Chandrima says:

    Have gone through this choti drama in our house too! My husband now manages to do it and my daughter is much less critical when he does it!

Leave a Reply

