The Weekend That Was

Friday night

RD and R got me a choco nut birthday cake with the candles written 3 and 1 on it…Just to remind me of my age

R: Amma, aap 3 and 1, 31 years ke ho okie?

RM: yes baby totally okie!!

We blew the candles, cut the cake, hogged on the cake, cuddled, sang and in short it was a wonderful celebration.

And did I mention Tharani sent me a beautiful bag as a birthday gift 🙂 Its gorgeous and its big enough to accommodate R’s stuff incase I want to take it …though I told her that I am using it only for parties and stuff 😉

Thanks a ton rey 🙂

====
Saturday morning

It was R’s parent teacher meet.

R first told me she is coming along but later changed track and said ‘mereko daycare jana hai’

RD had gone for his run to Juhu beach, so I took R along, dropped her at the daycare and went to her school.

This time no fiascos, nothing. Saw her papers (surprisingly neat), saw her report card (not always obedient!), and came back 🙂

I did ask her teacher about the obedience thing. She says ‘R has a mind of her own, a very happy go lucky child, sometimes, she gets carried away helping others and doesnt sit at her place’ Ah well!

Came back home and cleaned the kitchen PROPERLY changing papers, rubbing the handles. RD felt I am going crazy. yaa whatever!

Slept a bit, got up to pick up R and then met the absolutely gorgeous and amazingly sweet Journomuse.

I messaged her saying I have reached and she messaged back saying she is reaching in about 5 minutes wearing a cream dress and pink sweater.

That by the way, WAS NOT a cream dress.

RM: this is not cream
J: Of course, what other colour is this.
RM: Errr..its purple
J: But the purple is on the top, the dress is cream na

yaa whatever 🙂

We have fun talking over coffee (in her case) and chocolate milk shake in my case 🙂

She got this amazingly sweet wooden toy for R…

We managed to talk about everything under the sun, from marriage, to kids to journalism to TV to news to food. Its funny that we had never met earlier, but we never felt awkward with each other at all 🙂 blogging is fun, I tell you 🙂

We didnt spend too much time because she was in a rush and so was I, but I am so glad we met 🙂

After we left her, R and I had some discussion on colours

R: Amma, didi ne cream nahi wear kiya tha na
RM: no
R: I counted, she wearing pink, purple and black
RM: there was no black
R: arey woh ek flower black also hoing (Hoing – Ho of Hindi and ing of English)
RM: oh is it
R: Yeh didi bhi na

Ah well, J Didi, was by the way wearing a pink sweater (thats how we recognized her!) and a cream dress with colourful prints on it..abhi that she didnt tell us na!

====

We had planned dinner out on Saturday evening, but decided to quit that and order pizzas at home.

Spent a really American style evening at home with pizza and TV (I am reading Bill Bryon’s life and times of a Thunderbolt kid – Guess uska asar hai 🙂 )

=========

Sunday morning RD had a brilliant brainwave to go to my aunt’s house at Mankhurd. So we went there telling her at the last minute that we are coming for lunch. (RD and I had a major fight on that, but thats another story ;))

Had a wonderful lunch of so many things that I am even forgetting what was in it.

Came back home at 6.

Made pasta for dinner and painted the two t shirts I had promised a couple of blog friends. Though the second coating is still left. but hopefully will be able to send them across by the end of the week.

All in all, I had a wonderful weekend.

Hope yours was well too.

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to The Weekend That Was

  1. Oh it was your bday? Missed wishing you 😥 Belated birthday wishes…and you are a Virgo like my son?? That explains all the non stop chattering you both indulge in 🙄

    You are meeting so many bloggers these days. I think like RD you are on a Marathon spree of running around meeting bloggers 😛

  2. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Hey thats a nice weekend-cum-birthday celebrations! Felt cute and content reading it. Something like perfect, I want my birthday celebrated just like this, with the wishes of whom we are close with.
    And Congrats to R! Good that you had an uneventful Parent Teachers Meeting. By the way, I get a lot from Pranav’s teacher also that he doesnt sit in a place. He doesnt have enough concentration to sit and complete a work. He wants to finish in a hurry and move on to the next. I keep trying to make him sit at home also, well he doesnt. I keep thinking that he is just 5, he will change soon. Hope he will!

  3. Sounds like a lovely weekend! It is great meeting blogger friends…even when you meet for the first time, it’s like you’ve known them forever! I’ve only met one so far and it was great…we think alike in so many ways that it’s freaky.

    Oh and I reckon R should remain ‘disobedient’…who wants someone to not have a mind of their own??? Good on her!

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yaa…sometimes it is freaky eh?

      Errr…well as long as it stays to mind of her own, I am fine, but if it gets to discipine issues, I will get worried 🙂

  4. Amit says:

    That was a day spent well.
    Is one of that shirt mine? 😀 *asks with a big bright smile*

  5. Journomuse says:

    Ehhh Mama R, I wonder if you can see the blushes as you read this..I’m glad we finally managed to meet after many postponements and delays.. 🙂 Days are rather limited, else I would have taken you up on your rather generous offer of dosas and filter kaapi at home.. Little R is a hoot and I still standfast on my commitment to take her off you, if you so feel you need some time away from her..:) As for the colour of the dress!! Dayaaaaamnnn, we will never settle that will we? Especially since little R also has an opinion on that!!!

  6. Sreetama says:

    Wow weekend! 🙂 Totally loved the account. Mine went well too! A great combination of both work & leisure!

  7. Pepper says:

    For a change, I can cope with your weekend post without feeling too dizzy. I like this. Glad you had a Happy Weekend 🙂

  8. sandhya says:

    LOL on the teacher’s comment about R. Now why does it sound like someone else whose posts I read? 🙂

    Looking forward to meeting you come October, RM. Hope I’ll be able to describe what I wear too!

  9. Ah, that sounds like a wonderful weekend! 🙂

    Mine was a bit sad – since I returned from Ahmedabad yesterday. 😦 Now feeling a bit better, and am back to work. 😦

  10. // ek flower black also hoing // hehehe what a gem of an Rism!!!
    Aww at R getting carried away helping others and not being found at her place 🙂

  11. metherebel says:

    Sounds like a fun weekend RM 🙂 So sweet of R and RD to bake a cake for you. You didn’t say how the cake tasted?

  12. chipmunk2890 says:

    RM 😦 you blocked the story teller in me 😦 but wy 😦 😦 miss ur stories 😦 😥

  13. meenamenon says:

    That seems a wonderful weekend!Ha the bliss of hving relatives u can drop in with no notcie 😀

  14. Ashwathy says:

    Time to plan our meeting, don’t you think? 🙂

  15. Happy birthday once again RM 🙂

  16. Swarna says:

    Belated bday wishes to you R’s mom.
    Have a great year ahead.
    Keep smiling and keep blogging.
    Swarna

  17. Swaram says:

    Whoa! What a weekend 🙂
    Sounds super-duper awesome!

  18. choxbox says:

    Belated budday wishes!
    Loved the ‘hoing’ 🙂

  19. Chandrima says:

    Lovely! May we read many more birthday stories and belated happy birthday!

  20. anisnest says:

    happy birthday again RM.. that sounds like a wonderful weekend… you have so much energy re.. hugs

  21. ashreyamom says:

    wow.. an eventful weekend.. nice that both dad and daughter thought of getting u a cake.. thinking…. bunty.. when are u going to grow up and wish me.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

