Dear Bangalore

I liked you a lot πŸ™‚

Its weird thatΒ there is something about you that I am not able to place. Like you know, when I go to Calcutta, I usually get a feeling of lethargy, a feeling of relaxation when I reach there, and coming back to Bombay makes me want t o run and catch that train RIGHT NOW kind of feeling. With Baroda its always I am at home feeling, while Ahmedabad is always about soaking in a cultural delight. But with you, Bangalore, I am not able to pin point what it is all about. I liked you, you have an aura of being nice and sweet and kind of small towned with the new city atmosphere jostling in space with an old town feeling. Errr…I know I know, I am yet to figure out what I feel about you, but in short I liked you.

Few things from a short weekend trip to you, Bangalore, in pointers.

1. I forgot my mobile phone charger (IDIOT RM!), which means I couldnt call a lot of people I wanted to, including Sangi, Artnavy, Choxbox and Sandhya. Ladies, an apology mail will follow 😦 I didnt have access to mails, no numbers, darn! my memory is getting pathetic

2. No high riseΒ buildings!. It surprisedΒ me. RD says you didnt see the whole of Bangalore, but trust me, in Bombay, the high rises hit you on the face, but Bangalore it was nice old buildings, superb bungalows, amazing houses.

3. Bangalore, you are not just green, you are colourful. The riot of colourful flowers that you have made me feel as if I was in some exotic land, the bright reds, the lovely oranges, the delightful pinks, the lemony yellows, you sure are colourful eh?

4. The super duperΒ pampering from my aunty and cousin. I got my head massaged with oil, my hair tangle removed, got a choti done and a french plait my cousin did for me.

5. the food – Its a post in itself, but in short aunty made everything I loved and the taste was to die for.

6. Your airport Bangalore, I am impressed. the super duperΒ entrance, the absolutely amazingly exotically well maintained landscaped gardens, the prompt service at the counters, the food plaza, its super.

7. The bus service from cousin’s place to Airport – SUPER impressed!

8. of course, being a Mumbaikar, I see some jealousy creeping in, but the Metro boss! ekdumΒ superb. Yes, we went just two stations on Sunday just to sit in the Metro, yaaΒ yaa we are kids, but I loved it. and oh we had an adventure there as well, which I need to put down. Dont ask *rolls eyes*

9. Of course, Bangalore, you must be wondering how it rained on Saturday night. Arey, RM had come na thats why *rolls eyes again*

10. Last but not the least, a super duperΒ Blogger meet, with All invitees attending. Thats a separate post darling Bangalore, a separate post in itself….coming as soon as one of the ladies oblige me with some photographs πŸ™‚

Thank you Bangalore, for a lovely weekend. Its been one of those weekends, I want to write a lot about, and I will. I promise.

and oh, for those interested, RD finished his run in 1 hour and 10 minutes, amazing eh?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Dear Bangalore

  1. Oh I too totally loved Bangalore when I made my maiden visit about a year back, and precisely for the reasons you’ve pointed out. It retains a small-townish sweetness despite it’s dizzying metamorphosis into a semi-metro. It also is very colourful–I too remember the orange flowers which seemed to be everywhere. And the people are a wonderful lot.

    A French plait, wow!! Pics please!! Years ago, when I wore my hair long, a French plait was my idea of an elaborate hairdo for special occasions. Now I keep shortish hair barely touching my shoulders, but the sight of a French plait makes me wistful–only until I remind myself of the pains of ‘maintaining’ long hair πŸ™‚

  2. meenamenon says:

    nxt time u in blore u should meet me too huh….. oki? Arre if u like this city so much, how abt settling down here na πŸ˜›

  3. metherebel says:

    Looks like RM is charmed by Namma Bengaluru πŸ™‚ Sounds like a fun weekend!

  4. chipmunk2890 says:

    omg thats a city of dreams and fun! did yu had time to visit flea market! and there are couple of shops in b’lore, say india kaliedo scope and rainbow busting, they are like awesome πŸ™‚ next time wen u go do visit this places !

  5. Sumana says:

    So you were here for only a weekend? And you liked it as well?

  6. My Era says:

    Wow! More power to RD for completing yet another marathon πŸ™‚
    OK now I know why you didn’t post of Friday, can you believe it that since I didn’t spot your post I had to ask mum if it was a public holiday for i often tend to miss on holidays being at home 24×7 πŸ˜†
    Glad you had a good time πŸ™‚

  7. sandhya says:

    Great! The one time you come over, you forget your charger! :):) Actually, I was wondering about you a bit. It was the uncharacteristic silence from your side that left me wondering.

    Now people who know I haven’t met you yet will be wondering what that was about, but I’m so used to going online and seeing SOMETHING from you almost everyday- a post, a mail or at least a comment on someone’s comment on a post of yours…that I was wondering a bit.

    Really, would have loved to meet up. So now for when i come to Mumbai.:)

    Ans congrats to RD for the run. That was good time.

    • sandhya says:

      Oh, and you must have been in a more verdant part of Bangalore. The chopping down of trees in the name of flyovers and underpasses, and the ad-hoc buildings in the name of development make me want to cry. Also thank you for being so kind that you did not mention the traffic snarls. But yes, at least till now, the weather here is superlative, and for all the complaints we make about it, its beauty hits anyone who travels out of Bangalore for a while and comes back.

    • R's Mom says:

      I know, didnt I admit I am an idiot!

      LOL on silence from my end..my virtual presence is over the top na πŸ™‚

      yes yes, waiting waiting and more waiting to meet you πŸ™‚

      Yep, RD has improved really well!

      I didnt see too much of chopped trees honestly…I must admit, I have started comparing Bangalore with Bombay…in comparison, if I had a choice I would have settled in Bangalore..of course, Bombay has its own advantages..yet…

  8. choxbox says:

    Yes it is a nice place, but, happy people stay happy no matter where they go.

    That is possibly partly why you liked Bangalore R’s Mom, and you will find things to like in any place you go to.

  9. Congrats to RD on his run! Bangalore sounds lovely…haven’t ever been there. Waiting to hear about he food and the meet in your future posts. By the way, I’m up and running on WP now…same link but RSS feed has changed.

  10. Sreetama says:

    That looks like a wow weekend! I too enjoyed my visits to Bangalore and the other places in Karnataka. Looking forward to detailed posts! And kudos to RD. Standing ovation to him! πŸ™‚

  11. Well I liked Bangalore too other than the traffic.
    And going on the metro for a ride that’s what I did too.

    And congrats to RD..

  12. You came to Bangalore!!! 😦
    Next time, u gotta meet us all ok.. that sounds like a wow weekend. n congrats to RD on that timing.

    • R's Mom says:

      I sent you an email on your gmail…I am not sure if you got that…I had sent it to you on Wednesday about my coming…but then you would have been busy with Anand Vidyalaya na?

      Thanks πŸ™‚

  13. summerscript says:

    Yay to RD!!! πŸ˜€

    Now I can imagine you typing, reading our comments, smiling πŸ™‚

    huhahahahaha girls!! I met the rockstars!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  14. Swaram says:

    Oh wow! U were in Namma Bengaluru, and liked it too? πŸ™‚ ume super-happy πŸ˜›
    Bengaluru has def. seen the chopping down of many trees et..al but is still greener than many metros 😐 And i can feel the difference so much whenever I go there from Hyderabad πŸ™‚

    Am yet to ride on Namma Metro 😦 The next trip for sure πŸ™‚

  15. Ashwathy says:

    I got my head massaged with oil, my hair tangle removed, got a choti done and a french plait my cousin did for me
    How much hair do you have anyway? I mean how long! πŸ˜›

    Congrats to RD πŸ™‚

    And Bangalore has always been my favourite place of stay. Your post just reminded me of all the reasons why I love it πŸ™‚

  16. Oh Bangalore….if that city didn’t exist on a Map, today the husband would be a free and happy man because that is where we crashed into each other 12 years ago 😳

    I was in love with Bangalore just like you 12 years ago…it was so romantic as it was raining the first time we met, held hands, got lost in each others eyes (thank god that time I had the brains to hide my glasses when I went to meet him), and ahem ahem it rained on many other so called “first time” occasions πŸ˜›

    …and then after a couple of years, as a married couple we shifted to Bangalore in 2005 and that is when I started hating the place for it’s traffic, pollution which caused various kinds of allergies for the husband, cutting down of trees etc etc πŸ˜₯

    Ps: I guess you got to visit only the best maintained area πŸ˜†

  17. Smitha says:

    No High rises? You saw only parts of bangalore 😦 It is becoming so full of concrete that it breaks my heart. When we left, it was far greener and far more gorgeous. Now, I can see only buildings when I look out of my window 😦 But still, Bangalore has my heart πŸ™‚

    And it was lovely, lovely, lovely meeting you πŸ™‚ I can’t still believe it. You and R πŸ™‚ What a cute pair the two of you are πŸ™‚

    And congrats to RD – I completely forgot to pass on congrats when I met you!

  18. uma says:

    :-)))))
    That’s a great timing for RD. Congrats to him!
    Bangalore is a good place to be in…why don’t you consider moving here?? Imagine the fun every weekend! πŸ™‚

  19. Amit says:

    I have never been to Bangalore but I have heard that the weather is really good. Glad that you enjoyed it there. You are going all professional blogger and all, attending bloggers meets etc etc. πŸ˜›
    Tell us about the food. Did you eat anything unusual?
    And RD ran for 1 hour? I start puffing and huffing in 20 mins. *clap clap*

    • R's Mom says:

      Errr..it rained 😦 so lets not talk about the weather πŸ™‚

      Errr..it was just 7 of us..will post about it tomorrow

      had typical Bong food after a long time thanks to my aunt πŸ™‚

      RD ran a 10 km marathon boss…woh toh ekdum super hero hai πŸ™‚

  20. Deeps says:

    I have loved BLR too whenever I have gone there. Like you I was super-impressed by the airport the last time i went. It was one of the first to open during that nation-wide airport re-modelling drive! Boy, how magnificent it looked and the drive from the apt to the city was quite nice too. I found the city very congested though, esp the traffic! It was a pain to get around the city.

    But the weather has been abs heavenly whenever i hv visited! it rained when you were there..how I envy!!

    So what was this blogger meet all about? Looking forward to reading about it in detail πŸ™‚

    And please pass on my kudos to RD the marathon feat! Its amazing!

  21. anisnest says:

    sounds like a fun filled trip and a beeg congrats to RD.. I was wondering why RM didn’t post on Friday the day I returned to blog world.. πŸ™‚

  22. SJ says:

    RM – You make me feel so nostalgic by writing this wonderful post on my hoemtown…
    RM , I wish you’d seen Bangalore back in the late 80’s or even for that matter the 90’s it was just so peaceful and serene πŸ™‚ Bangalore just saw a burst of development in the late 90’s which has given the calm city a negative side. Namma Bengaluru – ROCKS !
    OK – after this wonderful post on my home town..it’s time that you visit the place I live in – I’m sure you’ll fall in love with it – RM ! Chalo..Visa Apply Karro…

    Cheers – SJ

    • R's Mom says:

      oh was it?? But I guess most cities are now bursting in development na?

      You live in Singapore na??

      Visa toh apply kar loongi, no money na for the tickets…lemme start saving now..will eventually visit in about 10 years time hehehehe πŸ™‚

  23. Sangitha says:

    Congrats to RD – that’s good timing too!

    You know, my class got cancelled late evening Friday, I only saw it on Sat morning (luckily – would have gone like a doofus otherwise!) and by the time I got around to emailing someone, you guys must have been partying it up. Next time, my house!

    And yes, of course, my Bangalore rocks! It rained after a hot spell…errr…because you were here! πŸ˜€

  24. LF says:

    Yay , I feel so proud and nostalgic to read this post..I so wish I were in Bangalore too 😦

  25. Scribby says:

    the time I spent in B’lore [7 days] I liked it too..but thinking on the whole I think being a tourist it seems good to a Mumabikar but maybe living would not be that enthralling, just my view πŸ™‚

    And oh Airport? AWESOME!!!! Loved the sprawling posh area πŸ™‚

  26. Congratulations to RD! πŸ™‚

    I loved your description of Bangalore – it kind of reflects what I saw in Bangalore the first time I visited too. πŸ™‚ And, yes, we rode the short distance of two stations on the Bangalore Metro, too, and loved it. It has been wonderfully designed and executed. I hope the project – when executed fully – brings some relief to the thousands of citizens jostling with the horrible traffic and longggggg distances in Bangalore every day to commute to work.

    I am so sad I couldn’t meet you this time around! Will definitely make up the next time we are in Mumbai, or you are in Bangalore!

Leave a Reply

