This Teacher’s Day

Few things happened..

1. R and I made cards for her class teachers (yep she has two of them) and I forgot to take the pictures..but one was a butterfly and one was a tree with red fruits…I just did the outline, R did the crayons (Pretty neatly infact!) and the outline was darkened etc etc

2. Got reminded of a song which my Appa wrote for Amma many many years ago

Oh Teacher My Teacher This is your day
Oh Teacher My Teacher we Thank you today
For all that you taught us from A B and C
You Brought us from 0 to 1, 2 and 3

3. R and I called up Amma Appa from the bus stop….I told her

R, lets wish Baroda thatha Thathi today

R: Kyun?

RM: Because its teachers day

R: Woh kya teachers hai..heheheheeh

RM: yes both of them are na

R: Thatha bhi?

RM: yes, abhi ho gaye hain na

So we call them up and wish them…after the call, R says ‘but thatha toh college mein hai, woh teacher kaise hue, woh toh student hai na?

RM: !!!

4. On the same topic in the BEST bus, I tell R about wishing her teachers ‘Happy Teachers day’

R: Amma, aaj kyun teachers day hai, kiska birthday hai?

I think this comes from the fact that we just celebrated Lord Krishna’s birthday and there are talks in the daycare about celebrating Lord Ganesh’s birthday..so any day means someone’s birthday for the brat

RM: Its Dr. Radhakrishnan’s birthday

R: hmmmm

looks out of the window for a minute

R: Amma, woh kaun hai?

RM: Well he was a great teacher and so to remember him we celebrate his birthday day as teacher’s day

R: hmmmm

again looks out for a minute and then

R: Amma, hum ne kal unka song sing kiya daycare mein

RM: What song

R: arey Dr,Lalakishnan ka song

RM: But what song?

R: Today is Dr.Lalakishnan birthday
so we are having teacher’s day

RM: WHAT? yeh kya song hai

R: hehehehehe! Yeh song hai na..

RM: oh wow!I should ask teacher about this

R: no no  no, we didnt sing, I only singing now

RM:!!!

So the alreadyplanninginadvance RM sees a new profession for the brat…lyricist for Hindi movie songs???

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to This Teacher’s Day

  1. LOL yeah and her song rhymed too 🙂

  2. LOL @ the lyrics. R is quite imaginative! 🙂
    Best wishes to your mom and dad for Teachers’ Day. 🙂

    PS: I am going to Ahmedabad soon, BTW. 😀 Yipee!! Will you be coming? You were saying something about going in September, right?

  3. Sujatha says:

    that song which ur appa wrote is so nice… LOL on Dr.Lalakishnan birthday.. R is so sweet yaar !!

  4. kashlife says:

    Like to read morning conversation between mother and daughter. R is so cute and so her lyrics 🙂

  5. My Era says:

    Wow! I loved the song R prepared on the spot 🙂
    Love you R!
    Loved the song your Appa wrote…please convey my regards to your parents on this special day 🙂

  6. Happy Teacher’s Day 🙂
    I was a pre-primary teacher back in India, Your post reminded me of carrying kilos of roses & 50 – 60 cards to home after school on teacher’s day. You can actually see the love & respect small kids have for their teachers while giving the card. I really miss all my students. I am sure they will be doing well in their primary classes.
    You know RM, even though they will be now in only 3rd or 4th class, 3 of them somehow have found me on facebook and added me to their friends list. Kids, I tell you!!

    LOL on Dr. Lalakishnan, R is such a sweetheart 🙂

    • R's Mom says:

      oh were you..amazing…I do remember Amma coming back tons of cards, till one day she told the children she would accept only hand made cards, and then she got even bigger numbers (not many parents could afford the store made cards na!)

      Class 3 children on facebook…hai ram :):) you must be a popular teacher :):)

  7. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Hee hee that was cute of R! Penning Lyrics 🙂
    And Happy Teachers day wishes to your parents and to all the teachers around the world!
    Bringing me back all the memories of my School Days and Teachers Day Celebrations!!

  8. Sreetama says:

    Happy Teachers’ Day to your parents RM! R is a sweetheart! Dr. Lalakishnan sounds soo adorable!!! It would be great to have a lyricist in the future! All the best R darling! 😀

  9. Smita says:

    Like her Mom she is a master story teller 😀

  10. metherebel says:

    R is very smart :).
    She recited two lines of her song on the spot!

    Happy Teacher’s Day to your parents!

  11. LOL at Dr. Lalakrishnan!!!Such a cutie-pie R is 🙂 And she could make it rhyme too!!

  12. Arch says:

    Whatte cute! XOXOXO 🙂

  13. meenamenon says:

    ROFL at her making up her own lines… she is bestest!! She must hv defintely got it from ur dad… luved those lines he penned!

  14. chipmunk2890 says:

    funny funny ! wahhhhh R becoming intelligent day by day! he he lala krishnan! he will laugh out loud and will be very found of the brat! sweet she s,

  15. Hey RM 🙂

    Please convey my wishes to your parents 🙂 Your Appa’s song is too cute 🙂 And so is R’s! hehehehe I kinda imagined her doing it. would have loved to see the cards 🙂

  16. ashreyamom says:

    R in new profession.. loved her words.. may be she heard her teacher telling her that, she just repeated it to u.. was wondering why thata is made student in college by R.. 🙂

  17. summerscript says:

    Wow.. A super cute song with rhyming words and all!! R is a rockstar!! 😀

  18. Seema says:

    I actually thought of your parents this morning and made a mental note to convey my wishes through you to them. I am a big fan of RMD and RMM (more so of the former).

    As with R, I am wondering how she pronounces her name? She made up such a sensible poem impromptu eh? Here I have Tammu, who also composes songs with non-sensical lyrics at the drop of a hat! And a Mannu to bang her palm against her own forehead unable to take ‘rm 😀

    Loved your dad’s poem re. Tell him, I’m a beeeg fan of his, will ya?

    • R's Mom says:

      Wishes will be passed 🙂

      oh she can pronounce her name…its just that when she is in a hurry, she says La instead of Ra..otherwise she can pretty much say Ra 🙂

  19. Swaram says:

    She is adorable 🙂 🙂

  20. Wow, smart kid! I love hearing stories about future song writers :). Keep up the good work!

    — Dave, who freelances for http://www.MyShopDiscountsBlog.com

  21. Amit says:

    I think the art of writing lyrics skipped a generation in your family or do you write lyrics too? 😛

  22. Lol…I see a budding career there! 🙂

  23. techie2mom says:

    Your appa wrote a really nice song, RM!! I think he passed on this genes of song writing to R?!?

  24. Scribby says:

    I liked the fact that you enlightened R about Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan’s b’day and why we celebrate teacher’s day. Such clear education will take R a long long way, kudos to you R-aama 🙂

    And the brat is getting creative day by day, eh? 🙂 she is super cute re 🙂

    P.S. have you let her use that mug yet or no?

Leave a Reply

