Some Places Where I Want to Settle Down

Disclaimer : Very kiddish post, read at your risk

Yes yes, I am eternally optimistic, though the spouse says that I am the most pessimistic person he has come across..gah to him

So I am dreaming that in not so far future, I will get a job in some of these places and then I will shift with family and settle down there…

anyways, so some of the places I want to settle down

Australia – obviously RD’s frequent visits there + I just read ‘In a Sunburned Country’ by Bill Bryson thanks to Sandhya’s recommendation

New ZealandΒ – well many reasons, mainly its close to Australia, and then I would love to have a dairy farm and make my cheese eh?

Iceland – After reading CR’s post about parental leave there and I think its one of those top 10 safest places to live in….I think those guys rock!

Switzerland – well its Switzerland boss!

FranceAfter reading Frances Mayes books on Tuscany thanks to TGND’s recos

ETA : Errr..Tuscany is in Italy..thanks LLT for pointing this out *Shamefaced*

But I would love to settle in France for the French cooking eh? thanks to the Julie & Julia book…I am not letting it go LLT πŸ™‚

ItalyΒ – Because I love Pizza and Pasta and as per Appa, once you eat those in Italy there are seldom other places you will like to eat them

Scotland –Β I dont know why!

Greenland – WHAT? I like the name since childhood and the fact that I learnt about it ‘there is no green in Greenland because its so cold!‘ How exciting is that?

CanadaΒ – I love the names Toronto and Ontario..got a nice ring to it eh?

Holland – Because of the Tulips I saw in the song ‘dekhaΒ ekΒ kwaabΒ tohΒ ye silsile hue’ πŸ˜‰
Surprisingly USA didnt make it to my list, nor did UK…though I know loads of people who would tell me both the places are equally good…ah well…why not πŸ™‚

So any jobs available anyone is aware of?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

94 Responses to Some Places Where I Want to Settle Down

  1. This is such a cute post, RM. πŸ™‚ May you get to live in one of these countries pretty soon! πŸ™‚

    As for me, my first choice would be UK, followed by Italy, France and USA. All thanks to the beautiful scenes my mind has conjured up after reading about these places in books. πŸ™‚

    So, you finally got to read Frances Mayes’s books? Which ones? How did you like them?

    In a Sunburned Country sounds interesting. Will check it out. I have never read any Bill Bryson.

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahha! thanks…

      oh I dont know why I didnt think UK and USA…they are pretty good places too

      I read the two parts of the Tuscany ones…super duper

      please read Bill Bryson…he is GREAT!

  2. hitchy says:

    I would certainly like to settle someplace in Uttranchal, or Himachal or Kashmir or Congo or Lake Superior in Canada or Serengeti or Amazons !!!!!!! πŸ˜€ Away from civilisation in short ! πŸ˜›

  3. My Era says:

    I agree with your appa that pizza, pasta made in the traditional Italian way tastes very different than it does when we make them πŸ™‚
    As far not settling in UK or USA I am so with you on that πŸ™‚
    You know a few years ago I too would had similar thoughts of having a lot of places in my mind where i’d love to settle, but life taught me to love my country (though I am not the die-hard-patriotic kinds) in a whole new way πŸ˜€
    Maybe having lived abroad for a while has changed my perspective.

    • R's Mom says:

      oh does it…I need to go to Italy eh?

      Yaa thats right you know ME..you have the experience of settling abroad, I dont ..so may be I will definitely change my mind πŸ™‚

  4. pixie says:

    I wouldn’t mind NZ!! πŸ˜€
    and I’ve always dreamt of having a house with a white picket fence in either Ooty or Goa!! πŸ˜›
    heh! don’t ask why though..
    lemme do a post now on this!

  5. Pingback: Dream house and places | Mytakeoneverything

  6. Please please settle down in Australia RM. I have list of reasons :
    1) I will get to meet you (yay)
    2) We will travel together to India (yay)
    3) It will be easier for RD also, he would not have
    4) You will be able to eat all different cuisines in their authentic taste whether it is Italian, Mexican, Greek, Chinese, Japanese, Korean,Turkish, French or Indian..
    5) As you said AUS is close to NZ
    6) I have read in your posts that you like spicy kettle chips that you can only find in AUS ?
    7) It’s cold here & it snows here as well like it does in Greenland & Switzerland
    8) To finally manaaofy (make you happy) you, Me & R will cook for you, bas πŸ™‚
    Did you said yes ???

    • R's Mom says:

      I loved loved loved your comment πŸ™‚ Need to show it to RD and ask him to start searching for a job asap πŸ™‚

      LOL on reason 8 :):)

      you are a sweetie

  7. Ashwathy says:

    I have news for you sweetie. UK did make it to your list. Scotland is part of UK πŸ˜› Take it from someone who lived in UK for a year. UK consists of 4 parts – Britain, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. πŸ˜€

    BTW, add me to all those places on your list. Excluding Greenland and Scotland, they are too freezing cold for my tastes. πŸ˜›
    And unlike you who just dreams, I am actually looking to shift in case an opportunity comes by πŸ˜‰

    • R's Mom says:

      Errr…I should have said Britain..darn my geography is horrible..first Tuscany and then this *really shame faced*

      I hope you get a job soon..then you can call me to you πŸ™‚

      • choxbox says:

        Nice post!

        Err.. Britain is the same as UK no?! Scotland is part of Britain in other words.
        I guess you meant England.

        And London is lovely! Take t from someone who was there was 8 years. Except for the weather of course. But just imagine if the weather were not so unpredictable what would folks talk about?!

        • R's Mom says:

          Chox and you are back here πŸ™‚

          Yaa yaa…I meant England..infact I meant London in particular..honestly I just found it to be a much cleaner version of Bombay πŸ™‚ the weather there is baap rey really weird..and only when I went there, I realised why the Brits were so obssessed with the weather πŸ™‚

  8. Love this post R’s mom πŸ™‚ I think Sweden would be nice too – it’s supposed to be a great place so far as respect for human rights in concerned. I hope you get a job in one of these places SOON!! πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      oh thanks IHM

      yep, even my Appa suggested Sweden..they have super human right laws as per him πŸ™‚

      • Ashwathy says:

        Oh yes Sweden! πŸ™‚ It’s supposed to be one of the best places for women to work, what with standard working hours, almost 45 days of leave a year or something like that, plus maternity leave with the option to extend it and work from home, plus lots of other benefits.
        I m not surprised IHM mentioned it! πŸ˜€

  9. Amit says:

    //Scotland – I dont know why!
    Because it is a beautiful place.
    *puts hands in his bag of posts and brings out this*
    http://mashedmusings.wordpress.com/2009/04/13/edinburgh-and-scottish-highlands-tour-part-1/
    http://mashedmusings.wordpress.com/2009/04/18/edinburgh-and-scottish-highlands-tour-part-2/

    And I want to settle in a small village in Switzwerland and open a small books and pastry shop there and sigh at the mountains while reading a book.

  10. sandhya says:

    LOL! Is RD reading this?

    Wait till you read the other Bill Bryson books. Then you may want to live in the US, the UK, Norway, Finland, Sweden, France, Germany, Africa…you get the drift.

    On an unrelated note, do you know that Bryson’s books are often classifies either under Humour or Travel or Science, depending upon what book stores think he is writing about? Also, do you know that he does not have any science background, yet his book ‘A Short History of Nearly Everything’ is the 2004 winner of the prestigious Aventis prize for general science?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Aventis_Prizes_for_Science_Books#2004_Winner

    • R's Mom says:

      oh RD does read the blog..just doesnt comment πŸ™‚

      Have booked the African one from the library now..

      Oh yaa…I did read about him on wikipedia…awesome fellow na he is !

      thank you so much for introducing him to me πŸ™‚

  11. Smita says:

    LOL!!! U have covered half the world πŸ˜›
    Me? Anywhere in Himachal in India! Bas!! On a foot hill with a lovely cottage! Bas Itna Sa Khwab hai!!!

  12. ashreyamom says:

    how about Denmark or Sweden?? my hubby says its a great place.. nice to work there.. πŸ™‚

  13. Mathangi Vijay says:

    RM you forgot the Librarian Job in Singapore!! And I can meet you. And its close to India. And its such a clean place. And you have holiday for Diwali here!! Hows that for settling in Singapore πŸ˜‰

    • R's Mom says:

      LOL..you have terrific memory eh?

      Even RD says he wouldnt mind working in Singapore πŸ™‚

      • Arch says:

        That makes four people who want you in singapore. Mathangi, RD, Me and R ( yes, ask her and she will agree).

        • R's Mom says:

          LOL infact there was this phase with R when she was telling us that she will go to Singapore with her friend Y leaving us behind..so the brat sure knows Singapore..

          I asked her why…pat came the reply..kyun ki mereko Singapore acha lagta hai πŸ™‚

  14. Nachu says:

    Wow! That is super dreamy, I say! As for me and Alok put together, we wanted to settle near Kapad beach and do farming nearby!! And smhow for ages, I have always wanted to be in Zaire (or rather congo) amidst wildlife and heavy rainfall!!

  15. chaitalichari says:

    My dear i am in goa what more do i need..i am more than happy to be here..
    Well i like NZ, Switzerland and Australia.

  16. deepM says:

    Scotland looks beautiful RM.

    You don’t like Mumbai huh?

    • R's Mom says:

      oh well…well..errr….errr…Mumbai…I like bombay okie..its not that I hate it..but its just that somehow I have a feeling its not a great place to bring up your child..but again, I must admit R has fun here…well…I dont know honestly..I am confused presently on my feelings of Bombay, once I sort it out, I will let you know

  17. summerscript says:

    Italy, Ireland , Greenland, Iceland ,Canada , Swiss and France – my list.
    If you get a job take me too as a helper πŸ™‚

  18. My first year over here, I went to this little lake for one reason – it was the lake featured in Harry Potter. It is a 40min drive from my place and a perfect picnic spot.
    Ab bol πŸ™‚

  19. Maddie says:

    Work from home is the new in thing!!! Live anywhere and carry your laptop!!

    And I am living in Scotland! So I can guarantee it is the best place.

    • R's Mom says:

      you live in Scotland…AWESOME!!!

      I dont know about WFH rey…I mean even if the company agrees to WFH, it should be feasible for them to pay me in phoren money na…I dont see that happening πŸ™‚

  20. Come to Scotland it is very beautiful place a bit cold but lovely..
    And then I am nearby what more do you want he he he he..

    Ok ok I might have given you a perfect reason to discard UK now.. 😦

    Well where ever one is happy is where I would like, back in my village when we had the kucha house.. it was simply awesome.. nothing could beat it..

  21. Well, you definitely need to come Down Under! Because then, I’ll get to meet you. [Yes, yes, I know I can meet you the next time I’m in Bombay but still…]. And if RD has had to come here for work, I’m sure it will be possible to move here, eh? πŸ˜‰ Anyway, will gladly assist you if and when you move to Sydney. πŸ™‚

    For me there was always just one place since I was 14 where I wanted to settle down…and thankfully, that dream has come true and I’m eternally grateful. Yes, Australia. πŸ˜€

  22. Such a cutey post RM ! I’d agree with greenland for exactly the same reason πŸ˜›

  23. Arch says:

    Why is Singapore not on the list?I am kaaa with you * tunrs her head off in mock anger!

    Btw,I want to go to green land for the same reason too!

  24. techie2mom says:

    Hey all the best, hope you get to stay in a place where you can enjoy πŸ™‚
    I would like to go back to Amdavad, and would want all my friends to come back as well, so that we can all enjoy as we used to πŸ™‚
    i would love to visit NZ for a vacation as it is the mecca of the adventure sports πŸ™‚

  25. Mayborn Gemini says:

    Is list mein USA kyon nahi hain, I am very sad..

  26. Swaram says:

    Supercool RM! I love travelling and would want to see the whole world, but settling down will always be here in India for me. So wherever u settle down, I will come and visit so that I get some more places to see around and tick them off my list lol πŸ˜‰

  27. Jazz says:

    Lovely RM, may your wish come true.

    I think I’d be glad with a lovely home and garden somewhere in Himachal with a library or bakery of my own like Ruskin Bond. Lol πŸ™‚

    Me and Imran like going on a walk here in CA seeing the cute houses and dreaming of owning one.

  28. VJ says:

    Yay !!! First is Australia on the list !!!
    Chal pack up and come fast !

  29. The Bride says:

    I wouldn’t want to to live anywhere too far from India so US, Canada and Australia are out – don’t particularly want to live there but they are considered good options for immigrants with families. And I have family in all places.

    I like the part of Asia I’m in, though I would probably prefer Singapore to Hong Kong as it’s a little more like home only cleaner, safer and more efficient. HK peeps, don’t kill me. I still like HK airport better okay? I think.

    The one place I kind of really want to try living in is Amsterdam, so I’m with you on Holland. We went there on holiday and though I thought Amsterdam wasn’t super great as a tourist destination (I like lots of old historical things – Anne Frank house was cool though); we stayed in the suburb just before Amsterdam and the sense we got of life there was so charming. Even though it’s not a big city and I’m typically a big city girl. Would break all my rules on where to live for Amsterdam.

    • R's Mom says:

      I have never been to Amsterdam, but Appa says is like the bestest place ever…I wish I could go there…

      LOL on like HK airport better heheeh πŸ™‚

  30. Smitha says:

    I was going to say that Scotland is in the UK πŸ™‚ But I have been beaten to it πŸ™‚

    But seriously, even England and Wales has some gorgeous places to live! Just gorgeous πŸ™‚ And Switzerland is so very expensive that it put me off completely. Its gorgeous, but it did not call out to me, as some places did, you know. Like Italy. I would love to live in Italy. I love the place, the food, and the feel of it πŸ™‚

    But seriously, if I were to settle anywhere else apart from Bangalore, I would go back to the UK, live in a green, green place, with woods at walking distance, farms minutes away, schools minutes away, lovely neighbours…. Heck! I’ve described everything I just left πŸ™‚

  31. Scribby says:

    you know I always have this feeling of living abroad at least for some years..for experiencing the smoothness of life, to experience self disciplined people, to experience cleanliness around….just to experience things around you know!

    but when the thought of going away from the family [read parents] comes to the mind, I’m a little shaky! All my “want-to” desires go out of the window πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

