Amma is Here

Since I cant write as beautifully as Arch, I will just write in the boring way saying yipeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Amma is here for a week

Goodies from Goa include

1. Cheedais made for the grand daughter, but enjoyed by the entire R family

2. Kaju

3. Badam

4. Groundnut ladoo

5. Salt groundnut

6. Chikki

7. Tartipal

8. Two kurtas for moi from Ahm which went to Goa and got transported to Bombay..talk about taking cloth travelling to a next level eh?

Its super fun to have her here..

Appa did a blink and miss coming in yesterday morning and leaving yesterday afternoon..

Maya aunty’s daughter had come down with her hubby and child to India and so they came to meet her πŸ™‚

We had lunch together…she being aunty’s daughter was DOT ON TIME! and then we had

1. Sambhar

2. Idlis

3. coconut rice

4. Lemon rice

5. Papad

6. Blackcurrant Icecream

7. Mango Icecream

yummmmmmmmm

the company was amazing, we had soΒ  much fun together..her kiddo and R became friends, foes, and then R had this major crying tantrum when they were leaving…my friend did get a bit uneasy leaving a crying child…we convinced her it was all natak :):)

======

Got four t shirts on Saturday….one for a friend who requested a HP theme, and three for kids…the brat wants an HP themed T shirt too..and she wants one with the warli painting..

RD is asking me if I want to make T shirt painting my profession..Gah to him for that πŸ™‚

in other news, Amma was shocked to know that R’s daycare doesnt take kids beyond 10 years..WHAT are you going to do about R she asked me all very perplexed and worried…Errr..its still 6 years ma before R turns 10…so the wise woman tells me ‘I still cant believe you turned 30 already. you never know how time will fly’

Did someone mention mothers will be mothers forever?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Amma is Here

  1. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Thats such a sweet Enthu filled post! I can FEEL that your Mom is there!
    So have fun and chill out with your mom. I am sure R is going to have a great time too..
    And On Mothers being Mothers Forever, I am Soo with you. They will never stop their concern on us, whatever our age be..
    So for now, have lots and lots of Fun!!

  2. hitchy says:

    Is this the second blog today that I am first on ~!? No I didnt read yet ! πŸ˜›

  3. hitchy says:

    Your Mommy is from GOA !? Meaning you are from GOA !?

  4. I wish my mom can also visit us frequently, disadvantage of living abroad 😦
    just had lunch and you again made me hungry by listing all the yummy food you had on the weekend πŸ™‚ BTW what is Tartipal RM?

    • R's Mom says:

      oh I can understand 😦

      Tartipal is well…its basically you take milk and boil it and then put lime in it and then you add sugar to it and it becomes this deciliously amazingly caramelish brown sweet…I think thats the recipe..otherwise will ask Amma and let you know πŸ™‚

      • Gayatri says:

        For people looking for shortcuts (like me!): you can also make it using condensed milk and 1Tbsp yogurt and make in microwave in 10 minutes. Caution: May not necessarily taste as yummy as home-made/mom-made one, but will do for those indulging in heavy nostalgia.

  5. ashreyamom says:

    hey enjoy.. yes mothers will be mothers.. so can i order one t-shirt for me bunty too.. handprinted by RM.. :P..
    wow idily sambar.. bunty loves it a lot.. she proves herself to be half tamilian at times..
    tell amma that after 4 years the day care center might think of extending the age limit, or u may change profession or quit.. so many things can happen na.. so dont worry from now on… πŸ™‚
    i want seedai recipe..

    • R's Mom says:

      oh tell me bunty’s size…I would love to make one for her…mail me πŸ™‚

      yep R is a bit idly sambhar freak as well πŸ™‚

      Seedai recipe will ask amma and tell you

  6. Sreetama says:

    Yayyyyy!!! Have a good time & a great week ahead! πŸ™‚

  7. Arch says:

    yaaayyyy πŸ™‚ there you go! Your amma got you thiratipaal?Mine did not get me anything beyond half packet cheedais. It is so typical of ammas to worry about stuff so far away πŸ™‚ Enjoy!!

  8. Smita says:

    LOL!!! The last statement is forver true πŸ˜€

    And u indeed had a fun weekend re πŸ™‚ And I am sure u will gain at leat 1 kg, I mean who wouldn’t with Mom around an the lovely cooking the do!!!!

    Enjoy the time πŸ™‚

  9. Sujatha says:

    hey.. ur amma brought seedai and groundnut laddoo.. i luv those too… sigh!! u r making me hungry 😦

    enjoy ur time with amma πŸ™‚

  10. Have a great time with mum! And thanks for making my mouth water the week I start my healthy diet… πŸ˜›

  11. deepM says:

    Just check in the morning found no new post and i kept the tab open, was just about to close and saw new post! πŸ™‚

    Why so late RM? We are habitual to read your post in the morning. πŸ™‚

    Its monday today. 😦 and dont feel like to start my work besides that its raining.. πŸ™‚

  12. sandhya says:

    Haffun, RM!

    LOL on RD’s Q about making t-shirt painting a profession. The ones I have seen are really good, you know! If I had been into t-shirts, I would have shamelessly asked you to do one for me. Yep, HP themed!

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yaa you think so..nahi rey Sandhya, its the guy who photographs them really well πŸ™‚

      I would love to paint a HP themed T for you…or wait, I could do it on a kurti and send it across heheeheh πŸ™‚ lemme know

  13. My Era says:

    Yaaaaaay! and offcourse time flies πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰
    I so wanna eat steaming lemon rice right away πŸ™‚
    Have a great time painting T-shirts!

  14. Blisssss.. I can’t wait for my mum to be here soon…

    And yes mothers will be mothers always…

  15. Amit says:

    I think you should start charging for the shirt painting. πŸ™‚
    Your mom lives in Goa? Wow!

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahah! the only person who will pay for it is RD πŸ˜‰ That too because I will hold a gun on his head and threaten him..well at least figuratively πŸ™‚

      yep parents shifted to Goa about 2 years ago πŸ™‚

  16. metherebel says:

    Sounds like you had a blast this weekend!
    Your maternal home is Goa. Lucky you πŸ™‚

  17. Of course, mothers will always be mothers. Mine still worries about me even though I am old enough to be a mother myself! πŸ™‚ Secretly, I love it, though it does irritate me at times! πŸ˜€

    So, are you going to make T-shirt painting your profession? πŸ˜€

    Drooling at the mention of all that yummy food… we had loads of fun over the weekend too.. hopefully, will do a post soon.

    Good to know that Aunty is here for a while with you, and that you guys are having fun. I am missing my mom badly, and wish she could come and stay with me for a while. 😦

  18. Swaram says:

    I lovvved the warli tee too πŸ™‚ Sach mein!

    And this is such a cute post … I so wanna call Ma now and ask her to come over for some days πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  19. meenamenon says:

    This post is so infectious…… I almost relived the moment of u meting ur mom **if u get wht am trying to say**….. he he!

    N yea yea yea… i think u should retail those kool HP tees…. I will definetely place the firts order(k if not the first, then one of the first ones)

  20. Zephyr says:

    Good, now you can be the brat for a change πŸ˜€ Give her my love for giving the world such a lovable girl πŸ™‚ Are you better now?

  21. pixie says:

    oh yea.. mothers will be mothers!!
    my mum is in NY (they are 2 hrs ahead of us), so Saturday mornings she calls at 7 our time and asks me if I have had breakfast and why the delay!!! Gah! I tell her, I’m yet to wake up and then she says – oh yea.. its 7 for you no? go back to sleep!! sigh!!!

    I can’t wait to get my hands on the loot as well!! πŸ˜›
    I will tag you to that post! :mrgreen:

  22. pixie says:

    eh?! where did my comment go?! 😦

  23. techie2mom says:

    Wow, i am drooling at the goodies and the dinner!!!!
    It feels great to meet your childhood friends….
    And yes mothers will always be mothers!!!

Leave a Reply

