Of Some Dancing Show We Watched

RD, R and I watched this episode of Jhalak Dikhla Jaa on Saturday night..the one in which Farah Khan and Boman Irani came.
As usual, let me state, I hardly watch TV. This was a one off thing I saw, mainly because I WANTED to watch instead of reading. (dont ask me why!) Often in the house, RD sits back on weekends watching TV while R and I are in snoozeland..mainly because I spend my time catching up on the lost sleep of the weekend…anyways midst hot awesome aloo parathas we watched this show..

and let me add, I am a big fan of Boman Irani…I like him as a person, as a actor, just as he is 🙂

My thoughts on THAT particular episode (doesnt mean that I am fan of the show, just that I picked up some points on the episode)

Farah Khan – Karan Johar interaction – To my disbelief, I actually found them funny. I loved the way the two interacted, without any starry qualities or anything. They were just being honest and their easy comradeship made me laugh aloud

Boman Irani – They didnt give him much footage, dont know why, but he didnt seem to make an issue about it. He was cool, commented positively and he is totally adorable. Though I must admit, I AM A FAN!

Karan Johar – I have never been a fan. I am pretty neutral to him, I neither love him nor I hate him. But to my surprise, I actually liked him in that episode. Ready to make fun of himself, giving the right comments, and all the fun with Farah Khan, I ended up liking him 🙂

Madhuri Dixit – I think she is gorgeous. Totally gorgeous. Yaa it may be due to make up or whatever, but the way she conducts herself, the way she smiles, the way she gives comments, I think I really like her.

Remo Fernandes D’Souza (ETA – sorry I got the name wrong, the Remo Fernandes is a famous singer of the yesteryears?, this guy is a choreographer) – I like this guy. I liked him even when he used to judge DID, which I used to watch occasionally. I think he gives real comments, gives honest marks and is superb as far as technical parts of the dance is concerned. I admire him definitely as a dancer.

On the judging – All the judges may have their favorites, but all in all, they were very nice about everyone. Some of the shows I have watched on ASia net, or even on Star,judges have been DOWNRIGHT RUDE!!! and I hate it…I remember in some show that my MIL watches on Asianet, I used to find only Usha Uthup who used to be really sweet, the rest of the judges were so rude. I mean boss, just because you are superb singers, dont be rude na..you can tell across your point politely right?

Well, RD tells me (He is my TV guru eh?) the rudeness increases TRP…seriously? I mean, I used to find it embarrassing and wanting to change channels when someone is rude to someone on TV, but apparently most Indian junta love the drama *rolls eyes*

anyways, on this particular episode, I found all the judges really really nice and giving even the technically incorrect parts being told very polite…I really liked that

Bharati Singh – I had never heard about her. RD tells me she is a stand up comedian. I had an issue when they  made an ‘issue’ about her weight and had people interviewed on how they admire her and if she can dance so can anyone etc etc. Then I was like, well, she is a positive person. She is inspiring other people to dance. So thats one good thing. Though I must admit, all the talk and making fun of her weight, did leave a distaste in my mouth. Again, she was absolutely cool about it. She poked fun of herself and I admire a person who can take such ribbing positively. I would have been offended. and oh! she dances really really good!!

Isha Sharvani – What the hell is that girl doing in the contest. SHE IS A DANCER Boss! by profession!!!! how could the other contestants agree to compete with her?? but again like RD tells me, if I get paid a crore, I will dance even with Mrinalini Sarabhai..ah well!

Ravi Kishen – He is a very very famous Bhojpuri star and as per RD, he is as rich as Amitabh Bachchan, if not more…He got kicked out in the episode and he was really humble you know. I was pretty astonished by his behaviour. Of course, it may all be an act, but whatever, for someone so popular in Bhojpuri cinema, I thought he showed as if he had his head screwed right!

Why am I writing this? Well I dont know. Guess, just like that! Felt like recording an episode of dancing eh?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Of Some Dancing Show We Watched

  1. pixie says:

    I watch the show here regularly! I think Isha is absolutely gorgeous!! 😀
    I love Boman and I love Remo!
    Most of the choreographers are from DID and that is really awesome because Remo made sure they got the opportunity! 🙂
    And Ravi Kishen seemed really humble! I didnt know he was THAT rich! Whew!
    And yea Madhuri is gorgeous and Karan Johar doesnt get on your nerves! 😀

    • R's Mom says:

      oh she is gorgeous..just that I think its unfair she is in competition 🙂

      oh yaa…thats what even RD told me about choregraphers being from DID!…you are as much a TV guru as RD eh?

  2. Iyoo…rama..it is bery bery good if you don’t watch too much TV :mrgreen: One episode and you had so many observations to pen down? 😯 The only thing I would have noticed was Madhuri’s dress 😳

    Ps: I like Boman Irani too 😛
    PPS: Your blog is the first one I am reading after my forced hibernation 😉

  3. Jazz says:

    Even I felt it unfair with other participants as Isha is a trained professional dancer.

    And I loveee Bharti, I sometimes watch just her performance and shut. I used to long to see her in Comedy Circus on Sony. 🙂

    Boman Irani is really sweet and humble, let me catch this episode on YouTube.

    Ravi Kishan is that famous eh?! Did not know.

    And is Darsheel still there ?

  4. Amit says:

    //rudeness increases TRP
    Yes, it does and so does tears, sad family stories about how the contestant lives in a chawl, stories of how the contestant danced even when he had fever, stories about how the contestants pulled each other’s hair and fought.
    If you watch it for a while, you will start believing that you are watching a soap or a very sad Hindi movie. There is no professionalism.

  5. Nice observations! 🙂

    Like you, I don’t watch much TV. Rarely, I really WANT to watch it instead of reading or sleeping or doing something else, and that is when I watch it. In the few times I watch, I have so many opinions about different things that I drive the OH mad. 🙂

    Madhuri Dixit is looking all the more gorgeous these days. Well, maybe it is because of the make-up, but still,,, not everything can be faked, no?

    And, yes, the fights… the tension… the drama… all of this does go on to increase the TRP. I know that, for a fact.

    • R's Mom says:

      I think I watch dance shows more for the actual dance than anything else…I usually prefer the change channels when the judges are commenting etc

      oh yaa..MD is gorgeous 🙂

  6. The Bride says:

    I think one rude judge was a format popularised by Simon Cowell on American Idol (and they’d have one overnice judge – Paula Abdul – to balance him out) so it’s not an Indian thing. And have to admit Simon was my favourite. After he left, I pretty much stopped watching. He kind of told it like it is, rather than being rude in a personal way though.

    This show sounds like Dancing with the Stars, which tends to attract celebrities who want to give thier career a fillip. So that might explain some of the people who agreed to participate.

    • R's Mom says:

      See…thats fine with me..if someone just states the truth its okie, but these guys in Asianet were pretty personal as well..again I would prefer a person who is polite than rude 🙂

      yaa yaa..RD did mention its like a copy of Dancing with the Stars

  7. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Hey I’ve never watched this show but have heard a lot about it. But its just that I’ve got fed up of these reality shows. The fake drama, hue and cry for TRP, favoritism, I am so so bored of them. I agree with you on the rude comments part.. I really dont know they have to show so much attitude while giving comments. Usha Uthup has always been a star in all the shows I’ve seen.
    I really like Boman Irani and the gorgeous Madhuri. And the fact that Madhuri is an excellent dancer herself makes it justifiable of her to be a judge in dance show.
    And RM! Really nice analysis 🙂 I felt like I watched the show 🙂

  8. Ashwathy says:

    One of the very few television shows that I’ve watched. Some episodes earlier, I mean, not this episode you are referring to.

    See? This is another reason why you are my sis. I absolutely love Boman Irani too. He is so effortless, both off-screen and on-screen. 🙂 Sheer genius.

    Isha Sharwani makes my jaw drop every time I see her performance in show. I feel she is meant for international stages, not just in India.

    Loved the spirit of Bharati Singh. Even I didn’t know of her before this show. But I love her attitude. Totally bindaas!

    Have u watched any episode/season of Koffee with Karan? It’s worth a watch. He’s a good host, and manages to draw out answers from stars which the audience are hoping to listen to.

    You forgot to mention Chithra in Asianet as a star judge. She was (and is) THE sweetest 🙂 No airs, no attitude. A very gentle guidance. She’s a total gem.
    Also try watching singers Venugopal and Sujatha in Munch Junior Star Singer on Asianet. They are very gentle with the kids. They gently correct the kids without ever being rude.

    • R's Mom says:

      Boman Irani is so cute na 🙂

      Isha is a superb dancer and so is her mom, but to compete in this 😦

      I havent watch Koffee with Karan AT ALL! I need to search on you tube

      oh yaaaaaaa…Chitra is super duper sweet…I LOVE her 🙂

      and Sujatha as well…she is great 🙂

  9. Never seen this show. But remo if its the singer from goa you talking of, I am a big fan of his and he is such a lovely person, long time back I had met him and it did not seem he was a heartthrob in goa…

    I like boman tooo..
    And for madhuri stood in a que to see her as one of my best friend had to see her , 6 hours we stood … 🙂

  10. Smitha says:

    Havne’t watched it 🙂 So can’t comment 🙂 I remember having a crush on Remo, long, long, long time ago, when he used to come on DD : )

    As for judges being rude, I think they’ve picked it from Simon Cowell, but have to say, I do find him fair- or at least he used to be, some 5 years ago when I saw him judging 🙂

    Btw, RM, the one thing I miss in India is being able to read your blog first thing in the morning, as soon as I wake up 🙂 These days, I wake up before you blog 😦

    • R's Mom says:

      sorry sorry…this Remo guy is different..this one is Remo D Souza…I made a mistake..sorry!

      Yaa even Bride said the same thing, I dont know about him!

      Awww! you are a sweetie arent you 🙂

  11. Sreetama says:

    Wow ! Good analysis! I agree with all the points you have shared, especially the ones about Bharti & Isha! Your last line was a complete er! 😀

  12. Smita says:

    Oh I love watching JDJ for 4 reasons
    1- Madhuri Dixit
    2- Bharti (I love her spirit & humor)
    3- Manish the host (His SOH is damn good) &
    4- Dance plus Remo

    I try not to miss any episode and I somehow have loved all the seasons of this show. ANd yes RD is right drama creates TRP but thanfully these people donot get into that. And yes I also love Farah Khan’s SOH so this episode was fun to watch 🙂

    Check ur mail please

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yes..that Manish fellow is good na…he has a super sense of humor!

      oh watch all episodes !!!! wah you are great!

      wait will check the mail 🙂

  13. On a totally unrelated note, have you been to this place called Theobroma in Mumbai? http://mumbai.burrp.com/listing/theobroma_colaba_mumbai_bakery-shops-dessert-shops/13265277

    Have heard a lot of good things about this place. It is a heaven for chocolate lovers. 🙂 My team lead once brought back chocolates and brownies from this place to Bangalore, and we hogged them like anything. Truly awesome!

    • R's Mom says:

      Errr…I replied to this one where did it go!!!

      anyways wanted to tell that RD is a big fan of Theobroma…I have had it only once…its sin..pure sin 🙂

  14. techie2mom says:

    i too like Boman Irani, he really is cool…And i like Farah also for the way she has been defying every rule out there…And well Karan Johar (though i think that he is snobbish) i found him entertaining in Coffee with Karan…
    And yes, Madhuri Dixit is really gorgeous, i saw her photo in the newspaper and i was wondering, how does she do that (For that matter, even Sridevi looks fab)

  15. meenamenon says:

    Lol at this post! Think of creating post from a episode n a interesting one at tht!

  16. Swaram says:

    I have watched about 2-3 episodes and love how good a sport Bharti is 🙂 I absolutely hate it when people make fun of anybody who is fat or thin, but she takes in her stride, totally 🙂

    I missed Remo on DID this time, bcoz he was here 😦

  17. Deeps says:

    I am yet to watch this show, so dont have much to say :(. As for rude-judging, like most of the above commenters, I think too that its a trend that Simon Cowell started which is being followed by our judges here!

  18. You know, you are a ver bad influence. I dusted off the entire web and finally got a video of the first episode of this show 🙄 Me who never watches TV, watched the entire thing and like you came up with so many observations. 😛

    The thing I hated most was the inclusion of a kid in a show full of adults gyrating to songs like Chikni Chameli and that disgusting pallu ke neeche chupa ke….. 😥

    It beats the hell out of me why Stars like Talat Aziz and Sanath Jayasuria would agree to do this show and embarrass themselves 😯

    I agree 100% with you about Isha. She is a professional dancer and this show is advertised as one with contestants who are newbies to the dancing world. I think she already has too much advantage above all the others.

    Ravi Kishen…..sigh! What can I say about him? that too when he made an entry with Rakhi Sawant 😐

    Oh and the thing i loved the most was Madhuri singing….god I never knew she could sing with an old world charm.

    If I can get over with the hangover I have right now after watching 1 episode, I might google again for the Boman Irani one 🙂

    • R's Mom says:

      Errr…I havent seen the first episode..so dont blame me!!

      Madhuri Sings!!! I didnt hear that….Ravi Kishen with Rakhi Sawant…hai bhagwan!!

      Errr…check the Boman Irani one..its nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

