And So Movies It Is Today……

It all started with this post from Amit

Go on read his post…

This post is nothing really connected to his post….his post was just a start point of the thought process…

and before that I add a disclaimer that I am not a movie buff at all…I hardly watch movies that too when RD insists making me sit through it or books tickets in hall which means I have to go 🙂 also the movies which I usually like are rom coms without any violence, which have happy endings..yaa yaa…I am yet to grow up!

So sometime last month, when MIL was here, she had put Hum Aapke Hain Kaun on TV…

Just got up from sleep in the afternoon, I was wandering around searching for my book, when I came to the scene of the dog with dramatic music giving the letter to Monish Bahl instead of Salman Khan etc etc…

I am thinking, THIS is the movie which changed the face of Indian cinema in the 90s….drove people to theatres and got back the magic of watching movie in cinema halls..wasnt it?

and I must admit, there was a time in life I knew all the songs of the movie by heart…and I look back at myself with a slight amount of amusement…I mean WHAT exactly did I like in the movie???

The fact that it was all about a happy family…or didnt I notice how the evil mami was portrayed to be evil and yet became pregnant and loved in the end of the movie, or that no one in that house saw Madhuri and Salman dance to pehla pehla pyaar hai!! or that Renuka Sahane had the guts to give her child to Madhuri who held the baby IN ONE HAND and danced to Dhiktana..hai bhagwan..thats what I call real guts eh? or that scene where Dushyant falls in love with Shankutala or something like that!

no seriously, while initially Madhuri seemed to be a smart girl giving back to Salman khan, eventually it did turn too sugary for my taste!!
When I saw the movie recently I cringed at so many scenes, that I was wondering what had made me a fan earlier!!

and then this thing about Kuch Kuch Hota hai…like Amit mentioned, about Anjali turning into a bharatiya nari for Shahrukh to fall for her :(…not there is absolutely nothing wrong in being a bharatiya nari, .and people change you know..from wearing jeans for ever to wearing saris for ever..its a very very individual choice and I totally respect it..who knows five years down the line the scaredtowearasareebecauseIwilltrip RM can be willwearonlysareesbecausetheyarecomfortable RM…you cant predict that…I agree…but but…I HATED the scene in which Anjali tries to dress up like Rani Mukherjee and impress Shahrukh…no seriously..I know its only a movie..but still!!!

and then the pallu needed to fall off her blouse for Shahrukh to notice Anjali eh?

Or even in Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jayenge…why the hell didnt Kajol just stand up and tell Amrish Puri she loved Shahrukh..things would have been so much easier..and poor Mandira Bedi wouldnt have been heart broken na!

The other day, after so much ho-halla about Dabangg, RD was like lets watch it…I hated the movie (I dont believe in showing violence in movies, I think it affects the human brain in some way or the other and I certainly believe that violence that has increased in our day to day lives is some how connected to that crude horrible violence shown in our movies!, but again, its a personal opinion!)

I hated the song ‘munni badnam’ R was crazy about it though, and I must admit the number is catchy..but I hated the visuals…I hated the fact that there was so much violence, I hated it that Sonakshi Sinha did nothing but smile shyly in the movie! Again, like RD says dont like it dont watch it simple..exactly I agree…if I dont like something, I dont watch it, then I wont crib…
RD has this logic that movies like Dabanng are hits because people go to watch movies to forget the reality, to loosen  up, not get worried..which is why intense art movies may not work, you know who wants to see your on screen hero suffer…I would rather have him bash up 20 goons and get his girl than watch him fade away to a normal life….I dont know…I really dont know..is that why people watch movies?

My problem is even worse..after I watch a movie, I keep thinking about it and getting sad for the people who suffer in it (I know its not true!!!) and then keep losing sleep over it…one of the reasons why I dont watch movies at all!

But, I do feel like Amit wrote to the Indian Film Industry, that they realise that what they do often has a very strong effect on the masses in India..we almost look up to our movie stars as ideals and compare them to Gods…I so wish they understand that and are more careful on what they portray on sceen..well if wishes were horses!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to And So Movies It Is Today……

    • Scribby says:

      hahaah RM 🙂 what an analysis !!!

      On a serious note: I too hate violence in movies and in general too yarr..I mean even reading in newspapers about the violence people are involved in, I feel jittery..how could one harm other??? sigh!

      secondly, there are lot of movies where today I feel stupid too that I liked them in yesteryear 🙂

      thirdly, but then these are movies and though they’ve changed a little or say have graduated to a certain level, I still feel Bollywood has a long long way to go…now when you watch nice Hollywood movies you come to know the difference of logic and reality being present in a story line!

      P.S. On Amit’s post! I simply loved it and have shared with many people on FB..I think the message should reach everyone…and it surely is a nice idea to really carry stones and pelt them at such pigs!

      • R's Mom says:

        I agree when you say Bollywood has a long way to go..though there have been some excellent movies recently…*I have read about them, not watched them*

        Arey Amit is a rockstar 🙂

        • Scribby says:

          oh yes of course we have lot of gem movies in our kitties…and that’s incredible!

          And you know that I’m a movie buff don’t you? I see almost 3-4 movies a month 🙂 I think I should start doing movie reviews too for people like you,what say? 😉

          • Scribby says:

            also forgot to mention that I love movies which are close to life you know..reality movies…though Husby too gives the same logic that movies are for fun and to take a break from your life…I still like real life-off beat movies than artificial drama 🙂

          • R's Mom says:

            oh yes..you do see a lot of movies…please start reviewing…it will be useful..though honestly Scribby I am at a stage in life where sitting in a hall for 3 hours seems to be waste of time, would rather read a book instead …eeeksss! I am seriously getting older eh?

  1. Sumana says:

    RD is right on the point when he said that who goes to watch a movie full of reality, which we see in day to day life. But that said, i too hate artificiality shown in mostly karan johar and yash chopra movies and the hum saath saath hain and stuff. Are they not portraying something too much to digest???

    • R's Mom says:

      yaa..exactly..its like too much larger than life I guess…but again, its a personal opinion rey…I am sure loads of people love to watch it 🙂

  2. summerscript says:

    There are so many things which I liked in movies when I was a kid that sound stupid to me now. Scenes, comedy tracks ,dresses,dance many many things.May be because I am a grown up now and started thinking (!). 😛
    But at the same time I like certain movies the same amount even today.
    The last para is so true. So so true!

  3. Amit says:

    I think we have all overgrown the movies which came in the 90s. Now when I watch them, I feel that they could give me diabetes. I can’t sit through KKHH and HAHK anymore. And imagine there were times when I knew all the dialogues of KKHH! When I collected their posters like crazy.
    Today, movies are all about making money. The directors know that crappy comic sequences and item numbers will bring in money. Another point which I would like to highlight (I know I will sound rude and snobby) is that Indians have a very bad sense of humour. And that is why crappy comedies work. It will change over time as masses get more and more educated. The process has already started.
    Ok. Enough gyan!
    Thank you for mentioning my blog. 🙂 I am honoured. 🙂 *blushes again* 😀

    • R's Mom says:

      arey you are a rockstar 🙂 I love most of your posts 🙂

      guess, you are right, movies is all about making money 🙂

      Err..about the bad sense of humor…I agree…sometimes I find the humor so cheap that I am embrassed to even watch it 😦 why would you sound rude???)

      • Amit says:

        Whenever I sometimes say this in a discussion in my office (that Indians have a bad sense of humour), a lot of people jump on me. Are you not an Indian? How can you say such things?
        They think I sound rude. And then I make it worse by replying back – yes, unfortunately! Haha! I don’t mean it but the look on their face is priceless. 🙂

  4. I so get where you are coming from. These days, I hardly see movies at all – because many of the things shown in them are in extremely bad taste. Cheap comedy, violence, vulgarity, and horrible language. I know some films have to be made like that, but these days that’s all I seem to be seeing in films. The few ‘clean’ and ‘good’ films that come out aren’t even noticed by people, and that is sad. I have stopped going by people’s reviews of movies and watch one only when I am interested in the storyline.

    I cringe when I watch HAHK or DDLJ or KKHH now too. I used to love these movies earlier too. Now, I find them too sugary-sweet and ridiculous. Honestly. As you say, I keep thinking why these heroines cannot stand up for themselves and why they have to be so overly dramatic.

    Yes, movies do have a tremendous impact on the masses in India. I wish film-makers would use that to good purposes rather than trying to harness that factor for improving their chances of success at the box office.

    PS: I love Sheila Ki Jawani and Munni Badnam. Yes, the moves in the song are cheap, but still… Double standards, eh?

    PPS: One more aspect in which the OH and RD are similar – I am all for realistic movies these days, while the OH loves to watch mindless films (Rajni included). He says people want to escape from reality after a hard day at work, while I am not entirely convinced of that logic.

    **Let me run away before RM decides to throw me out of her blog**

    • R's Mom says:

      in my case, usually RD watches the movie and lets me know if its upto my liking hehehe 🙂

      I wish film-makers would use that to good purposes rather than trying to harness that factor for improving their chances of success at the box office. – Amen to that 🙂

      PS – so do I TGND, so do I…there is nothing wrong in that…why would you call that double standards..though honestly I prefer munni to sheila 🙂

      PPS – These guys are getting to same same eh?

      Why should I throw you out da? I agree to whatever you wrote 🙂

  5. Sujatha says:

    Hey RM.. Why there is no tamil movies in your list ??

  6. Oh I totally hated how the evil Mami in HAHK, previously childless, is shown to be heavily pregnant after having had a change of heart–as if to suggest that those who have trouble conceiving are somehow at fault themselves!! What a terrible insinuation!
    And about that pallu-slipping scene in KKHH, SRK looks like he wasn’t aware that Anjali had boobs too. Heh.

    • R's Mom says:

      Infact SH, I didnt notice that at all until this time when I saw it with MIL around!! what nonsense na…

      I guess, SRK wasnt aware of the boobs hehehe

  7. My Era says:

    I too am not a movie buff and to many people’s horror I have not seen HAHK even once so no comments on that.
    As far KKHH, it was released at a time when I was SRK’s die hard fan, still I strongly disliked the way an 8 year old was made to plot things and worst still how SRK got both the girls in the movie only because he was THE man.
    Some movies really bring a bad taste to mouth despite being blockbusters 😦

    • R's Mom says:

      seriously you havent watch HAHK..how could you not..yaada yaada heheheeh 🙂

      I think I am the only Indian who hates SRK..only two movies he was bearable as per me ‘Chak de’ and ‘Swades’ I think I hate him otherwise!!!

      • My Era says:

        How could you not love SRK in your teens?? 🙄 😉 😉

        OK enough about SRK, for I don’t like him now, or maybe my liking for movies and stars seems to have died altogether 😥 😥

        I too enjoy comedy movies more than anything, though double meaning dialogues that are used to add comic effects in most movies are an absolute turn off for me. I am with you in not liking violence in movies, it sure tempts people to show their anger in stronger and physical form for they give an illusion that heroes do it so it must be the right way 😦 😦

  8. Jazz says:

    Hmm I hated family movies and loved action movies as a kid, I never liked hum aapke hain kaun or hum saath saath hai, I adored akshay kumar and suniel shetty for their fights 🙂

    And you know the reason I watch movies is exactly what RD says, to relieve of tensions, to chill out.

    Now toh I just like to watch comedy in any form. 😛

    • R's Mom says:

      but sometimes the comedy gets overbearing na?

    • Jazz says:

      Just read Amit’s blog, and I must say I was so so disappointed by the movie Cocktail, because I expected it to be different. He’s right, such movies are so damaging, and should not be entertained.

      And did I say I hate ‘item songs’.. Ugh !!

      • R's Mom says:

        well loads of people have given a negative feedback about Cocktail..so am definitely not watching it 🙂

        Like I told TGND, I like the peppy music, but the lyrics and the visuals are ugh!

  9. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Hey RM, I am so so with you regarding movies. Yes, even I saw HAHK, DDLJ, KKHH etc etc in the past and now cant even stand half an hour of the movie.
    Tamil movies, are still worse, at least I feel in Bollywood sometimes a different movie comes up. Something which has food for thought, but in Tamil, nowadays its just Hero worship. I also agree that I go to movies to only relieve tension and all that but cant just remove my brains, remove it aside and watch the antics of the hero. Sometimes, the Gyan the hero gives in the movie is so so irritating that you wish you beat the hero black and blue
    Comedy, nowadays almost always is having a tinge of vulgarity and makes you cringe. There were so many good comedians in yester years and their comedies were pure unadulterated fun. But now, not the case.
    So, eventually I end up watching very very few movies.. Its so true that movies have such a huge impact on the society and the movie makers should definitely keep it in mind before showing the unnecessary amounts of violence or vulgarity in movies

    • R's Mom says:

      I honestly havent seen a Tamizh movie in years…I dont even remember the last one I saw…I think it was Roja which I saw with subtitles…I dont get the Tamizh too much!

      comedy really now a days has more vulgarity than clean comedy…I hate those chaddi jokes, sexist jokes, racist jokes..they irritate me like hell!

  10. Ashwathy says:

    A lot of movies which were like a cult earlier…. are sometimes just plain annoying when watched now. DDLJ and KKHH are classic examples. We have grown up, are more wise to the ways of the world, or simply the world has changed a lot since then so cliches don’t work as much.

    There are people who watch them, enjoy them. Like RD says, go there to loosen up and then come back home to normal life. Cinema is their little fantasy world. Movies like Housefull, Rowdy Rathore and Dabangg work simply because of that.

    Having said that, I have really wished portrayal of women underwent a change in Hindi cinema. Like I commented for Amit’s post, films like Ek Hasina Thi are fabulous attempts to break the mould and look at something different. There are many South Indian movies (particularly Malayalam and Tamizh – not sure about Kannada or Telugu since I don’t watch those) where there are strong female characters and stories that hit hard.

    We almost ALWAYS see the (average) hero falling in love with a beautiful girl, wooing (stalking) her and finally getting her to say yes. Until then we are made to see how much the hero pines for the girl, is madly in love with her, dreams about her all the time, his agony etc.
    I don’t remember the last time I saw a movie with the reverse in effect, ie, an average looking girl falling for a cute guy and eventually he also reciprocating it. ‘Pyar Tune kya kiya’ tried, but with disastrous results, coz the storyline went elsewhere. Why don’t we have such stories?
    Simply because the film world (writers, directors) are dominated by men hence the male point of view always comes across? Or simply because of the patriarchal society where they know male point of view sells more than female ones, hence will guarantee film’s success? 🙂 Food for thought….

    • R's Mom says:

      As per my parents, there are loads of Malayalam movies with strong messages in them…but Ashwathy, I tried watching a couple of Malayalam movies with subtitles and I came back too depressed 😦 (Dont ask me the names of the movies, I dont know!)

      I havent watched Pyar tune kya kiya (I saw the song on TV and was frightened of Urmila) and no didnt watch Ek Hasina thi either!

      • Ashwathy says:

        There are good enjoyable movies too – not just depressing ones. Try watching ‘Traffic’ or ‘Salt n Pepper’ which released last year. Very good movies. And I seriously advise you to take up movie watching in south indian cinema.

        Ek Hasina Thi is a definite must-watch!!!

  11. meenamenon says:

    Hmm I agree with so much u say! Posiibly somewhere v unconciosuly people do absorb the nuances of a movie into their mannerisms! There is indeed a need of policing until a child\adult reaches a age where they can view it objectively n not absorb the entire content!

    But having said that do u think we making too muchj of hue n cry of some of this senseless movies! To ut it in Rs lang(:-D)… “Dekne ka aur bool jaane ka!”

    • R's Mom says:

      hahah LOL on R’s language..

      I dont know about the hue and cry thing rey Meena…I guess, Amit’s post is a lot more relevant..this one was just a afterthought 🙂

  12. ashreyamom says:

    i used to be a movie bluff, but now i dont find time.. this happens to me, once a favorite movie, but now sounds totally illogical.. may be they were all dillogical.. :).. i am big fan of SRK, wanted a dream boy like him, Raj of DDLJ.. but now, i rethink about it.. i think with the age, the expectations on the movie changes..

  13. Again the question comes that why do we go to watch a movie, what is the idea behind it , I come home tired and have nothing to do , so to cheer up or do something different , I call a friend and we plan lets go for a movie

    THAT is the whole idea behind it , WE dont go to a movie to LEARN or know the way of the world or whatever , It is pure Time pass and if possible maybe a bit of adrenalin rush or a laugh …

    Thats my understanding, movies with social messages never do WELL, because we people dont like someone telling us how to behave or do things

    If we go to a cinema for time pass then they do the job pretty well ..

    • R's Mom says:

      I agree…we watch a movie to cheer up…

      But I will never agree that we dont learn from movies..we may not like ‘learn’ anything specific, but unfortunately a large number of people in India look up to movie actors and their mannerisms are often copied..when the hero hits 100 people and saves the heroine or the heroine pretends to be shy and coy and helpless, it definitely gets imbibed in the minds of people…thats my personal opinion and I may be wrong…

      I am not asking for movies with social messages…I am asking for clean comedies and equal potrayal of a man and woman in the movie..of course I may be wrong 🙂

      • Haanji thats what I wanted to say.. we shud go to movies just to see a movie and not to see what hero does, or heroine does, it is after all REEL life.. It shud be a few hours off from REAL life..

        thats the idea I go with,

        and I did not say anything on the male – female or what not , because I have my views on that SET, and they wont change, we shud be looking at each other as human beings FIRST and then go to the secondary part of male or female .. when we do that all will fall in place for sure ..

        and RM I am sorry if i said something wrong.. YOU ARE NOT WRONG ..

  14. Smita says:

    Hmmm I am a movie buff and thought post Arnav I only go to a theater when a Salman Khan movie releases I still read a lot of Bollywood news 😀

    As far as I am concerned I do not give much thought to a movie once I am out of a theatre as far as the issues that you have talked about are concerned, I see it like this. These film makers show what the public wants to see. People make movies like Dhamaal, Golmaal series, Rowdy Rathore etc a hit and good movies often go unseen. I feel that there are sensible movies that are being made too the only thing is they are not being sold well because wo chalta nahin hai and in movies, jo chalta hai wohi dikhta aur bikta hai.

    😀 So all I can say to you is see the movies that u feel are sensible otherwise chuck it. Picture hi to hai.

  15. Sreetama says:

    I so agree with you! Like each & every point so reflects my thoughts too! I loved these movies when I watched them as a kid, madly in love with SRK or admired Madhuri or Kajol like godesses! But come to think of it, all men want women who would wear sarees, be a morning person & sing Om Jai Jagdish in front of the temple, can sing, dance & cook well, good with kids n elders at the same time. I read Amit’s post too and he is so right while mentioning women are just objectified/stereotyped. From Anjali in KKHH to Veronica in tail or even for that matter, Nisha (Karishma Kapoor) in Dil To Pagal Hai… The picture remains the same…

  16. pixie says:

    😆
    I agree with everything you have written!! I didn’t like Kuch Kuch Hota Hain and I loved Hum Appke hain Koun just for Salman and Madhuri!! Salman had nice eyes back then!! 😛
    Hopping off to read Amit’s post now!

  17. shaktii says:

    ha ha ha that was a hilarious post RM..
    After a long time iam here.. and loved reading risms..
    HAHK that time i loved that movie and watched it like crazy those days.. but now cant see it anymore..but i loved renuka in that more than anybody..not even madhuri.. your observation is true dear.. so much comedy really.. and the KKHH what u said is so true..hehheeh

Leave a Reply

