Of Blowing Away Money and Falafels

Errr…thats what we did over the weekend..

On the way back from the airport after dropping MIL and GMIL, we stopped at Irla…its is very Gujarati and pseudo Gujarati’s (read RM) dream destination…While its known for its Alfa market where you get goods like mobiles and cosmetics…errr..only thing is you have to pay rokada…which in English means ‘hard cash’

You get everything from phoren land here..even sea salt chips..no saachmein.

I RD went berserk buying stuff…dont ask how much we spent…I hang my head in shame 😦

Lets just say we have enough body washes, razors, deos, yaadaΒ  yaadaΒ to last us for an year…

Being indulgent parents, we even bought *shock* pink colour crocs for the brat..yaa yaa..we are generous that ways πŸ™‚

=======

Anyone eaten Falafels…if you havent, you should. They taste awesome, yummy, amazing…I am sold..next time I go to a food court, I am going to settle for one of those…

Err…just for records, its the first time ate one!

========

I tried to make that brownie which TGNDΒ wrote here…R helped me maximum while her dad was busy doing nothing hmpf..on Sunday morning, we took out the seeds of the dates, etc…and then put it in the mixie…I didntΒ have any juice..had half a mind to add vodka..but realised that 2/3rd members in the famlyΒ are tetotellers, so did with rose water..what? its a kind of juice na?

I refuse to tell on the blog that it turned out to be tasty, but it didnt get kadak, so I made round round ladoos out of it..and the brat refused to eat them..hmpf! this girl doesnt know what good taste it all about..but RD, well he has married me in sickness, health and shapelessness..so ate it and praised it as well πŸ™‚

=========

Rejoice..R slept till 8 on Sunday morning..for RD and I, its aΒ great achievement..we are so proud of her!! yipeeeeeeeee

=====

We bought garlic after 3 months into the house, and I must admit, I love the smell of garlic..I am definitely not a vampire eh?

========

Yesterday night we made some oats ka cutlets..it was yummm..yes it did have potatoes but just the boiled ones, so I am consoling myself that they would add to the already bulky me πŸ™‚

======

I read Julie and Julia the book, (there is a movie as well) you know in which she makes 529 recipes in 365 days…I thinking of doing something like that..will it work?? well yesterday I made oats cutlet..so may be thats a start..but I am not so ambitious..so I will keep it 200 recipes in 365 days… πŸ˜‰

Lets see how it starts..

Wish me luck folks πŸ™‚

oh and the oats ka cutlet ka recipe (Source: Quaker oats ka recipe book)

Take 1 cup of oats roast them. Then take 2 boiled potatoes, grated doodhi, some beans, some carrots (I didntΒ have!) some cabbage (I didnt have) some aamchoor, some chilly powder, some pepper, some lime juice, some oregano, salt

sabΒ mix karnekaΒ (as per R) and then make cutlets and toast them on tava and eat them with sauce…

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Of Blowing Away Money and Falafels

  1. sandhya says:

    Irla has always been a shoppers’ paradise. Remember my college days.

    And good luck with the Julie and Julia project. Hope to see more interesting recipes here.

  2. pixie says:

    errmm.. i dont like Oats! 😦
    And your weekend sounds like fun!!
    All I did was watch chick-flicks on TV and eat pizza!

    • R's Mom says:

      Even I hate oats..but this book has pretty decent recipe..the brat ate the cutlets too..and trust me, she dislikes my cooking totally *sob sob*

      I wish I could spend a weekend like that…watching chick flicks and eating pizza..Gah! you got me jealous

  3. kashlife says:

    I too like falafels. They are common food here in Middle east.
    You made Dates brownie (laddoos) and oats cutlet?? Wowwww….
    Garlic after 3 months?? Don’t you use them in routine cooking?
    Thanks for the cutlet recipe. I think I am going to bookmark it..

  4. Sujatha says:

    r u on a cooking spree ?? Congrats yaar !!
    I love that shopping part.. u r awesome !!

  5. Ashwathy says:

    Oats ka cutlets? Hearing them for the first time!

    • R's Mom says:

      try it..acha hai..even R ate it..meaning saachmein acha tha πŸ™‚ she hates my cooking otherwise…knowing your love for healthy food, you will love this one

  6. chipmunk2890 says:

    πŸ˜€ u ll reduce weight for sure if u make all 200 recipe and make R to eat uffoh

  7. LOL at you making laddoos out of the brownie πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Hmm, oats cutlet sounds interesting. I have never bought quaker (or any other) oats till now because I’ve been told it’s very tasteless.But I’ll now buy I packet to try out your cutlet recipe!!!

    • R's Mom says:

      Dont ask yaar…I was pretty upset πŸ™‚

      Oh you should SH..they even give a recipe book…I will try and share the recipes with you..check karna okie?

  8. My Era says:

    I too had a very foodie weekend…so same pinch on that πŸ˜€
    Yay! on trying and enjoying the Falafel (btw did you have a vegeterian one? I have never eaten a vegeterian falafel so am not too sure what that would contain)
    I agree Julie and Julia has that power of tempting all food lovers to join her kind of mission. G
    Good luck on cooking all through the year yummy delights and sharing them with us on your blog πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  9. Amit says:

    You too!!! Hahaha!
    On Friday Geet and I decided that we will not spend a single rupee this weekend. Then we decided to go for a movie. Then we did some shopping. We blew a nice hole in our pocket. Sigh!
    It’s so cute when parents wait for children to go to sleep to go back to their normal work. πŸ™‚
    I have seen the movie J&J. It was good. Yes, yes go ahead and give us the recipie of what you make.

  10. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Ooh so Oats Cutlet eh.. Thats great.. I tried one Oats Dosa from a food blog and it came out yumm too.. May be you can try that as well.. Healthy and can add to your 200 recipes πŸ™‚ So all the best for your cooking expedition. Here goes the link for the Oats Dosa
    http://www.indianvegetariankitchen.com/2008/11/spinach-oats-dosa.html

  11. ashreyamom says:

    so it was food weekends?? two recipes and one new food tasted.. so new ambition to become cook.. oh sorry sorry, chief?? all the best RM.. hope R enjoys new food/experiments..
    so can i expect new recipe with garlic this weekend?? πŸ™‚

  12. Wow. I have never tried falafel. Guess I should try it out soon. πŸ™‚
    Never heard of Irla. Must visit when we come to Mumbai.
    Sad that the dates fudge did not come out too well. 😦
    I don’t like oats, but I am supposed to eat a lot of them. I suppose the cutlet recipe that you have given here would be something I could try out. πŸ™‚
    All the very best for trying out the Julie & Julia.

  13. but why hang ur head in shame.. that what we earn for , work hard all the time so we can spend on things we want or like ..

    all the best for those 200 but hey make one promise to ME πŸ™‚ at least 1/3 rd of them you share with me tooo and errr. Not the recipe I meant the food itself πŸ™‚ he he he

  14. Scribby says:

    Have been to Irla quiet sometime myself and that place makes you crazy for sure πŸ™‚ Falafel? Not tasted yet…now that you recommend, I shall!

    Pink crocs? wow…I’m still looking for a right size croc for C 😦 they say she can only wear it after about when she is 2 years 😦

    oats cultlest sounds yumm..I’ll make them this weekend..see now even I’ve become a weekend person πŸ˜€

    wow cooking target? keep me posted on recipes πŸ™‚ I didn’t mucht like the movie…haven’t read the book
    and yes commenting from the new comp and the new desk in the new office πŸ˜› Blogging can’t go away from my system,can it? πŸ˜›

    • R's Mom says:

      I liked it..go ahead and check it out πŸ™‚

      Pink crocs look really weird okie? I didnt like them one bit..but the brat’s heart was set on it..and it was within our budget, so got it πŸ™‚

      Err…its not cooking target rey…I will try and post recipes (no pictures) whenever I can πŸ™‚

  15. FALAFEL!!!! ohh I love love all kinds of mediterranean food. I always tell the husband that if he wants a cranky-free wife he should think of settling us somewhere in the mediterranean πŸ˜‰ You should try making Falafel at home with all those sauces and yummy pickled veggies. err…I do that you know πŸ™„

    Btw you must be lucky to eat your first Falafel in a good place…coz everyone doesn’t quite get it right πŸ˜₯ Have you tried Dolmas? they are these gorgeous packets of rice and veggies in mint wrapped inside grape leaves and served with spicy yogurt sauce…sigh…now I am drooling πŸ˜₯

    Ladoo brownies made out of rose water? πŸ™„ I say you better patent the recipe in your name πŸ˜‰

    Ohh I love the smell of garlic too…I have this weird habit of smelling my hands again and again after I have chopped garlic 😳

    sigh…I think I was the only one who was bored with watching that movie…but must say Meryl Streep was still awesome in it.

  16. metherebel says:

    You sure had a great weekend! All the best for your cooking target! Do share the recipes!

  17. techie2mom says:

    We too love the garlicky flavour, Zini eats almost everything with garlic in it, so we too are not vampires πŸ˜‰
    Hey, this project is a good idea, all the best for that πŸ™‚
    We too made this oats cutlets, but i got the book with kellogs’ oats, it has many oats recipes, like oats puda, dosa, idli, upma and what not!!! i tried out many things from it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

